Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast

Thread: Scarbie Charter

Scarbie Charter - Firebird

I am thinking of organising a charter out of Scarborough. Boat will be Firebird as I know the owner and the deckie quite well (its a 9.5m Platey built by Ben Noble). Will throw some extras in to make it an enjoyable day. If anyone is interested reply to the post. Timing will probably be mid October and will aim for a Saturday. Will check out moon phases and tides as well. We will have some flexibility with fishing methods, as I can customise the charter to suit us.

Last edited by sleepygreg; 29-09-2010 at 10:37 PM. Reason: more detail

Re: Scarbie Charter

Hi Greg,
    I'm definitely interested ,but it would depend on final date it's on.
    Looking forward to getting some more details.
    Searaider 2

No worries Peter, I am just putting the burley trail out to see how many takers it attracts. If I get enough interested, I will get in to the nitty gritty of times, dates etc. I will be talking with both Skipper and deckie this Sunday so I can confirm pricing/numbers etc.

Ok - Spoke with Skipper today. Cost is $215 pp for the day (based on 8 anglers max). Includes a full buffet lunch, all soft drinks, bait, tackle (you can also bring your own tackle). Dates are either 16th Oct or 23rd Oct. WE have control of the charter ie what we fish for and when. We also have choice of start time and finish time (we have the boat for 9 hours - times are flexible).

Hi Greg ,
    Sounds good .
    I'm available either date ,
    Please book me a spot if it goes ahead .
    Searaider 2
    Searaider 2

that makes two of us.....now for the other six??????

Its a full moon on the 23rd....do you think this would be the better choice of day?

Hi Greg ,
    I think you do better on the Reefies a few days either side of the full moon , so the 16th may be the better option .
    Searaider 2

I tried finding the solunar tables...but gave up in disgust. If you think that the 16th is a better day then we will go for that.

For those thinking about coming on board....here is a link to the charter service.

www.moretonislandfishingcharters.com.au

Hi Greg
    Looks like it won`t take long to get a crew together,
    so let me know the date you guys want to go and I`ll get it happening.
    The boat is a Ocean Prowler designed by John Patty at Sea Life Designs,it was only fizzed up by Nobles, 450 horses on the back gets her singing along very nicely!!!
    Look forward to getting you guys out there.
    Regard Doug
    Skipper Firebird

G'day Greg
    Yeah, you can count me in on this one.

Send me the details as to where the boat is etc. I should have my Penn GTI 345 OH Reel repaired by then.

What sort of fish is being targeted. Also need to know where to send payment etc.

Cheers, Peter

Hi Peter

Glad to have you on board finally. The pick up and drop off point is the Pontoon next to the boat ramp at Scarborough harbour (near the coastguard). What fish do you want to target?

The key to this charter is we can target what we want to target, and be flexible during the trip (though I would be listening very carefully to skipper Doug as he will have all the low down on whats being caught and where).

Will pm everyone with payment details once i know we have a definite crew, but it will be the same process as we did on the 'In The Black' charter.

G'day Greg,

Yeah, since I've upgraded to a more reliable car i should have no problems, should have my overhead reel back by then.

Fish I normally target is anything thats on the reef that's edible and legal size and over e.g.....parrot, reds (if they are around this area), snapper, Kingfish, AJ.. I'm easy.

Dont know if he can stop for livies on the way through.

Might have to use the vessels terminal tackle, mine is just about exhausted.

Cheers, Peter

Hi Greg ,
    Boy I hope you can get a crew together.
    My preference would be any type of Reef Species Snapper,
    Pearlies etc . But I'm happy to fish for what ever may be about.
    Searaider 2

Is it an open invite as I would be interested??

Hi Paul ,
    On Gregs behalf .
    Yes mate all Ausfish members are welcome to join / book in.
    Hope to see you on board.
    Searaider 2