Geday Greg,
Hopefully between us there'll be enough to split up so everyone gets a feed . Are you thinking we fillets them at the ramp & then spliting them up .
Sounds like a good idea to me .
See you in the morning .
Geday Greg,
Hopefully between us there'll be enough to split up so everyone gets a feed . Are you thinking we fillets them at the ramp & then spliting them up .
Sounds like a good idea to me .
See you in the morning .
Searaider 2
Geeez Pete.....dunno...I am thinking it might be a bit of a sh%tfight at the cleaning table when we get back.....if the number of boats at the ramp are any indication today. Tommorrows weather is predicted to be better than today............I dont mind whether we fillet at the ramp or take the fish home and fillet.......I would be coming back to the same place to fillet anyway....I am only five minutes from the ramp. Esky is already in the car, knives are sharpened......dub dub dub.....like a good scout I am prepared....lol.
hope you guys have a ball, and catch a swag of fish!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Serenity!
Thanks swabio, we DID !!! see the report,
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=169694
Thanks very much to Sleepygrey and the Firebird crew Wazza and Dougie.
Maybe another trip before Christmas or after?
Just had a look at the pic...what a bluddy mottley crew we are!!!!!!!!
Ok - stick your hands up if you are interested again and I will post another thread......bearing in mind that the Gamefishing season is upon us and it might be a bit hard to get dates (plus the reefies are starting to get a bit thin on the ground).
If ya want it I can organise another trip. I am up for it.
Hi Greg, bondy
I'm deffinately interested in another trip.
Searaider 2
G'day all,
I'm going to Hervey Bay first 4th or 5th December and see if I can get some coral trout, I heard they are on the chew again. Maybe some school and spotted mackeral or tuna if they are about at the time. I'll be taking two rods. one for spining gear - metal slugs (mackeral).
Scarbie Charter will be late in the month of December for me if we get the numbers.
Cheers, Peter
Might have to be in the new year. Calender is getting a bit crowded now before xmas.
Hi Greg,
Sounds good .
Might be a good idea if you could come up with a tentative booking date that both you & the boat are available for a pending crew can work too ?
Searaider 2
I reckon sometime in the new year might be better.
I will have some discussions with Wazza and check the calender. I know they will be fishing some of the Gamefishing tournaments (as will I) coming up. So I will try and line up a day that doesnt clash (and hope the weather gods play ball).
Go to www.qgfa.asn.au and look under calenders and it will give you a list of all the sanctioned gamefishing tournaments in Qld. You must be a member of a gamefishing club (or a member of QGFA or IGFA) to fish the tournaments. No most of them are not invitational. You just pays your money and shows your membership card and away you go.
Well Greg (sleepygreg)
My fishing trip to Hervey Bay was not the ideal conditions, winds from the North made the waves short and sharp and very bumby. It was about 2 saturdays ago, 5 hour drive up dropped crab pots at a spot GX on the way up . Could nto get to the southern gutters as it was too uncomfortabel so went to Roonies, not much good there then went to Cod Hole near Fraser Island..managed to get 2 nannygai and 2 hussar and a 4ft shark (green eyes and slim).
Also lost 2 large fish, 30 kg Cobia , we were at anchor, I asked the skipper that we might have to go and chase this fish and to retrieve some of my line, Skipper just shrugged and said "no worries mate, it will come back".. come back my foot, it went straight around the anchor and down into a rocky reef and yep cut the leader,,,it was definetly no shark as I had it on the surface once.
100lb braid with 100lb jinkai leader. I'm now going to 150lb jinkai leader.
When in the next year might be good to go with our mates again?
I'm going back up to Hervey Bay again maybe 9th January 2011, also try Urungan Pier for good GT and mackeral towards the far end (deep water).