Yeah. Also, make sure no one brings bananas on the boat. Bananas = no fish, been on a few charters in the past and thats exactly what happens.
Leave your bananas at home
AS far as I'm concerned the earlier the better. A dawn bite is one of the optimum times to fish, and also we get back at a reasonable hour, but having said that I'll go along with what is decided.
Yeah. Also, make sure no one brings bananas on the boat. Bananas = no fish, been on a few charters in the past and thats exactly what happens.
Leave your bananas at home
Ok - all the ducks have lined up in a row. The nutshell summary is....everyone has paid....Wazza and I have finally caught up....the trip details are as follows.
Pick up from Scarborough Harbour at 5am Sunday 31st October - return approx 2pm.
If you guys could pm me your private email addies I will send you the PDF file with the finer details of the trip/what to bring/what is provided. (cant seem to post a PDF file on here)...if anyone can help would be appreciated.
Dave,
Yeah, same like the giant Barrumundi caught on a banana hey.
It's the oils that are transferred to the bait via the hand including sunscreen, fish do have sensative noses.
My opinion about bananas and don't take this personally.
Maybe you could get a few people together and have a special charter and pay full fee where everyone has bananas on board. Maybe that will test the waters and the theory.
Hmmm 10 people at $250.00 a pop with the guarantee that fish will be caught with bananas on board, if no fish are caught then all monies fully refunded. Now that would be worth it
On a serious note, I believe an editor from one of the fishing magazines did test this theory but unfortunately a string of coincidences and bad luck had followed him. I cant recall the fishing magazine off the top of my head (Modern Fishing or similar) might have been 2009, but if I do come across it again I'll send you the details, it was a good 2 to 4 pages, good reading and also comical.
I believe he was going to test it again down the track but so far he has not.
Cheers, Peter
Have sent file to all suplied addresses.
Was speaking to Dougie tonight.....and he said to bring along whatever rods and reels you wanted, any lures you wanted to try, and they will try to accommodate us.
Wazza and Patto went out wide today on Firebird for a social trip (not a charter) and snared a 92kg Striped Marlin. Should be able to post some pics soon as it couldnt be revived and they brought it back to weigh.
For those that get upset by seeing beakies strung up...sorry. But it will happen ocassionally that one will die on the trace, or come up tail wrapped. The fish wont be wasted as it will be commercially smoked and what is not required by the anglers and their families will be donated to the local nursing homes.
Geday Greg ,
Email address sent to you via P.M.
Searaider 2
Attached is Greg's PDF in case you have not had it e-mailed.
Peter,
Looking forward to the discussion, but nowhere near as much as the fishing.
It will be good to meet everyone on Sunday,
G'day Greg,
No worries for me. If the lads do hook one up and it becomes cactus i.e. cant be recovered, yeah, I'll have a piece. Had marlin and broadbill in the past, nice mediterranean tucker.
Have not had it smoked as yet but always a first for me.
What's a good wood to smoke these?
I'll see you Sunday
Cheers, Peter
Hey ....might be an idea to check out the website. Wazza has just updated it with the latest pics.
Just had a look at the weather forecast...................DONT MENTION THE WEATHER>>>>you will jinx us.
PS...can someone bring a camera...mine is on its last legs and I cant guarantee it will work properly.....or better still .....no one bring a camera....that wil make sure we catch something worth taking a picture of......lol.
I am going to apologise up front for Dougies crappie jokes. YOU WERE WARNED!!
Good luck lads, I hope you have a cracker of a day.. Tight lines!
Matt.
Didnt quite make it to the ramp today to see what they caught on Firebird. But from a distance they all seemed to be carrying eskies and struggling a bit. Was a bit busy at the ramp and couldnt get a park close to the action. Firebird was heading back to her bed across the bay after being fuelled up. The guys that came off Incredible also had a heap of fish.......I have sharpened up me filletting knives so we better catch some!!!!!