looking for some areas out of south passge to get some livies. any hints would be awesome. the closer to the bar the better but anywhere to start me off would help.
sound around here, or look for the boats. This is "the" bait grounds:
27.18.016 153.28.045
27.18.028 153.28.014
This area is as you come out of the northern channel against Moreton.
Marty
Thats the area I go to FIND bait.
The hard part is catching them !!!
After 3 trips and 3 different bait jigs tried.
I just drift through the bait school and jig slowly up and down, with the sinker just touching the bottom.
A few helpfull tips would be nice on what jigs work and what are useless, well I am getting a good list of ones that dont work.....
Fishfeeder
I am feeling very helpful today and yesterday. If your jigs are not working try one of the following methods and I will guarantee livies.
1)Try smaller or larger jigs have a few to try from
2)Try cutting up tiny pieces of squid and using this on the hooks
3)All else fails a few sticks of C4....but first 2 methods should work.
Last trip we found 2 different jigs worked opposite to each other and made a real black/white difference. One day we had full load ups the next zip. Try a few they are a bit picky somedays.
Marty
As far as bait jigs are concerned, the ones with a #4 hook and what looks like little pieces of white/transluscent paper are the ones, forget the bait jigs with tinsel and streamers - go the paper...you'll find they work a treat
><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)
Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel
Thanks for the tips fellas it's a big help
Any day on the water is a good day
Gday Marty,
Mate, Options 1 & 2 didnt work for me?? so then I tried Option 3---------
Do you happen to know a good boat repairer
Kerrod
When the schools aren't thick. Put small ( hook size chunks of pichard on the hooks). I Always use #8 hooks. Heavy sinker and a light tipped rod.
Hi Marty,
First up mate, congratulations on the new toy. It just goes to show you that I chose the wrong bloody trade
Hey, I though that after you catching all those red fish, you would be spoilt and not bother to fish this area down here again.
Mate, because of the weather of late, I need to clean up around the house etc, so I’m looking at either the 1st, 2nd, or 3rd of Oct if the weather is ok, and also IF I can score some more brownie points of course.
Gday Lutjanus,
Only to happy for you to tag along if you like, I normally leave from Manly.
Kerrod
Kerrod and anyone else, Its my BDay this Sunday and I am planning an overnighter somewhere then head offshore. PM me if your interested. Sorry to highjack thread.
Marty
Try Shag Rock allways caught heaps and its worth the travel as the time spent try to catch lives when there not thick at the other ground is made up
Maine land side never, been there and not caught bait. Sorry if I gave you a bum steer but always produces when I have been.
Thanks all, haven't been over that end of the island before. It is still good to see people sharing some of their knowledge. Will get out and about when the wind decides to back off.