Thread: Mondy ?

Mondy ?

Hi All

Well as others have said - Mondy was tough !
    I dont think that I can recall any trip during Spring to Winter where so few fish were encountered , spooked or even seen on the sounder - Things were certainly crook in Rookwood.
    Even with a couple of days of warm fine weather .... The fish did not want to play the game except for a short bite window around sunset on Sunday evening where we got 3 or 4 tentative nips & I landed a 101 on a Berkley split belly....... Attachment 61646Thankfully a donut breaker that gave me a good tussle - My 21st consecutive trip to Mondy (pastry free)
    Water Temps were OK @ 22-24.8 deg and with a couple of nice evenings I was surprised to hear only 1 boof in 4 nights on the dam ........ my guess is that the recent increase in water levels has put the fish off.
    As always - it was great to share the boat with Mighty Whitey ...... but not his shoes
    As always catching up with fellow Ausfishers Pete & Kyle , Al , Daryl , Paul , Steve is a bonus.

Attachment 61647

PS - Thank god Whitey was on the back court ...... he alerted me that a big (6ft +) Brown or Taipan ? was within 10 feet of joining us on the Hornet

Re: Mondy ?

Similar tale of woe as our, Chris. Nice metery though!

We also only heard a single boof all week. It was mid Monday morning up a F. Flogged a point to foam for one tentative hit...

The fish were just starting to come on towards the weekend. Rob Howell got fish on three consecutive charters on Wed, Thurs and Friday afternoons...

I still think Mondy is going to go off big time very soon...

Regs

Thanks for the report Chris, Mondy certainly seems to be throwing some curve balls at the moment. Well done on keeping your run intact, that is an impressive record on that place.

The other lake appears to be fishing slightly better, but getting very little press of late........

Quote Originally Posted by Peter4 View Post

We also only heard a single boof all week. It was mid Monday morning up a F. Flogged a point to foam for one tentative hit...

The fish were just starting to come on towards the weekend. Rob Howell got fish on three consecutive charters on Wed, Thurs and Friday afternoons...

Regs

No doubt Pete - going to head up there again in 3 weeks ..... MW is so keen he was talking about booking a flight to join me.

Quote Originally Posted by matt fraser View Post
    Thanks for the report Chris, Mondy certainly seems to be throwing some curve balls at the moment. Well done on keeping your run intact, that is an impressive record on that place.

The other lake appears to be fishing slightly better, but getting very little press of late........

Thanks Matt

Yeh , its a record that gets harder to keep - Oct 2007 was the First & last pasty trip ...... It actually was my first time to Mondy
    I was halfway through my Awoonga report - then gone - Will try to get it on during the day - but yes ..... certainly better fishing atm

Tough time Chris. We had what I thought was a tiger snake take an interest in climbing up the outboard. I was spinning the boat on the leccy but it kept with us. Shane had to start the outboard to dissuade it !!!

Nice fish Chris, and it was certainly nice to catch up with you and MW for a chat and a nearby fish. I just wished they played the game during that bite window we both had.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Quote Originally Posted by Peter4 View Post

Regs

Same here Pete. It has to. I just hope I can rip up there for a days fish when it happens.

Chris,
    It was hard pickings all week. Good to finaly meet up with Whitey. We heard a few boofs up opposite where we met you and Whitey on the Saturday but that was all.
    Nice girl you got there.

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    No doubt Pete - going to head up there again in 3 weeks ..... MW is so keen he was talking about booking a flight to join me.

Will have to compare notes on those dates Chris, i may be able to call into Mondy on my way back from the deep North

Congratulations on continuing the pastry free trips to Mondy, but mate you must know it will happen one day

Those bloody long brown crawly swimming things are a real danger, i was telling Garry Fitzgerald at a fish stocking meeting one night about a seven foot cranky brown model that threatened me on North Pine dam one day and he told me he broke a very expensive fly rod trying to keep one out of his boat, at Cania i think it was, he had to fire up the petrol motor to get away from it

Mate your Mondy Cup score has been updated with your latest efforts.

John.

well done chris lots of casts though isnt it for the results but for some reason that 1 fish makes it all worth the effort,we heard lots of boofs on friday night up south B ,thats why i never got back to you men got bloody lost in the dark no moon night ,followed wrong gps track ,dropped into camp on saturday but all out .how did the reel perform after the rebuild

Quote Originally Posted by warrior View Post
    well done chris lots of casts though isnt it for the results but for some reason that 1 fish makes it all worth the effort,we heard lots of boofs on friday night up south B ,thats why i never got back to you men got bloody lost in the dark no moon night ,followed wrong gps track ,dropped into camp on saturday but all out .how did the reel perform after the rebuild
    No worries Al - next time

Yes Jason did a good job on the reel - I'll get him to do a couple of other reels (service)

Good report mate, on some pretty tough times. Not sure whats up. Like when you were there, the week got better condition wise, yet no activity (that I could find). Flogged it for 2 days....zip. plenty of bait....maybe too much.

The snake saw the yammie and hornet and thought 'pfff not going near that'

Cheers Stevo
    I dont have ADHD......ohh look a squirrell !!!

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    Good report mate, on some pretty tough times. Not sure whats up. Like when you were there, the week got better condition wise, yet no activity (that I could find). Flogged it for 2 days....zip. plenty of bait....maybe too much.

The snake saw the yammie and hornet and thought 'pfff not going near that'

Cheers Stevo
    Mate ..... we had good conditions and it just didn't happen - regardless of where and what we tried........ funnily I reckon the bait was a tenth of what I would normally expect to see
    As for the snake ....... I leccied away at full noise as it was coming to say g'day ..... big bugger with a real attitude I reckon

Geesus, what would you do if it did come aboard...I mean I love animals, they're delicious but how do you convince a big joe blake to get off once it is on? I don't fancy myself as any sort of croc hunter, "Crikey, look at this big fella" is not the words you'd hear from me....and Kim would outpace the thorpeedo to avoid close contact with most reptiles.

Quote Originally Posted by Roo View Post
    Geesus, what would you do if it did come aboard...I mean I love animals, they're delicious but how do you convince a big joe blake to get off once it is on? I don't fancy myself as any sort of croc hunter, "Crikey, look at this big fella" is not the words you'd hear from me....and Kim would outpace the thorpeedo to avoid close contact with most reptiles.

Probably not words you'll hear from Kim either!!

Sorry mate, geez i been harsh to you lately!! texta boy.

Devo.

PS: I have had a snake in the boat once, in the NT...thankfully it wrapped itself up in the motor area and when we started the motor...it slid back into the water....it looked pretty dosile, but option B to dive in the water was worse!!!
    I dont have ADHD......ohh look a squirrell !!!