Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: New 6m OMM WA

Re: New 6m OMM WA

Whats your BMT tow weight going to end up being?

OMM 600WA:
    Ultra vee hull with 6mm bottoms
    Approx towing weight dry 1750kg 150hp (580WA with 140hp 1650kg)
    Foam filled hull
    Self draining deck

+ trailer weight
    Last edited by Show me the fish; 23-09-2010 at 01:30 PM. Reason: error

Some more pics.

Looking good mate. Are you getting Jason to do the electrical fitout?

This boat looks great seen them at the brissy boat show love to get one
    Mate if you dont mind me asking what will this cost with the extra length Cab etc
    are OMM a good builder to deal with how where they with your requests ??

I bet your smiling now !!

thanks scott

Quote Originally Posted by brettcollo View Post
    Looking good mate. Are you getting Jason to do the electrical fitout?
    Cheers Mate,

Yeah Jason is doing the lot. I considered doing the electrical fitout myself but decided to get the complete job done by OMM. At least this way as soon as i pick up the boat it will be ready to go. I bought the sounder & GPS from the Brisbane boat show and dropped them off to Jason to fit.

Quote Originally Posted by bulldogs7 View Post
    This boat looks great seen them at the brissy boat show love to get one
    Mate if you dont mind me asking what will this cost with the extra length Cab etc
    are OMM a good builder to deal with how where they with your requests ??

I bet your smiling now !!

thanks scott
    G'day Scott,

You betcha I'm smiling, should be less than 2 weeks to go! We are also having our 2nd bub in less than 3 weeks then 12 weeks off work (you gotta love long service leave)

The extra cab length and transom layout didn't change the price at all. They seem quite flexible with stuff like that. I think Jason said the cabin on the 580 is normally 1800mm long but this can be increased or reduced depending on preference. The orange boat you would have seen at the boat show had the cabin length reduced to allow more cockpit room. You can get the prices off their website if you look under the "package deals" section. We got the 580WA deluxe upgrade (150Hp suzuki, hull length increased to 600).

The price also includes an option of helm chairs, a single esky/dry storage swinging backrest seat box or a dual seat box. We got the dual seat box with forward facing seat as dry storage and the rear facing as esky. The layout of the internals of the seat box is up to you so you can choose how much esky/dry storage area you want.

I have found OMM great to deal with. Jason has dealt with all my request really well (even when i changed my mind on numerous things). Most of the things i changed are pretty standard but little things like the removable upright rod holders and port side mounting holes for the bait board were no problem at all - basically they will customise it to however you want.

I would highly recommend giving Jason a call, he will be able to email you plenty of pics of previous builds/layouts or even go and give him a visit.

Quote Originally Posted by Show me the fish View Post
    Cheers Mate,

Yeah Jason is doing the lot. I considered doing the electrical fitout myself but decided to get the complete job done by OMM. At least this way as soon as i pick up the boat it will be ready to go. I bought the sounder & GPS from the Brisbane boat show and dropped them off to Jason to fit.

Yeah fair enough too mate. Reason I asked was I am considering doing my own electrical fitout when the time comes. However, I guess it will depend on bottom dollar...
    If I could do the fitout for considerably less cost than what Jason would drop from the price, then it is a viable option. However, I am under no ilussions that Jasons team would complete the job much quicker and probably to a better standard overall than I could. He can source parts cheaper than I can, but he has to factor in labour costs (obviously). But would the savings be worth the effort? Unsure...

Only reason Im contemplating this, is after reading about the gremlins CAPT SEAWEED uncovered during fitout of his noble (no reflection on OMM I might add), so doing it myself would give me that "peace of mind" when heading out wide alone. My fitout would be nowhere near as complex as the big noble and I feel capable of doing it right. I fitted out my current boat completely myself and really enjoyed it, however it took a looong time but I ended up saving close to 1500 bucks and that was only on a barra boat!

Do you know where Jason runs the looms from transom area to helm? Is it underfloor or along the inside of a gunwale?

From what I saw on barry's boat, Jason uses quality gear But for me, I am picky about things like switch panels/lights etc. Is Jason open to input into these choices?

Quote Originally Posted by brettcollo View Post
    Yeah fair enough too mate. Reason I asked was I am considering doing my own electrical fitout when the time comes. However, I guess it will depend on bottom dollar...
    If I could do the fitout for considerably less cost than what Jason would drop from the price, then it is a viable option. However, I am under no ilussions that Jasons team would complete the job much quicker and probably to a better standard overall than I could. He can source parts cheaper than I can, but he has to factor in labour costs (obviously). But would the savings be worth the effort? Unsure...

Only reason Im contemplating this, is after reading about the gremlins CAPT SEAWEED uncovered during fitout of his noble (no reflection on OMM I might add), so doing it myself would give me that "peace of mind" when heading out wide alone. My fitout would be nowhere near as complex as the big noble and I feel capable of doing it right. I fitted out my current boat completely myself and really enjoyed it, however it took a looong time but I ended up saving close to 1500 bucks and that was only on a barra boat!

Do you know where Jason runs the looms from transom area to helm? Is it underfloor or along the inside of a gunwale?

From what I saw on barry's boat, Jason uses quality gear But for me, I am picky about things like switch panels/lights etc. Is Jason open to input into these choices?
    I would have enjoyed doing the electrical fitout myself but thought i am better off just paying the extra cash and doing some extra overtime to pay for it. I also thought at least this way i won't be cutting holes into the dash after it is painted. I would suggest if you are going to do the electrical fitout yourself it may be worth getting Jason to cut any mounting holes you require prior to painting.

The looms run along the inside of the RHS gunwale.

I believe Jason would be happy to install any switch panels/lights etc that you would want.

Yeah good point mate.

If I go it alone with the fitout, it might be worth asking Jason to source the switches/lights/distribution boards etc for me and have him dummy fit them so Im not cutting holes in beautiful new paint. Then I get the fun and time consuming (read $$$) part of running and terminating all the cabling. Having a direct tube running along the underside of the gunwales from transom to helm will make life easier than underfloor cables

A few more pics.

Getting closer!

looking good, and getting closer by the minute. thats a nice cod as well

brett

Quote Originally Posted by littlemac View Post
    looking good, and getting closer by the minute. thats a nice cod as well

brett
    Cheers mate,

Yeah not long now. I caught the cod in the little tinny on Monday, probably the last trip the 4.3 seajay does before the now boat arrives. I reckon the tinny was trying to tell me not to sell it .

Attached a few more pics.

And some more.

A couple more