Thread: Reel suggestions

Question Reel suggestions

I am buying a new spin reel and am open to suggestions. Unfortunately I'm on a budget of $200 max. Rod it is going on is a Shimano Nexave 662 spin. I use this mainly for bream, flatty etc and bass.

So far I'm looking at the Shimano Stradic. Any good/bad reports for these?

Any other suggestions in this price range?

Re: Reel suggestions

I would get a Stradic but there are plenty of other brands that would fit the bill

Do a daiwa
    "True Blue"

not sure if they are still around but last year i bought a shimano navi from tackle world for $139. fantastic reel for the price! i think they are exclusive to tackle world. mine gets used pretty heavily and has a hard life (barra and tuna) and it hasnt missed a beat.

Gday mate i have had a 2500 stradic matched with a 2-4 kg sic stik pro for about 3 years now i keep it rigged with plastics for queenies and salmon while i am barra fishing .I can not fault it i love it still in good nick too and it has had a thorough workout many times

Stradic is a great reel mate. The Saros is just as good too I reckon, and a bit cheaper!

I dont have ADHD......ohh look a squirrell !!!

go the stadic get them for around $160 to your door off ebay cheap as chips
    Why is it everytime i walk away from my rod it gets smashed

I've been a Daiwa man, a pflueger man and have recently been giving Shimano a go... Look, to be honest, I would have to suggest either a Symetre or a Stradic.

Hi mate have a look at this.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Shimano-Stradic-...item3f02958bac

about $175 delivered.
    I have 4 Stradics and they are a great reel. If you can get hold of a 2500 MGFB Stradic, they are even better.

Or

http://cgi.ebay.com/10-New-Shimano-S...item2c576167b9

The new model CI4 for around 235 delivered.

Three reels I would be considering are Symetre, Saros and Stradic.
    I own all 3 and use them alkl regularly and am yet to stike a problem with any of them. Matter of fact, my first Symetre 2000 is about 15 years now and it is still going strong even though it has been fished well beyond its design level for all of its life, plus had a holiday on the bottom of Moreton Bay in 8 metres of water for a week.

Personally I can not recommend Daiwa reels, Had a few too many dramas with them over the years and dumped all of them in the bin about 6 yrs ago. Went back to Shimano and Pflueger and a few Abu baitcasters.

Thanks everyone. I have decided on the Stradic 2500. I've put it on Layby and will be using it in about two weeks Now, just need to decide what braid i'm going to put on it

Quote Originally Posted by plastix4me View Post
    Thanks everyone. I have decided on the Stradic 2500. I've put it on Layby and will be using it in about two weeks Now, just need to decide what braid i'm going to put on it
    With braid it comes down to personal choice but for good braid at a reasonable price Tufline or Whiplash Pro are my favourites.

Go a PE .... for braid.

Quote Originally Posted by Jackson 53 View Post
    With braid it comes down to personal choice but for good braid at a reasonable price Tufline or Whiplash Pro are my favourites.

Same, and Fins PRT

power pro spectra good price on ebay
    Why is it everytime i walk away from my rod it gets smashed