Thread: quick arvo flick - pine

quick arvo flick - pine

gday,
    manged to get a quick fish for a few hours this afternoon with brendan my fishing buddy. went hays inlet first for a look. tide falling close to low water. fishing 5 inch jerk shads and some vibes. fished a bit of structure first with no luck. went up river a touch to do some drifts - nothing. came back. very shallow and many rocks at the bridge between the markers! at near low water! came back into the pine and i dropped a fish around the pylons. went back into the river and i drop another good fish. having a shocker. shortly after brendan comes up tight . took a couple of runs and we eventually netted it. came up 62cm and was caught on a berkely powerbait in pearl watermelon. put up a good fight. we had to go home shortly after that so it was a good save for the day.

Re: quick arvo flick - pine

Nice work on the flattie, some good ones around at the moment.

Did you get a look at the fish you lost?
    "It's not a sport if the other team doesn't want to play"

F.R.

Brisbane Roar 2010/2011 Champions!!

Quote Originally Posted by sarg View Post
    Nice work on the flattie, some good ones around at the moment.

Did you get a look at the fish you lost?
    no i didnt. felt ok (nothing huge) though. spat the hooks. starting to get annoying.

Nice effort, those lizards can turn it on when they hit a HB or plastic. I've taken a few guys out to throw lures for their first time and you always hear comments like , I've never had a flathead fight so hard. It 's the best way to target them Cheers

Nice, good to the trusty power baits still getting a dunking when most people just reach for the gulps without thinking. The Pearl watermelon is still my fave with pumpkinseed coming a close second in either 3 or 4 inch.

Kev

+1 to Pearl Watermelon 4 inch Bass Minnows........ got two nice flatfish at the Pin today on them

Mick.

Nice lizard. We're getting more light in the arvo's now so I'm keen to get a few mid-week arvo flick's in after work.

Good old powerbaits. I went fishing last week and went through a few plastics with not much success. I spotted the old pumpkinseed pb's in my plastics wallet and thought why not give 'em a try. Instant success with half a dozen decent breambo. Sometimes plain old pb's do the trick. Watermelon is my fav though.

plastix, Mickthe, just chips- yes watermelon is a good colour. another mate of mine swears by em for snappper. i like camo in the gulps too. on the other hand some people in the know love red and black with a paddle tail.

chief - know what you mean. the bigger ones on lures do give a good account for themsleves on lightish gear. short fast runs, head shakes. good stuff. love it.

i have been checking out the plastics after i lose the fish and have noticed they are have missed the hook and are just holding on to the plastic just below the hook. well i think thats the cause. could be me!! but i have been experimenting a bit with small stinger hooks but couldnt find them on this day and they seem to be working but only got a few with them. anyway i think the stinger will improve hookups and i dont think it puts em off. still more fish to catch to really know if this works or not.

I've been experimenting with 4" pb pearl watermelon scales minnow. No luck yet besides a small stargazer and a toady :/. Not sure if I should drop to a 3" version.

Anyway nice catch looked like a good arvo

Nice to get some quality fish from the pine, not a bad way to pass some time I say. Well done.