Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: DI/Fraser on the weekend and the trip before

DI/Fraser on the weekend and the trip before

Been a while since I posted so thought I would share the weekends trip and a couple pics from the trip before.

On the weekend I stayed on the closer grounds for snapper and mixed reef. I scored some nice reds on 10kg line with one going 10.5kg which has been something I have been wanting to do for sometime. I also got a nice samson on the light line as well. We got some nice fish but worked hard both inclose and outwide to get the results.

Just a reminder I will be doing a talk about Reds from the wide bay bar at 7pm this friday night at the boat show. Come and say hello if your there.

10.5kg red on 10kg line

Another one just under 10kg on the light line

Foxy with an ugly snaps

Mark also got a red on 10kg line

Samson on 10kg

Nice sized spangald

The 300ltr underfloor esky getting a workout

And the best catch of them all lol....The cat fish were thick and as far out as 40km from the bar...Great drop this one...catfish and remora lol

On the second trip I fished around the 35km area from the bar to start with scored a couple nice reds

Later that day we went off the shelf for some pearlies and this big black cod took a pearlie on the way up...Unfortunately after many attemps to get bim back down he was well and truley dead which was a shame and decided to get a few photos of it.

We fished into the night and I travelled around in good conditions dropping on little shows here and there and was rewarded with some good reds.

Fished some rough ground the next morning for a good mixed bag including this 4.55kg red throat

If your looking at fishing this area or want to know more about it then come to the boat show friday night as I will be doing a talk/presentation on Reds off the Wide Bay bar...It starts at 7pm and please come and say gday..

Re: DI/Fraser on the weekend and the trip before

Greg spectacular effort there as always the touch is well en truly in you guys. Amazing photo's as well
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Looks like a " Holyfield " Snapper.

Been 10 rounds with Mike Tyson....................

Thanks Greg, see you at the show.

OH, nice work Foxy on the catties... who was King Cattie Catcher ?

That's just top shelf Greg as we've come to expect from you.

Those Reds take a great picture

I'm on a 3 day charter out from Tin Can Bay tomorrow... would love to get just a fraction of what you have got above.

Can anyone tell me why I can't see the photo's. Seems to happen to me a bit!

Thanks Moz!

Hi Greg ,
    Going down to boat show on friday. Wont be able to stay and watch your presentation as we are staying in Toowoomba. The young fellas fighting up there on saturday arvo and needs an early night. Good luck with everything. Should be a good time had as its easy to talk about somthing you have a passion about. Some good pics there mate. Its been a while since ive scratched the red itch , might have to somthing about that ha ha . Look out Waddy Point. Those sambos go hard on light gear hey . We were on a nice patch of snapper , fishing with light gear and these monster ambos came along taking 2/3kg fish on the way up. you would get the fish back completly scaled. Ended up getting 2 in going 23&25kg
    My younger brother still talks about the pain of an hour fight the sook.Whos got the best priced lowrance gear down there . Looking for a sounder for my tinnie . Thinking of a 5x pro. 480x480 pixels looks the goods . Wont be as good as furuno but its only the tinnie. Any way catch up soon.

Nathan ( the once was a fisherman)

nice work men as per usual.
    some nice fish in the box for sure.
    jee wiz that catfish has gotta be a prized catch ............
    cheers dale

fantastic stuff greg, great fish and photos, you look like you are struggling a bit with that monster.

brett

Hi bloke time to change ya name from reefmaster to redmaster top effort bloke.
    I was out on Saturday and seen you near the footy grounds, I was south of you, were you bottom bashing or float line? Looking forward to hearing your talk at the Boat show.
    Regards Steve

You win........you wernt joking about the Catfish was ya.hehehehe
    You bypass me and sneak off to the logan.
    mick

Stop upsetting the greenies on facebook with those pics Greg

How old are those fish

Nice haul !!! That RTE is a horse

great photos and well done boys, im jealous

Great selection of photos there, all trophy fish.

Congrats on taking a big red (or several) better than line class. No easy feat that.

Hi Greg,

SOME PRIZE QUALITY FISH THERE, A TOP MIXED BAG.
    WOULD HAVE BEEN AWESOME FUN CATCHING THEM, except for the catty and sucker.

Do you think you would have caught the same quality on heavier line ?

Brian

Yep salmon catfish are often with the snapper up there and more so in Hervey Bay. Sit them out and the snapper will be there too.

Moz,

Greg must used Photobucket or a similar site to host his pictures. You might be using a government site or something to look at AF and Photobucket may be banned with them so that is why you can't see them. I had that with one of my regular customers who was in western NSW but he was logging in via his missus login address on a school account as she was the teacher at a one teacher school and he couldn't see them either.