Thread: Mondy Report for 21/08/10

Mondy Report for 21/08/10

We left Friday lunch time and drove through the cold & rain most of the way, our hopes were fading a bit. It dried out about 150km from Mondy and our hopes rallied only to have the rain come in for a few hours Friday evening.

Got up and on the water by 5.30am and went straight up to bird where I had been told there had been a few good fish following lures in. We threw some poppers, xr12's (suspending and floating), slickies, and a new plastic I was pretty keen on. We used quite a few different retrieves, threw them all around the boat, trees right up to the bank, suspended them in front of weed beds etc. But didnt get a follow or bump in 2 hours.

We went up to South B and tried a few likely looking bays. Some of them had temperatures up to 22.8, but still a bit cold for them I think. Nothing much happening, so we went up north B to the spot where I caught my one and only to date. A lot of duck weed in there with a few bait fish jumping through it, so we threw on the old WA Bully frogs and threw for an hour or so throwing right up on the duck weed and using different retrieves. Still no joy, but we did actually scare 3 fish in that bay. They were hard up against trees in about 2m of water.

It was back to Bird for a couple of hours of trolling and flicking the dusk and for an hour after dark for no result. Did scare a couple though. Back to the ramp and boat on the trailer by 8pm. We were buggered and decided to have a sleep in and not do a quick splash Sunday morning. Wouldnt you know it. Got up at 8am and the sun was shinning, no wind and it was warmer than Saturday had gotten all day. Oh well there is always the trip in 3 weeks.

A quick sum up of the dam condition:
    Weed everywhere. At times even the suspenders and slow risers where getting covered and we had to resort to floating HB's and unweighted plastics.

The water is still very clear from around PK to the dam wall you can see your lures from 10-15feet away. But up the top around sth & nth B it was a bit dirtier and you could only see your lure when it was 6 feet away.

Hardly any birds around which means there is still stacks of bait getting around.

Water temps vary little from top to bottom of the dam with 19.3 - 19.8 about the norm out of the bays, and most bays just over the 20 mark. We only found 4 bays where the water temps went just over 22.

It was hard fishing and none that I know of caught on Saturday. A few were caught Friday before the temps dropped.

The temps this week will be low 20's and the week later mid 20's. Lets hope the week after is high 20's

Re: Mondy Report for 21/08/10

Thanks Steve

i'm hearing things are a bit tough at the moment - timing is everything at this time of year ..... hopefully that second weekend in Sept will see the fish turn on particularly if we start to get those warmer days over the next couple of weeks.

Yer Chris, a week of nice weather will be good. I heard a guy dropped 2 around the 1.2 mark today.

Thanks for the report Steve.

Pity you didn't have some luck mate, but as they say, "That's fishing"

Maybe next trip you will slay them.

John.

Hi Steve thanks fors the report mate see you in a few weeks time

shane

No worries. One good thing about not landing any in the boat. My Mrs didnt get any further ahead of me in our Barra war.

Thanks Steve,

A lot of information in your report and some very encouraging stuff...

Those water temps are very good for the near end of August...

Appreciate all the detail - bad luck about the results!

Regs

Thanks Steve. Pity about your results but there are some encouraging signs regarding the amount of bait and water clarity further up the system.

It will only take a few days of stable weather to change the opportunities available. We were there 23-25 August last year....there was not the same level of duck weed and the water levels were 20-odd percent, but we managed to score 18 fish in the three days, with 10 over the magical mark. Water temps were similar mate so it may just need a few more planets to align. Most of our fish were at night, but then again, we mostly fished late arvos until around midnight/1am.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

bad luck steve sounds like you put some yards and casts in ,put it in your diary as more experience

Yep its all experience Al. Pete one day I am gonna crack a hot bite, and its getting closer every day. I think with the overnight temps Friday night dropping 5 odd degrees and cloud cover most of Saturday it didnt help. But there are some top spots around the place and great weed beds everywhere.
    Your right about the weather I reckon Paul. Me and the young fella plan to fish into the night a fair bit, even when we arrive there on the Thursday we will be doing a few hours in bird.
    Sunday would have been good fishing I think with the sun out all day. Bloke I know dropped a couple of monsters, one right next to the boat, so it looks good for 3 weeks time.
    Already have the boat prepared with the canopy removed for maximum room for casting.