Miara Qld?

Thread: Miara Qld?

Ausfish Platinum Member darylive's Avatar

Question Miara Qld?

What can you tell me?

Looks like a good spot?

Anyone been there?

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Re: Miara Qld?

Nice spot. Used to catch big Flathead near the mouth.

Thanks Wag, looks like a good spot to spend a week?

The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Hi mate, use to go to mira with the old man in the early to late 1990s,at that time it offered beachfront camp sites, coin operated hot showers, a kiosk with a range of goods, the boat ramp was a kilometre or so away( we use to launch the tinnie and leave it on the beach for the week).
    As wags has said always good for a few flathead as well as all the usual estuary suspects.
    All in all was a very laid back place to spend some time but its been a while since my last visit so things may of changed.
    Mick.

G'day mate,

It's a great little spot and I spent 3 days there back in March after the big rains we had around the area. The park has all amenities you could ever want, you no longer require money for the showers. There is a kiosk there with everything needed to make your stay comfortable. As far as fishing goes there are the usual suspects Flathead, whiting, bream, etc. Further up river Yandaran creek houses barra and 50cm+ mangrove jack. The biggest jack I've got out of there so far is 53cm. Plenty of muddies. Try and book a spot on the front and you can moor your boat right in front of the campsite. Very friendly staff there also. I've been going there for over 30 years now and love the place and hope to be back there in October for a long weekend. Give it a go.

Ripper place, mate. I go there a fair bit in the warmer months.

Cuzza

Was up staying at my mates place a couple of weekends ago and he lives on the Kolan, lucky bugger. Up stream from Yandarren Ck is a spot called Scotneys Rocks worth a try. Hole at the cane bridge as well.
    When we fished was a bit quiet , might be something to do with the beam trawler licences on the river. Several I believe.

Angry Re: Miara Qld?

Quote Originally Posted by bam424 View Post
    Was up staying at my mates place a couple of weekends ago and he lives on the Kolan, lucky bugger. Up stream from Yandarren Ck is a spot called Scotneys Rocks worth a try. Hole at the cane bridge as well.
    When we fished was a bit quiet , might be something to do with the beam trawler licences on the river. Several I believe.
    Trawlers in the bloody river, Crap! What hope is there; and the bloody greens and labour want to lock up areas off shore, how bloody stupid are these flammin idiots. Get the pros out of the estuaries and watch the fishing improve.

The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

We used to live in Gin Gin and go there a lot - now its just for 2 weeks a year in March/ April, which is a good all round time as its cooler, but not cold, the prawns are generally around and the best crabbing months in the year in that area.

IMO it is one of the most relaxing places you can go but still have all the comforts if you like. Its a short drive back to Yandaran for a beer or countery or the Avondale Tavern will pick you up on the weekends.

The fishing is like most places - you put in the work and you can get some results, but nothing record breaking, and even if you just float around you will normally pick up a feed.

I put the boat in and leave it in for 2 weeks - makes it easy to check the pots early morning - you do need to take your gear out of the boat as i have heard of gear going , I lost a couple of kids life jackets a few years back ( mongrels) but have never lost anything else.

Certainly Jack around when they're on and the occassional barra, picked up a 90cm Jew last year on a live prawn near the mouth. There are usually plenty of prawns up river and you can generally get a good feed of crabs if you work for them. Don't just drop your pots in the river like everyone else, push them up the gutters as far as you can in warm months. If there has been a fresh crab the river or down near the mouth.

You can get out front in a tinnie in the right weather to chase mackeral / tuna etc and there are few fairly close reefs where you can catch a feed if you know where to go ( i don't as yet but hope to get some marks one day, anyone?)

You'll need to have a look around at low tide as there are plenty of sand bars around ( i know most of them well) , but once you get the hang you can get around most places if you take it steady.

Great family spot we've been going for 10 years now and will do so for at least another 10 I hope.

Big Al.

Sounds like a great spot. How big of a boat can you get a way with in there? 4.8m???
    cheers Deefa

Deefa,

4.8m would be fine in the main river and some of the creeks (so long as you don't mind a few scratches) if you have a look around on a half tide and then work out where you can go you'll be fine. Once you suss the place there is heaps of places to take bigger boats. Get on Google Earth ot Maps and have a look -it gives you an idea of where to start and have a chat to Mick the caretaker, who is a great bloke and loves his fishing.

i have a big old heavy 4.3 with about a thousand tonnes of s*&#%t in it and go OK. Mate took his 4.5m / 60 HP last year and went fine. The main river is 7 - 30 + feet and some of the creeks and gutters have heaps of water. Just needs to watch the sand bars in the main river up stream of the main ramp. Once your past them up towards the power lines and your fine.

Some rocks in Yandaran creek so be careful in there.

Don't expect to fill your esky, but if you have bit of a look around you'll always catch a feed of fish, cast net some prawns when their about and get the odd crab of six. Don't scared to crab shallow in the warmer months change your bait every day (or even tide if you can) and move them every day and you'll get some nice crab.

Big Al

Thanks Al, sounds better all the time and ideal for my little 3.85 explorer / 20 Yamaha.

i have no ambition to stock up on fish but it would be nice to get a few most places now are r@@ted.

The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Thumbs up Re: Miara Qld?

I have just got back home today from a week at Miara.

My wife and I have a 'shack' (ie permanent on site van with a few extras) at the Miara Holiday Village and love every second that we spend there.

Amenities
    They have just finished giving the amenities blocks a freshen up with a re-paint and some new tiles. No cost for showers. They have also just recently updated the kids playground with some new swings, rides etc.

Kiosk
    I think they are roughly open from 8:30am - 4:30pm, but they are closed in the middle of the day for a couple of hours. They have gas, ice, bait, some basic fishing bits n pieces, basic food n drink (no hot food, except for some pies).

Sites
    There are unpowered sites along the foreshore where you can pitch your tent and up the other end there are powered sites on the foreshore for vans, although I believe these are quite popular and you would need to book ahead a bit. I don't know costs sorry.

Fishing
    Several options. You can head a fair way up stream and up Yandaran Creek (although I'm yet to catch a great deal up that way. But I have heard reports of Jack and Barra up this way). Up the creeks, in the 'main basin' (ie in front of the park), around the mouth or you can also venture out the front and get onto some patches not far out, although I have never gone out the front myself. I prefer chasing flatties, jacks, breambo etc.

At low tide there are a lot of sandbars around and pretty much fishing in the creeks is out as you'll get stuck with no water to get back out. We just fish around the tides anyway. If you wanna go fishing at low tide you stick to the main area and mouth.

I caught a 48cm Jack there on Monday (my pb) and have also caught some big Flatties (80cm pb), decent bream, trevally, tarpon, whiting etc.

Boats
    Some people leave their boats moored out front of the park. There is a ramp at the park, but there needs to be some water to launch/retrieve your boat. Few hours before/after low. There is also a boat ramp 1km down the road that has actually just been re-done and you can launch/retrieve at all times.

All up, I reckon it's top notch and you'll love it. If you decide to come up shoot me a message and we might be able to catch up. Can't hurt to get a bit of 'local' knowledge.

I've added some pix to give you an idea.