Thread: Tyrnos/ Saltist ?

Tyrnos/ Saltist ?

Gday all,
    I have a pacific composites braid buster 15-24kg, want to use 50-60lb braid for bottom bashing the reef. Question is which reel to get for this purpose, I am leaning towards the tyrnos 20 or 30 two speed but would also consider a saltist or perhaps a trinidad, what do you guys reckon ?, any advice much appreciated.

Re: Tyrnos/ Saltist ?

For mine the best is the saltist 50h but the tyrnos are okay but for 60lb braid the 16 would be as big as you need but the trinidad are rubbish and don't handle the salt water elements at all, out of those three i own all and the best is the saltist which has a faster retreive and easily serviceable, the tyrnos in the 30 makes a good troll reel but too big to be swinging all day bottom bashing so i use the 16 for reef fishing which holds heaps of line and easy to service too, but the trinadads are rubbish wouldnt piss on one if it was on fire in fact if you want one i've got one in peices that needs fixing but the quote was $300 you can have it.

Hey Mate - I've got both (Saltist 50h, and Tyrnos 20) - I'd go the Saltist for bottom bashing....much lighter/easier to hold all day.

I use my Tyrnos 20 for trolling.

If budget can strech, Id look at a Talica.

+1 for the saltist
    IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT

trinadad would be the best of them..... there is no way you can compare a trinadad to a saltist I have both and the saltist is a good reel for the price but come on. the trinadad is designed for jigging in salt water please tell me how it is not suited???

I use a trinadad tn40n 50lb braid on a jigmaster rod and have been using it to bottom fish and jig for reds and coral trout in 80-140ft of water for around 3 yrs now and never missed a beat.

Krazy fisher maybe you aren't fishing it hard enough, they don't handle the salt one bit the washers are flimsy and weak the bearing seize reguly or they are is a torium which i just gave away recently also painted gold bloody rubbish, i got mine serviced up to three times a year at $70 a pop not including bad anti reverse paws that nearly busted my arm once when it let go fighting a fish if you compare that to a saltist that gets serviced maybe once every 2 yrs its a joke feel free to come get mine you can have it for nothing.

Thanks heaps for the input lads, think the saltist will get the nod just chasing around at the moment looking for a hot price !!
    Cheers !!

Hooknose same as the guys the tyrnos is heavy as hell and after all day the bicep throbs like hell lol
    But i have the 30 and just bought another for trolling great with 80 lb mono with the x raps
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Cheers JT, you still caning those squid or what ?

ps are you buying your reels locally or elsewhere ?

Hooknose,

I used a Saltist 50 (low speed) for jigging for a couple of years and caught a lot of kingfish and amberjacks with it, between 6-13kg. I never had a problem with it - until I went to service it about two months ago. I had never bothered to take it apart because it was still smooth, all that time, but when I took the handle off, I saw a thin layer of rust on the handle shaft ball bearing. It looks like saltwater can collect in that part of the sideplate, like water in a cup. Then, when I went to undo the sideplate screws, I found that they were all stuck in there pretty good, due to slight corrosion of the screw threads. I finally got all of them out, all except one. Trying to unscrew it, I threaded the screw-head, then decided to drill the screw out . Probably not a good idea, because then I had a hole in the frame, but I just had to get that sideplate off.

What I saw inside was a bit of a surprise. There was no sign of any corrosion inside the reel and, despite running 10kg of drag pretty much the whole time, there was no visible sign of any wear to the gears or the anti-reverse pawl. The handle shaft bearing was stuck in the side plate though, and had a very slight gritty feel when I turned it manually. I had to knock the bearing out with a socket (?) screwdriver and a rubber mallet. Somehow, I didn't ruin the bearing, so I took the shields off it, cleaned it, greased it, replaced the shields, and reinstalled it (until I get a replacement from BocaBearings.com). All other bearings seemed in perfect condition.

To fill the oversized hole in the sideplate, I decided to use Perma-oxy multi-metal epoxy, which I bought from Super Cheap Auto. Originally, it almost matched the colour of the reel - not anymore. I haven't decided whether I should order another screw and redrill the hole, or whether the reel doesn't really need five sideplate screws.

Anyway, the reel is still smooth, smoother than before I took it apart and relubricated it.

Sorry about the long post, but I thought I'd warn you, if you're going to buy a Saltist, you should probably unscrew the sideplate screws on both sides and coat them in oil. I would suggest grease, but Alan Tani cracked the frame on a Saltiga when screwing greased screws into the sideplate, because the screw holes are so tight. I would also take the handle off and coat the visible side of the handle shaft ball bearing with a thick layer of grease. Also, if drag pressure is more important to you than gear ratio, you might want to buy the low speed Saltist, which can attain about 1kg more of drag.

There is a new high-speed Saltist Star Drag available now in the US, which has Carbontex-like drag washers and is anodized black rather than painted.

I thought I'd also post a picture of my Saltist with a hole in it. I don't really use this reel anymore, I use a Trinidad 40N (which, understandably, feels much more solid and of much higher quality), but it's always good to have a back up / lender.

Brent.

http://www.tackledirect.com/daiwa-sa...nal-reels.html

Cheers Brent, have taken it all on board, checked out the us new model today- they are available on e-bay, still deciding which one, hmmm decisions, decisions !!!

Quote Originally Posted by samson View Post
    Krazy fisher maybe you aren't fishing it hard enough, they don't handle the salt one bit the washers are flimsy and weak the bearing seize reguly or they are is a torium which i just gave away recently also painted gold bloody rubbish, i got mine serviced up to three times a year at $70 a pop not including bad anti reverse paws that nearly busted my arm once when it let go fighting a fish if you compare that to a saltist that gets serviced maybe once every 2 yrs its a joke feel free to come get mine you can have it for nothing.
    Good to see nothings changed with you Samson, you're still using heaps of Shimano gear ah . Every time you have crawled out of your hole over the last few years you verballed on how many times you have to service your Shimano reels, or give them away, or throw them in the rubbish because they don't stand up to your Pro Fishing standards, yet you must still buy heaps of them to do all this .
    Cut the crap
    Limit your Catch - Don't Catch your Limit

GPB
    I was going to respond the same as you but.... to argue with a fool just proves that there are two in the room.......

hooknose the trinidad is by far the better reel, the tn40n is based on the ocean jigger which has been known as one of the best jiging reels for a long time. the new ones look good

Quote Originally Posted by hooknose View Post
    Cheers JT, you still caning those squid or what ?

ps are you buying your reels locally or elsewhere ?
    Locally The tyrnos from B C F and have my Accurate from The Secret Spot and when i got my Saltist Barra Jacks .
    Hasn't been to bad for the squid mate, I should be out today but i better spruce up my shed for Wags to sleep in or he'll whinge
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

GPB pull ya head in mate as i've said in the past toriums and trinadads are rubbish given away both my toriums and got a trinadad in peices thank god thats the end of them as far as tyrnos are concerned there okay only because they are sealed better and don't have those crappy carbon washers, if i could be bothered using alvey's i would but not user freindly, the bloke asked a question and i gave him one unlike you and what is your experience with these brands obviously none so why don't you crawl back in your hole if ya not gonna help someone for once in your life or even better go fishing if your capable.