Thread: mackay mayhem

mackay mayhem

Missed out on the glassed out conditions last weekend for work but keeping an eye on the weather as usual a glimmer of hope was upon us. With the forecast good enough for me the trip was sorted . Early morning launch Thursday with a few boats heading out (always a good sign) we headed out in reasonable conditions towards a few marks that produce out wide. With not to far to go and eyes glued to me Koden I marked a few little shows on the way but as we got closer my eyes lit up and as I pulled back the revs and headed back the sounder lit up. A 40 foot ledge in the middle of nowhere our lines were soon hitting the bottom. With a whole mullet on me sliding snell rig it was soon engulfed and within 5 minutes my PB reddy hit the deck at 12 kg and we soon realised that we had hit the jackpot. With reddys ,pinkies,trout, lipper and red throat jumping on board the esky was looking sweet . It did get a bit slack around the change of the tides but soon picked up again when the run cranked up. That night the reds really came on the chew and me mate picked up the biggest ive ever seen at over 13kg and at the same time me other mate got dusted by a brute as he hadnt set the drag on full as these big fish will pull line regardless but later on boated some nice 7 kg reds. We had to get home early the next day cause I had night shift that night but soon realised the SE change had come early and with with the wind up we only had a quick fish in the morning but being around the change of tide again it was slack and conditions were crap. Getting back to the boat ramp we were' lucky' enough to be greeted by the fisheries, bloody good timing hey and he had a look at the catch and after explaining to him the sweetlip were big grassys and not spangleds I handed over my safety gear not realising me flares were way out of date so I felt like the biggest ######## when he handed me my $$$ 200 fine . What a great way to end the trip so let this be a lesson to all you boaties next time before you go out check your bloody dates cause I forgot too.

Re: mackay mayhem

Hope to get some photos up this week just to keep everyone keen , havnt tried yet so I hope its not to hard .

keen to see those photos-sounds like a great trip webby.
    steve

$200 same as us a the start of the year. Puts a downer on your trip thats for sure....
    Sounds like the reds were on the chew alright. We might be able to sneek out tomorrow arvo (off cairns) for the first time in 6 months, hope we have the same luck as you did.

For sure lad, the fishing up there is awesome and the reef is so accessible hope there chewin there heads off for yas.