Last cast wins the Day

Thread: Last cast wins the Day

Last cast wins the Day

I already had a fantastic day on the gold coast, launching from the seaway and trying new home made snapper jigs ( which work!) and soft plastics ( not so new to me)
    Deckie for the day was brother Andrew who was not having as good a day as the skipper. He claims it was his side of the boat that had a hoodoo on it, but we managed 6 snapper for the day, all nice size table fish, mostly mid 40 and 50cm fish.

Then number 7 latched on to my pink shine gulp like I have never experienced a snapper to do before. I had my line out, turned to Andrew and said " Well brother, if we don't make our way for home now, we'll be washing the boat in the dark"
    As soon as Andrew agreed we had better make our way home, I started to wind the line in. I remembered these wise words from uncle Frank a long time ago"if you are going to wind in a pink shine, crank it back as quick as you possibly can, some fish such as tuna will hit a fast retrieved plastic" - So that's what I did. After about 10 revolutions of the eggbeater handle WHACK! I was on!! I thought it was a pelagic of some sort, line peeled off pretty quick. I looked at what was now very close to backing on my 4000 series spool, so I started short jabbing lifts of the rod to try claim a few wraps of line back on the spool. 80cm of brute power, this fish wins the prize for the most unusual take from a snapper yet. He would have had to be mid water, and travelled at least 10kph to take the plastic.

I finally got a good trip in. Last 5 or so have been very ordinary.
    Video link is put into the Video section http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=167151 where the snapper played ball as I was rolling the camera.

Re: Last cast wins the Day

Good show. Those last 2 snapper look like relatives. I think that if conditions are right they will hit a fast SP. Probably the vibes it was giving off.

Good for you Scalem, cracking way to top off your day!

Nice snap mate.

Wal

Doesnt look like a snapper shortage in QLD going by this report, that big one is a thumper

definately not brisbaneboy its a load of rubbish spun up by some greens

Might look like the snapper population is booming, but what you don't see the the amount of effort we put in, thinking several times that we were going to go home fishless. We got up at 4am, on the water by 6am, went back in for an hour or so because I was feeling crook ( don't know what happened there, I'm usually fine), found my sea legs again so headed back out after lunch time, catching all but one in the esky from the morning.

I bet the hoards of people on the dozens of charter boats we saw must be thinking differently, no snapper caught while I was watching them Like fishing has always been, if you put the effort in, sometimes you are there in the right place at the right time.

Thanks again for the pleasure of being your support crew. If nothing else it is just worth it just to get out and enjoy the ride in such a beautiful boat and take in what many of us take for granted. We got close and personal to whales and some great weather. Another memorable moment with my best fishing buddy.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Nice Snaps guys ... good to see your effort rewarded.

Ta

Congratulations Brian. That's a beauty mate!!
    What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat

Ausfish Platinum Member honda900's Avatar

Nice work Brian,

Pitty I couldnt make it, family stuff all weekend,

a day at the Ekka or a peaceful trip like that.. Easy choice..

The Ekka almost drove me insane.

Honda.

great effort for some top snaps.

well done

brett

Great fish Brian,

At the rate you are going we'll have to get out there again soon before there's none left!!

Adam

Nice Snapper there Brian, looks like i missed out on a good trip

cheers tim

Quote Originally Posted by honda900 View Post
    Nice work Brian,

Pitty I couldnt make it, family stuff all weekend,

a day at the Ekka or a peaceful trip like that.. Easy choice..

The Ekka almost drove me insane.

Honda.
    Hi Chris,
    It's been me making family committments, regularly having to put fishing way down on the priority list. No other option mate, the Yalta has a nice bunk bed in it, but you don't want to be living in it PERMANENTLY

Quote Originally Posted by Adam_G View Post
    Great fish Brian,

At the rate you are going we'll have to get out there again soon before there's none left!!

Adam
    Adam, I take your point mate, makes me feel much better having had a few dud trips of late ..... except for when I followed you guys out ..... and this one, but that's about it over the last couple of months. Thanks for the photos from our trip out too M8, they are now background on my laptop... and my home PC!
    Quote Originally Posted by TIM D View Post
    Nice Snapper there Brian, looks like i missed out on a good trip

cheers tim
    Same as Chris Tim, sometimes you just gotta do what ya gotta do. You don't have a boat you can sleep in should you not keep the wife happy, so you made the right choice! There will be another chance, and Tim will keep your skills sharpened on the trag until we get out again