fish id guys? no idea but seem to catch heaps off mooba and hutchies

Thread: fish id guys? no idea but seem to catch heaps off mooba and hutchies

fish id guys? no idea but seem to catch heaps off mooba and hutchies

hey guys ive been saying for ages im going to take a photo of one of those fish and get some helpfull ppl off ausfish to i.d it for me. went out lastnight off mooloolaba caught half a dozen good pearlies few blackall and cpl of sweetlip and throughout all that caught 3 or 4 of these babies. fight pretty well are they edible and what actually are they? my guess was a ummm yeh? lol also do they have a size limit the fish appear very white in colour nearly look like a squire but there deffinately not .

Re: fish id guys? no idea but seem to catch heaps off mooba and hutchies

Looks like a small iodine bream to me

VS

could be a spiecies of tarwhine if so size is 25cm they can be very white silvery colour with brownie coloured lines along the flanks

shane

dont know but looks like tasty!!

morwong??

Ausfish Gold Member

go by a couple of names collered sea bream or iodine bream they have tasty white flesh although if you get a bad one they stink and taste of iodine and are no good mostly used as cut bait or thrown back, they are a coral reef specie bag of 5 and a 25cm size limit and pec fin must be removed if keeping.

Its a collared sea bream.

Good eating.

thanks for that guys we always manage to catch a few when we go out of quite decent size and we always just throw them back. might be a good fish to take home and pass over the fence to the neighbours lol. its a win win situation if it they liike it ill be in the good books and they wont mind all the noise i make or if they dont like it they might stop hassling me for fish the cheap ' f u%s ' lol
    cheers fellas

We use them for cut bait mostly, but of course only if they are legal size Got a mate who eats them but for my mind there is a lot better table fish to be had from the same areas that they are caught from.

vs

Yeah iodine bream, I always release them with a 7/0 circle hook in them

mate defineately an iodine bream, really good flesh bait for red throat and parrot. bu twhat ever you do dont cut it and leave it in esky with take home fish cause the idione comes out of it and puts a bad taste through your fish flesh.

good for the nieghbour or inlaws

supa....

Ausfish Platinum Member -spiro-'s Avatar

mate i don't know about eatting them but there top slab bait.....hard to beat on the reefs
    planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]