Boat Import Cost/Time - Page 3
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Boat Import Cost/Time

Re: Boat Import Cost/Time

Quote Originally Posted by Scott79 View Post
    Mate, I have been thinking about it for a fair while - with varying levels of enthusiasm I must admit, and am always interested to hear about other people's experience in the subject.
    There are a few negatives with the process, but the value in the US boats is hard to overlook.
    Right at this moment I have done the full circle and am thinking buy something locally now and upgrade in a couple of years time - potentially to an import.
    Scott.
    Well that's kinda how I feel about the whole thing as well. There is no doubt that you save when importing BUT how much? Worth the risk and time/frustration?

The other thing is, it seems a lot of people are importing now so I'd guess it won't be too long before these boats hit the market and push down prices - adds another level of complexity.

Quote Originally Posted by LoungeLizard View Post
    OK, hoon, let's give this a go. It'll be an interesting exercise:

I've been looking at this Grady White

http://www.boattrader.com/listing/20...nture-96652044

The boat is located in Hilton Head South Carolina. I'm not sure what the closest major port in the US is, probably Jacksonville FL, about 170 miles away. Shipping will be to Brisbane.

I want a new ally trailer built to to Aus spec, with the S/S discs and hydraulic/electric brakes. Can you price this up?

Dimensions? Without getting someone to measure it I wouldn't be able to tell you with 100% accuracy. However based on similar boats let's say for the sake of this exercise 7.5m (length) x 2.4m (height) x 2.5m (width) This is with the motor on the trailer, and can probably be shaved a bit by moving posts etc.

Savannah will be the closest port from there in any case around the $400 mark to port.
    As for the trailer you want to make/buy you cabn check yourself on costs by emailing or ringing tariler manufactures in Florida , the price will vay depending on several things , like how heavy you want it and how well you want it made , in any case you can get an ally trailer with S/S brakes and electric actuator with brakeaway for $5500 but you still have to change lights/ wiring etc... when she gets here .
    I can't see you getting it at 7.5 mts so I'll work on 8 mts , other dimentions look about right so I'll work on 8. thats 48 cbm and I'll asume you pay $31 k for the boat.
    Boat $31,000
    Trailer $ 5,500
    Land transport $ 400
    marine insurance $ 600
    Sea transport to Bris $ 7500
    Shinkwrap $ 250

Total USD $45250 @say 0.89 = $50843 AU
    ATO works the exchange rate on the day the boat leaves USA .

Tax $ 5084

Total $55927

This is your landing cost plus customs broker, customs entry, Q/t and port charges , these can vary a fair bit but around the $2000 should be on the money .
    You will also need to pay a tow truck to take it to your place or where you going to do the work for compliancing, I don' t know how far but I will allow $ 300
    If you get someone to do the trailer compiance for you you are looking at around $500 for lights wirring , mudflaps, reflectors etc. and a plate. In NSW you need to get a brown slip ( inspection) in QLD I think RTA still does that , in NSW it costs $70 add to that a weighbridge ticket, you have to take the boat off the trailer to do it. The trailer is not registered so either need a trade plate or a tow truck. You can work out what you are going to do .
    Before shipment you need to have an import approval for the trailer from Canberra it costs $50 and can take up to 4 weeks at times depending on how busy they are . You can't ship before you have it .
    $55927
    $ 2000
    Trailer costs minimum $ 700
    Trailer rego and stamp duty 3% in NSW $ 400 Boat rego and boat code varification in NSW $ 150
    Total $59177

Of course you have a lot of assumptions there including the exchange rate that could change anytime, towing fees in AU and Q/T clening fees that can vary as well as your broker fees.

You will not see the boat for at least 8-10 weeks after you pay for it .

There are risks with this, like the freight company going broke after you pay them and they don't pay the shipping company , you have to pay again to have it released .
    The boat can be damaged on the way and they steal parts on the way .

Thanks mate, lot of detail there. I'll have to read through it all thoroughly and try to get my head around it.

Thanks wrxhoon, that's the most relevant info and pricing I have seen on the process.
    Anyone can spin the chocolate wheel and come up with a round figure - In fact I've done it plenty of times....
    Thanks again.