Artificial reefs

Thread: Artificial reefs

Artificial reefs

Hi Guys,

Just wondering if any official or non official body has ever thought of making artificial reefs off Ballina in Northern NSW??

It seems to be an idea that works well in other parts of the country and helps support large numbers of fish and aquatic life.

There are large areas of sandy bottom close in and not so many good reef areas and that it would probably be a viable option to place some structure in there to create a fish haven??

Just a thought.
    Uncle Steve.

Re: Artificial reefs

dont know myself but your right, it is a good idea. hmas brisbane off the sunny coast is a prime example of that with the amount of fish and other life it supports.

I think it is expensive to get the full environmental all clear. I have heard of guys making their own but I think if someone caught you you would cop a reeming.

Quote Originally Posted by Captain Seaweed View Post
    I think it is expensive to get the full environmental all clear. I have heard of guys making their own but I think if someone caught you you would cop a reeming.
    Oh a reeming thats a scary thought even imagining it has parts of by body tightening! Yeah I reckon youre right, but there is a lot of evidence of their value inshore.

We havea few wrecks off Cairns and they get hammered but there is always fish there, Also I remember years ago fishing off Woodgate where someone had dumped a whole heap of cane bins to form a reef and we always caught mackerel around it

Does anyone know any more about this one off Woodgate?

Ausfish Platinum Member lethal098's Avatar

Plenty of guys in south oz that make their own artis, they tend to be in isolated places that wont creat havoc on the pro netters down there. Have fished on them and they definately work really well, the surrounding areas have been that badly fished there is simply nothing left, i dont see a problem provided its not going to destroy someones net or vessel.

Yes the HMAS Brisbane is a great arti reef, but we are not allowed to fish anywhere near it, will that change?? probably not.

cheers Lee

problem is that it requires funding from state govs and as noted it can be expensive. apparently we (se qld) were promised seven (?) or so arti's in moreton bay and surrounds as part of the softener for the implementation of the green zones. so far the i think (dont quote me) we have one in the form of the tiwi pearl and another in the pipeline. im not sure exactly of the numbers but seems like a typical shallow promise made by pollies hoping we will forget about it two years down the track.

Livin' in a dream I'm afraid Uncle Steve,

If we try to do it ourselves, we will be jammed for polluting or creating a menace to others,

asking for a ship of just about any kind will have the greenies screaming about oil slicks from the bilge of said hulk,
    so the red tape involved will render the project almost impossible,

we could try to get funding..........(keep dreamin', we were lucky to get the FAD)

OR we could just get Konya's to scuttle flatty on pippi's..........

I saw a documentary on creating an artificial reef. they were using sheets of rio and welding them into stacks about a foot high then dropping them where they wanted to. the coral starts forming as the rio breaks down. eventually will create a sustainable 'natural' reef.

Seriously, without all the 'studies and political BS costs', how expensive could it be?

$60 a sheet for reject rio.

'Amateur Fisherman, Expert Storyteller'

look at all the concrete in the old hornibrook highway , where will it go??????????? nudgee is my guess , how good a arti would all them posts and girders make, load straight onto barges and dump in the bay and whalah, fish habitat.
    cheers swano

The way the world is going through my experiences in order to do that there would have to be a 1-2 million dollar study done into the impact it would have on migrating lesbian seagulls and the effects it may have on their unborn young. Tests would need to be carried out to ensure bait fish did not get confused with the new underwater obstruction and how they would be compensated. Then they would need to put up a big poster to advertise and take all objections on board followed by another study and leaflet drop.
    Then they would need to run it past the local aboriginal elders to see if any of the sand used in the concrete came from an old sacred site.
    If that all passed then it would go to tender to see who would deliver the concrete to the site and incorporate another 20-30 foreign undergraduate engineers to have their say.
    Then maybe it may happen.....

Hey Muzz,

I think Flatty has already been scuttled m8.

I wonder if anyone would notice if the Richmond Princess mysteriously disappeared?

I reckon the idea would be a winner but cutting through all the red tape would be the biggest obstacle.
    Captain Seaweed has hit it on the head.

Uncle Steve.

Cmon mate........... I know your creatijng your own reef one reel at a time

Yep, sure am.

I think there is more than one Shimano reel out there

i know blokes who did it on their own years ago and now have their own private reef system to fish from. apparently they used old tires filed with concrete.

Than again after all of these floods have settled down and the debri starts to settle there wil be plenty of new reefs of moreton island. from what i saw on the news this morning there will be a new reef about 200 metres long and made of concrete and steel
    What day of the week is it?

I'm pretty sure they have added concrete reefs around Peel and also at the Harry Atkinson area. Do you get the Maritime Notices? They state where and when they are being done