Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Mondy - Trials & Tribulations... but great winter weather

Mondy - Trials & Tribulations... but great winter weather

I just couldn’t help myself - with what promised to be a perfect weather period , off I went to Mondy (via a quick stop at Borumba)
    Now while the craw were in numbers at Borumba …. My trip was off to a horrible start - 1) I’d somehow shorted out the fuse holder (no electronics) 2) I left all my barra lures at home …. Except for a lone slick rig & a storm suspending shad - So with a few bucks in hand – I called into Foxies a picked out a couple of X Raps a stiffy twitch bait & a pkt of slick rigs.
    So I managed to pick up a fuse holder in Gympie ….. first priority replace the stuffed one , set up camp & on the water for a quick look
    Water temps had risen to 24 deg …. A pleasant surprise & with conditions looking ideal in south B – I was confident …….. but with my location occupied , I moved a few hundred meters away ….. & tied off focusing on some rough water over a shallow point ….. As the sun began to set my X rap was engulfed with big head shakes & those flared gills ….. the stuff that gets us excited - certainly a good fish … my task at hand was going to be a tough one - strong winds , tied off , lots of standing timber - an out of control fish & solo ……. Throw the rope spin the boat , free spool & chase the fish ….. already some 50M away & behind me - yet I had to go the opposite direction first smashing into a tree I eventually got to a point where I could re engage the reel & continue the fight - CRUNCH! … my beloved HLC seized . all I could do was try some handlining ….. but a few seconds later the braid parted ..
    So with a fish lost & down a X Rap my day was done
    Camp ground news was not real good with only a couple of fish taken ….. surely with improving conditions the fish would come on the chew.
    The following morning …..Driving through the early morning fog - I headed up to north B , C & D but nothing really motivated me …… till I hit the 2 mile . With an intensifying northerly wind - which created a wind lane that was blowing into the back of a small bay – I cut the motor & drifted the 300M toward the bay & once the depth rose to 4M I fired off my first cast with a 110 yakka slick rig ….. a two second count down & a lift of the rod tip…..the water erupted - I was on – with a good barra rampaging toward some timber …. Some quick leccy work and changes in rod angles had the fish in open water where the fish was subdued & landed Click image for larger version. 

Name:	A 107cm.jpg 
Views:	111 
Size:	96.4 KB 
ID:	60423 …. All the misfortunes were suddenly forgotten .
    Just as quickly as the wind picked up it dropped off to what was quite a warm still afternoon …. & not really feeling like firing a gazillion casts I did some exploring. Attachment 60424Running into Al on my travels - we had a bit of a chat before continuing on our ways.
    Now I’ve got to say ….. when fishing solo - I’m not overly enthusiastic about continual casting …. So I did more looking before finishing up in bird bay .
    Sunday continued to offer up good weather but after only fishing a couple of locations – I decided to head up the Kolan & enjoying the magnificent wildlife before having lunch in the shade of the Bruce Hwy .Attachment 60425
    As I made my way back …. I saw the 3 little pigs foraging on a prickly pear - I was amazed at how close I got …Attachment 60428… but constantly aware the mum & dad could be nearby.
    I fished several little bays off the Kolan between Walily Creek & 2 mile for no avail ….. before fishing some lantana in the back of Rainforest Bay - here in a 10min period I had 3 hook ups & jumped all of them on a popper that Al gave me to use - not big fish 60-70cm but a bit of a surprise .
    When it went quiet …… I decided enough & headed back in…….. pack up for an early morning run back home.
    An interesting trip …… not a lot of casts thrown though I would have expected much more action than 5 hits / hook ups & 1 landed in those conditions (24.8 Deg – North winds ) … I was pretty undecided on where to locate fish except when the wind was howling - fish were often spooked in the surface layers in deep open water - 2 mile , Jacks & Bird bay ….. Maybe the fish haven’t decided whether they should be cruising around or warming up.
    Certainly the wildlife have moved into spring with eagles nesting , plenty of roos , swans nesting , piglets ……. & with a little more unseasonal weather – more fired up barra Attachment 60429

Re: Mondy - Trials & Tribulations... but great winter weather

Good report Chris. I don't know quite how your work arrangements pan out but I am jealous for sure.

I am also not quite sure how you left your barra lures at home Anyway, you still managed a result, so good on you. Very teflon-like. What did the barra go? Or did you leave your braggie at home too???
    Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Sorry mate...you must have put your brag mat shot up as I was still typing.

Quote Originally Posted by Big_Ren View Post
    Good report Chris. I don't know quite how your work arrangements pan out but I am jealous for sure.

I am also not quite sure how you left your barra lures at home Anyway, you still managed a result, so good on you. Very teflon-like. What did the barra go? Or did you leave your braggie at home too???
    Thanks Paul

Teflonesque - It really was a spur of the moment thing ..... because all the lures were taken out for Somerset (they normally live in the boat) ...... I remembered when I was checking out the blown fuse holder ...... Halfway there - i wasn't going back ....... so I picked a few favorites & away I went.

no braggie was in the boat .... photo now attached - she went 107

Good stuff Chris. I am actually a little surprised you found water that warm, although it has been a mild winter I guess. Were you still fishing the HBs slowish? My fish at the CM came on a bleeding mullet Stiffy Boney, fished with a fist pump action (think you know what I mean).

Good report Chris. Love the look of Mondy is your pics.

We too thought that Mondy would be firing (like Awoonga) with the warmer stable weather. Still looks the goods for September though - one more cold snap and then things will begin to warm up (we hope!)...

Always good to land a big barra after some misfortunes...

Regs

Pete & Kyle

Quote Originally Posted by Big_Ren View Post
    Good stuff Chris. I am actually a little surprised you found water that warm, although it has been a mild winter I guess. Were you still fishing the HBs slowish? My fish at the CM came on a bleeding mullet Stiffy Boney, fished with a fist pump action (think you know what I mean).

Even at 7am it was 20.2 deg C in the main basin ....... Sat evening felt like a Summers evening .

Actually I fished the X Rap fairly fast in the rough water.

Had I had someone else with me ...... I would have put in a more concerted effort ..... but I bored myself & moved on

Quote Originally Posted by Peter4 View Post
    Good report Chris. Love the look of Mondy is your pics.

We too thought that Mondy would be firing (like Awoonga) with the warmer stable weather. Still looks the goods for September though - one more cold snap and then things will begin to warm up (we hope!)...

Always good to land a big barra after some misfortunes...

Regs

Pete & Kyle
    how did Mondy fish on the weekend ? - They had been fishing a southerly system & then it changed to the North - .... that may have burst the bubble

Landing any good barra makes a trip worth while .... as you know - but yeh I was really pleased ..... specially on 20lb spin gear.

well done chris i thought the warm few days might get them firing up oh well come on september

shane

good results chris after all the trial and tribs,i had another solid hit on surface down in bird just on dark no cigars though ,found 24 degrees in that bay,your reel is in and will give you a buzz when results are in on damage

Quote Originally Posted by warrior View Post
    good results chris after all the trial and tribs,i had another solid hit on surface down in bird just on dark no cigars though ,found 24 degrees in that bay,your reel is in and will give you a buzz when results are in on damage
    Thanks Al .... much appreciated

Plus I owe you a Rapala popper ....... do you want a red & white one

Yeh , I heard you blooping away - even over 200M away ...... just after you left I spooked 4 or 5 barra in the middle of that bay I was fishing ..... just warming themselves in that top layer.

sighns are looking good for the next month if the weather holds up and the northerlies keep pushing that warm wind down .i will land one soon have dropped 8 fish in a row but thats barra for you ,i think i am not striking hard enough and setting the hooks.

Another good report Chris, with good pictures, thanks,

Sounds like it was a good low tempo, eyes wide open trip, that will pay off later.

I have updated your Mondy Cup score too, well done.

John.

Quote Originally Posted by warrior View Post
    sighns are looking good for the next month if the weather holds up and the northerlies keep pushing that warm wind down .i will land one soon have dropped 8 fish in a row but thats barra for you ,i think i am not striking hard enough and setting the hooks.
    You've been giving the poppers a good work out ....... If it makes you feel any better I lost 3 out of 3 on your popper - but they were only small fish that got rid of the lure pretty quickly.

Quote Originally Posted by Obi _ Wan View Post
    Another good report Chris, with good pictures, thanks,

Sounds like it was a good low tempo, eyes wide open trip, that will pay off later.

I have updated your Mondy Cup score too, well done.

John.
    Thanks John

Yeh ..... I'm usually too keen to fish rather than look - found some nice locations that I have just driven past & never given a 2nd thought
    I dont reckon that I threw more than a hundred casts on sat/sunday ......