Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Rainbow Beach Fishing Comp Bashathon

Re: Rainbow Beach Fishing Comp Bashathon

G'day Greg. Hardbodies mate. As far as the boat goes I am going in with a mate whoose mate builds plate boats. Just in discussions still- 6.5/ 6.7mtr not sure what his brand name is- he normally builds 50 ft plus boats but wants to fire out some smaller ones.

Quote Originally Posted by reel scream View Post
    Well done Ant and others who kept punching out in the weather. We only ventured outside on the Sunday and kept inside the rest of the days (issues). Fished 7 out of 8. As a result "reel scream" will be getting sold in a couple of months and a bigger boat will be built .
    We did manage to pick up "biggest fish" catagory on three nights with some Spanish.

scott, bigger boat what tha, awesome mate great to catch up again, talk to ya sooon

Great photography & Great fish.

Well done to ya.

I would like to thank Reel Sceam Scotty. For finding the spaniards, and then telling a few of his mates. If only all fisher's were as generous.
    Nath stepping up to featuring in the media it may suit you but tell morsey he had better keep his day job. Say g'day to him.
    It was good to meet Smithy, Lucas and catch up with the regulars.
    We had a steady week getting too old for the rough stuff.
    Regards Brett McLaren

I would like to thank Reel Sceam Scotty. For finding the spaniards, and then telling a few of his mates. If only all fisher's were as generous.
    Nath stepping up to featuring in the media it may suit you but tell morsey he had better keep his day job. Say g'day to him.
    It was good to meet Smithy, Lucas and catch up with the regulars.
    We had a steady week getting too old for the rough stuff.
    Regards Brett McLaren. Re Bartender

Quote Originally Posted by No Tiller View Post
    Ha ha. Generousity or stupidity in a comp??. If they were 20kg reds I think I would be a bit quieter Brett. Good to see you guys again. Now its time to get down here and get some cobes. See you soonish.

Just give Scotty a few rums or bourbons he'll be more than willing to give you all his hotspots haha jokes.

They were some solid spanish from inside the bar, well done to all those that got onto them, pity the prizes for the big fish weren't the same as the other categories.

Awesome report mate and some very good photos to boot. Make the bashing out worthwhile when you pick up a few wins. Well done

Quote Originally Posted by reel scream View Post
    G'day Greg. Hardbodies mate. As far as the boat goes I am going in with a mate whoose mate builds plate boats. Just in discussions still- 6.5/ 6.7mtr not sure what his brand name is- he normally builds 50 ft plus boats but wants to fire out some smaller ones.

Scott,
    Let me take you out on my Noble for a run. I use to be a glass man only but.....Are you keen PM me.

Marty

G day No Tiller, been a bit slack on the fishing part of my life lately. Kirk my 15 year old is doing Boxing which has taken over my life at the moment . He is going really well at it , hes currently ranked 2 in QLD in his weight division and fighting in Toowoomba in a couple of weeks at the Golden Gloves. Should change my forum name to got a tiller as ive only got a 4 mtr makocraft these days. Still going to bash out side in it when i get some spare time. Heard of a 24 foot sportfish owned by Noel Griffiths for sale out your way? fairly old one but done no work maybe 200 hrs? 6mm bottom,colour Koden, large esky etc. Would make a good boat for someone. Not for me as once you have owned a cat you dont go back to a mono. Do you get much gear through Lucas`s shop out there . Hes a top bloke and a god when it comes to soft plastic fishing. He made the cover on Bush and Beach this month with a soft plastic caught Pearly caught on the way home from a shelf trip on Phils boat. Sharks gave us a flogging on the reds but got a couple, some nice parrot, blue mouris , sweeties etc. Did the girls have a fish this year or was weather to shitty. Sounds like every one had a good time . Have to catch up soon Brett as its been to long. Crossy did alright again. Must have big kahuna`s at his age to put himself through the crap weather and beat all the young guns . any way good to chat gotta go.
    Nathan

Hey Nath,
    Great to hear Kirk is going so well. Do you still get him to do the dishes? We get to Toowoomba a fair bit what date is the fight. I don't think Noels boat is 24ft maybe 20 but it has done very little work in the last 8 yrs.
    Regarding the girls, they are still outfishing us blokes but you got too let them have a win every now and then. Anne got a first one night with a pearly. and our best red was caught by one of them too. We didn't go too far Crossy knows his stuff and congrats to him.
    Hope this finds you well Cheers Brett

Quote Originally Posted by No Tiller View Post
    Good point No Tiller.
    I will take a leaf out of your book on generosity.
    Next time we catch up Scotty, I have some really good marks that I will generously let you have. One good turn deserves another, hey?

Hi Brett,
    The Golden Gloves are on the 28th&29th August at 10 Annard Street Toowoomba in the indoor bowls hall. Kirk stopped doing the dishes so bought a dishwasher didnt have the guts to argue but he has to sleep some time hahaha Was talking to Noel today and he said hes had a few beers with you over the years. Sounds like a nice old bloke. What do you think of boat and how much do you think its worth. The 70 s have only done 100 hours but are 1996 models. Looks like it is fairly old. I think he is chasing around 30 grand which sounds a bit to much to me.

Nathan

Hey Nath,
    Yea Noel is a good bloke, If you had to buy something to replace it with what would it cost? But the second hand boat market is a buyers market at the moment. Seems close but hey each to their own. Tell Phil I lost his mobile and give us a call one day. Look forward to having a beer soon
    Cheers Brett

Quote Originally Posted by nathan dumschat View Post
    Hi Brett,
    The Golden Gloves are on the 28th&29th August at 10 Annard Street Toowoomba in the indoor bowls hall.

Nathan
    hi nath,
    hope things are good
    . what time is brett fighting? put him on the card in the 80kg division. on second thoughts, a hard working farmer, perched up in the air conditioned tractor with dvd player and an esky full of cream buns, put him in with the 90kg boys

when you do a run in the little boat, would love to see the video, if it is anything like the stuff in the cat, that would be madness

back to the thread
    great comp, well done to you guy's who did the hard yards.
    great to meet new people and catch up with others
    look out next year for reel scream, big new boat, just need to try and keep the crew in order might be the skipper leading them astray

dazza