Waving the wand in the ice....

Thread: Waving the wand in the ice....

Waving the wand in the ice....

Gday all
    Its been a while since my last report, been a busy past 6 months for me!
    Anyways Ive been absent from Monduran for a while as im back home again in cold NSW.... Finding work was a little hard in Bundy but im back in the work force now and hopefully will soon be back to fishing hard. Will still do trips to Mondy but will be a while yet
    Anyhow..
    Did a couple of trips west of where I live and put up with some extremely cold weather to catch some nice trout on fly. Caught some nice fish in the process, no monsters but still happy. Fishing was tough with hardly any fish rising or in sight.
    To give you an idea of how cold it was....according to the radio was -8deg in the afternoon and that felt warm compared to the morning.Our gas cookers struggled to keep a flame in the mornings and about every 5 or 6 casts we would have to stop and snap the ice out of the rod guides! There was even half an inch of ice on the water in some spots.
    Fly that did most of the damage was a beaded brown woolly bugger.
    Almost as good as the fish were pancakes in the morning with a cup of tea and one night I cooked lime lamb burgers and my god they were nice!
    All up a great trip in some nice country with good mates!
    Hope you like the pics!
    Cheers Rob.

Re: Waving the wand in the ice....

You really have to be bloody keen. Thanks for those great pics. One word "Pristine"

You are a man of many talents, Rob...

Methinks that you would prefer the heat, humidity and big barra of Monduran though!

Hope to see you back there soon...

Regs

Pete & Kyle

Ausfish Platinum Member Steve B's Avatar

Rob,

Good to hear from you again. Your not missing much at Mondy at the moment fish wise!

Man that looks cold...your bloody keen. But some nice trout as a reward!
    Well done mate, and good to see the leg is all healed up...although in that cold I doubt you would feel your legs anyway

Great pics as always too!

Cheers Steve
    I dont have ADHD......ohh look a squirrell !!!

Ausfish Platinum Member Big_Ren's Avatar

I'm cold just reading that Rob. Awesome pics mate.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Certainly missing the heat and mondy! Ill be back lol!

Hi Steve! Legs healed nicely now, plays up a little in the cold though...

Ahhhh .... the memories of fishing the ice

Well done Rob ....

Was that at Thompson Creek Dam ?

Sure is mate!

Goodger says he sent you some gear and never heard back from you? Give him a buzz mate he would be glad to hear from you!

Hope to catch up on my next visit!
    Rob.

Ausfish Platinum Member warrior's Avatar

great report rob ,the pics say it all ,early mornings for me in the great lake area in tassie ice all over lake , small fire on the shore to thor you out ,brilliant times though .

Quote Originally Posted by setthehook View Post
    Sure is mate!

Goodger says he sent you some gear and never heard back from you? Give him a buzz mate he would be glad to hear from you!

Hope to catch up on my next visit!
    Rob.
    I thought I recognised the quarry section ..... It can be a special place if the meatoes leave the place alone - Thanks for sharing.
    I actually sent Mark an email ........ I will have to try again .
    Well if you need to get a Mondy dose ...... just pm me

nice report Rob,
    some great country down there,
    always good to get the wand out ey!
    i bet it was bloody cold haha

Cheers guys!

Might take you up on that one day Naggs!
    Cheers mate

Hi Rob, good to see a report from you and as usual you are onto whatever fish is in your area. Some great looking photos in there and it sure must be cold. Reminds me of the last time I fished for trout with fly in the English winter in 1981. - cheers Richard

Hi Richard hows things? Been into the bass and barra?

Ausfish Platinum Member darylive's Avatar

two words Rob

BUGGER THAT!

But good to hear you are alive and fishin.

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............