Thread: River to Mud 2010

Re: River to Mud 2010

congratulations on winning the "Touchy" rod Cheech..was a stonker bream. Old Fred would have been proud of that one.

A few more river to mud photo's

shane

I'm sitting staggering like a TOL on DDD.
    What happened...plastics?? Bugger me, what happened??
    I'm going to have to do something about this.
    Do you reckon they notice frozen yellowbelly at the weigh-in next year??

So how were the snags??
    I was dreaming about them when I heading down the coast on Sunday morning

Quote Originally Posted by dogsbody View Post
    I shall gaze upon my biggest catfish award with such pride for years to come
    Mate. I was thinking just of you when I made it. Ripper eh

At least you didn't get the grinner prize.

Who got the biggest grinner??

Quote Originally Posted by Cheech View Post
    Thanks to all the organisers, and all who donated prizes (especially Phil and Finga for the terrific rod).
    See you all next year.
    Congratulations on been the worthy recipient of the "Touchy" rod matey.
    By the sounds you deserve it.

I hope it serves you well....but just don't let it fall out the back of the boat like one other has done.

Could I ask if you could get some pictures of it?
    In my haste to get it and the plaques done and delivered I forgot to take pictures for myself.
    I have to admit I was pretty happy with the finished rod and the colour combinations.
    I made it to suit a 1000-1500 size eggbeater reel.

I showed the rod to my old mate Curly (he's the guy who spent 30 years to grow the apricot tree the butt came from) and he's was tickled pink that someone has done something useful with something that was going to be burnt.

Last, but not least, Paul (the decky) I made a trophy just for you after all the whining and moaning last year about not getting a trophy and you still missed out.
    Some thing are just met to happen eh

Cheers to all who participated in the event. For without you all this event would be nothing but a BBQ at a boat ramp.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Quote Originally Posted by robersl View Post
    A few more river to mud photo's

shane
    I think I am beginning to realise what is biting me off over at Mud looking at all those Tailor.

That Squire in the third photo?
    Do I measure mine differently or is that barely legal size.?
    Well not quite legal actually unless it shrunk while on ice..

Quote Originally Posted by SeaHunt View Post
    I think I am beginning to realise what is biting me off over at Mud looking at all those Tailor.

That Squire in the third photo?
    Do I measure mine differently or is that barely legal size.?
    Well not quite legal actually unless it shrunk while on ice..
    Hi sea hunt the snapper is a legal 40 cm fish only has to be 35cm you measure from the tip of the nose to the longest part of the tail not to the fork in the tail and yes it probably is tailor snipping you off i lost a couple fishing for bream and hooked another 2

fret not Scott..the deckie nailed the biggest grinner award.

Many thanks to all the organisers of this event.
    Great time to catch up for a laugh and a chat. Even better reason to go fishing.
    At least this year we weighed in a fish. Next year i'll be even happy with a catfish or grinner. At least 5 of my lucky tickets got pulled out.

Never enough time or days in the week to go fishing.

i had a fantastic time guys. a big thanks goes out to webby, phil, the deckie, finga & anyone else i may have missed for organising the comp, prizes & the bbq. it may not be the biggest event but it attracts a great group of people & may it live on for years to come.

big thanks to dogsbody for having me aboard for another year, fishing wise we did it tough, nothing but vermen this year for both of us. but that said i had a great time & got the chance to put some more faces to names.

well done to all the victors & all else who participated.

i will be back next year to try & win back that trophy.

mattg
    Last edited by Mattg68; 04-08-2010 at 09:42 PM. Reason: thanks
    c'mon, take the bait....

I seem to miss it every year and i don,t know were the add is for the weekend.
    Can you help me by letting me know were to find out in which paper or site Webby. Good bunch of species in those lot and i bet the catty would have beat the snap in weight lol. It has been quiet for me in the bay for the good snapps.

Quote Originally Posted by ddobson View Post
    I seem to miss it every year and i don,t know were the add is for the weekend.
    Can you help me by letting me know were to find out in which paper or site Webby. Good bunch of species in those lot and i bet the catty would have beat the snap in weight lol. It has been quiet for me in the bay for the good snapps.

Keep an eye out in the going fishing section from June onwards.

Cheers Dazza

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/forumdisplay.php?f=66

Always posted in this forum.

Cheers LP.

good to see some fish were caught and that chief and garrett got the river category as they do put the time in out there, i wish me and my fishin mate coulda entered but he went to splenda and i had to work. I attended the comp years ago and won a great prize for a live whiting of all things and was stoked, so happy to see its still going strong and god bless the river...

Quote Originally Posted by robersl View Post
    Hi sea hunt the snapper is a legal 40 cm fish only has to be 35cm you measure from the tip of the nose to the longest part of the tail not to the fork in the tail and yes it probably is tailor snipping you off i lost a couple fishing for bream and hooked another 2
    Sorry about digging up a old post but I have been up on Fraser Is and while I was there I picked up a handout from a fisheries inspector about how to measure Fin fish, which I guess is fish with fins and includes tailor.
    So you are absolutley right and I have been doing it wrong for years, even though I personally think it is a silly way to measure them because it is open to certain amount of user "interpretation" and lets say tail bending.
    It also means I have trown a hell of a lot of legal ones back over the last couple of years and gone home with an empty esky.
    But a 35 cm Tailor measured that way and especially a 30 cm dart is still pretty bloody small.