Thread: River to Mud 2010

River to Mud 2010

With predicted winds, things look grim for awhile, even when a few of us arrived sat arvo to launch the wind at whyte island was blowing fleas off a huskie..
    But a couple of early explorers made a track to Mud for the rest of us who followed later.
    Wasn't really that bad, except for the washing machine around the rock wall in the river, there were no records broken getting across to mud, but once there and on the eastern side, smooth as a babies bum.
    Any way enough of that, the results
    Yes the Plastics boys took out the title. Think its now 5-3 for bait.
    Some good catches over the period, and some good individual catches also.

Best Fish.. Surly 2.85kg snap
    Best Bait.. Webby 2.05kg snap (there was a lot of debating about the weight 3 flathead 65cm 61cm 51cm
    Best Plastics.. Chief 900g snap
    Best Boat.. 2dknj (darren) with something like 25 bream some trevors and a few other species.
    Best Individual.. Roberl 20 tailor 1 squire 1 something could read the writing.

Best River ..The Terrible Two (Chief/Garrett) not quite sure who out fishes who.
    Best Bream (Fred Woods Memorial Rod).. Cheech with a stonker 38cm Bream and his deckie with a 34cm one, they also score around 20 others.

Best Individual Performance in Vermin.. The Deckie with a snodger grinner 1.2kg.

The Kingtin Catfish Award.. Dogsbody who tried eradicating the rivers catfish population.

The Nothing Performance Award.. Pinhead

Big Thank You to Ausfish....Bush & Beach.....River to Sea......Phill,,,,,and the man that has too much time to spare Scotty alias Finga for the Plaques.
    Oh Forgot Thanks to TOL for interrupting his DDD to collect some bounty from Bush and Beach for me.
    Some one has all the pictures.
    Last edited by webby; 01-08-2010 at 06:24 PM. Reason: editing

Re: River to Mud 2010

some pics......................

some more pics............

Nice going everyone - some good big fish there too. Looks like a great 24hours on the water. I'll be sure to make it next year. Congrats to the winners. Cheers, Darren

Thanks to thedeckie ( Paul ) for keeping me company and providing Team ReBait with yet another catch of notoriety.

Top marks to teams Cheech, 2DKnjB and robersl for producing a really good bag of fish under very average conditions.

Cheech ended up the winner of the Fred " Touchy " Wood memorial Bream trophy. A great Pioneer United Rods 6ft UL spin stick donated by Lucky_Phill and custom made with custom wrap by finga ( Scott ).

I'd also like to thank all the good folk who turned up and braved the conditions. Also to the few stragglers ( Why Not, Aigutso, TOL.... ? ) for turning up to say G'day and show support for the event and for supporting the VMR.

Cheers to Webby for running the show and also showing us how it's done...again. 4kg Flathead ???????

Thanks also to PinHead for actually removing the lens cap before taking Photos

From Team ReBait....... Green Ginger Wine, Mozzies, Wind and waves... yep, we'll be back next year

LP.
    Last edited by Lucky_Phill; 01-08-2010 at 05:18 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post

Thanks also to PinHead for actually removing the lens cap before taking Photos

From Team ReBait....... Green Ginger Wine, Mozzies, Wind and waves... yep, we'll be back next year

LP.
    yeah yeah yeah I know..take the lens cap off..not once but twice..must have been your green ginger I had for breakfast..LOL

Yep, it was a good turnout after the comp and it was good to catch up with familiar faces and also meet some new faces.

Well done to all who took part and congratulations to all those who organised the show. Webby, Lucky Phil etc and a big thank you to Finga for the plaques and for helping Phil in making the rod. I reckon Cheech would have been very proud to win the rod. Thanks also to the sponsors.

The Deckie was superb once again with the cooking duties. Maybe it was that huge grinner he caught that inspired him.

There was a bit of a hiccup with the weighing process to start with but it was quickly sorted. Something to do with having pounds and kilos on the same scale apparently.

Big thanks too Webby for organising this event and Lucky Phil,The Deckie(chef) Finga for the plaques and anyone else that donated prizes for the event.

Despite the conditions being less than ordinary a few of us ventured to Mud too try our luck.Once out of the wind we found the bream were out to play with plenty of throw backs but we ended up with a good feed in the end.
    Tried in the usual haunts for a snapp or two but they wern't playing the game.
    Bring on next year.

Cheers Dazza

Sorry had to leave bbq early as mate had to head home

Big thanks to Webby, Phil and all those involved. Its the only comp I enter as I fish for the fun of it. I know a lot of work goes into such an event so it is much appreciated.

( I normally take a few 'beverages' with me but big night friday (wedding) had me feeling under the weather so didnt get on the water till 1 on the saturday,

I thought it would be blowy but saturday afternoon was ridiculous. My mate Nathan and I dont really fish the river much so after a fruitless couple of hours we made the journey to mud. Nathans boat is only 4.2m and let me tell you I could feel every bit of my dinner from the night before as we rolled over the waves

Anyway hooked about 20 small snappers at mud, with only 2 being legal 38cm, 37cm. But it was good to catch fish and the wind died down finally. Highlight of the afternoon was nathans rod screeming only for a dolphin to jump 6 foot out of the water some 20 feet away in the direction of his plastic. Never known a dolphin to touch our plastics but I am 90% convinced that it took Nathans baby bass. Headed in just before dark as I had to watch the mighty allblacks beat oz.

Headed straight to mud 5.30am sunday. Very slow start but caught a 36cm, let him go hoping for something bigger. Drift was a lot harder today but caught a 38cm about 40 minutes later. Then between all the small ones I hooked a decent one that took all my 8lb braid and left me with only my nylon backing. Lucky i was able to turn him and nathan was able to net him. He was 68cm, will attach a photo tomorrow.

For those plastic fisherman, best plastic today was banana prawn jerk shad 5" which accounted for 2 bigger ones with the trusty swimming mullet getting the others. 8lb leader with a 1/0 TT extra strong jighead (1/8).

Thats one back for the plastic brigade hopefully we (or other plastic fisherman)can go back to back next year. Hope to see you there

Cheers Craig

Congrats to the winners, them franger tossers have pegged one back on the baitos. Well done.

We tried all night but we seemed to attract the vermin, if only there was a stingray catergory we'd be gigglin

Thanks to Ausfish, Webby, LP fpr getting this event happening. Thanks to Finga for the plaques, I shall gaze upon my biggest catfish award with such pride for years to come Thanks to the Deckie for wielding the tongs for a much needed breakky. Till next year,,,bait up.

Avast ye matey!

snags were great, the deckie could cook, even had onions and sauce and it wasn't sarah lee? good to catch up with people.

TOL sorry to hear about the shed, you need to get that sorted. Good to see quality snaps, bream and flatties landed ( apart from the grinner)
    Tangles KFC

G'day Lads,
    good to see some fish again at the r2m, first time i havnt been there since it began but mum chong not well .

Well done Cheech, good fish and Webby did you stay in the zone? flatties hey mmmm.

Paul, what can i say asleep at 9:30 just when the bite was coming on but you kept up the vermin entry, no clams this year?? or whales

hope to catch up with all you mob soon, maybe i should start a Chong classic in the Mary River? that way you can all drive 3hrs and catch some real bream prizes would be.....

1x bottle joy - best fish
    " " - fish
    " " - fis big
    " " - you get the idea

Chong
    Last edited by Chong; 01-08-2010 at 09:20 PM. Reason: typoooo

Hi all great turn out good food and good fishing thanks to all those who make the R2M what it is, I ended up with 20 tailor had to stop catching them (bag limit) 5bream, 1 41cm snapper, 1 47cm flathead, also a host of throw back bream and 32-33cm snapper,
    As other have said a bit bumpy getting out the river mouth but once out and on the crossing to mud was not to bad in a 4.2m tinnie plenty of places to get out the breeze, mozzies what mozzie phil areo guard works wonders i have a few photo's but have not had time to download them as yet

shane

This was my first R2M but am sure I will be back next year. I managed a 33cm tuskie, a just legal snapper and a sandcrab caught on line and a few other undersized spieces. Sorry I didn't get to hang around for the BBQ and meet and greet, but family commitments were a calling. Anyway, thanks to Webby, Aushfish and all others for organising the event. As stated above, I'm sure I will be back next year. Matt

Thanks to all the organisers, and all who donated prizes (especially Phil and Finga for the terrific rod). Can be hard work to catch fish at Mud when there is any North in the wind. We went through so much bait chasing snapper, but the littlies are are that we could find. Lucky for us the bream were hungry.

See you all next year.