Fishing moreton Island

Thread: Fishing moreton Island

Fishing moreton Island

Hi all I am a new member to ausfish and this is my first thread.
    Me and a few mates normaly do the annual fraser island trip at this time of the year.But instead we are heading to moreton island on the 6th of august.
    I have not done a fishing trip to moreton island as yet and was wondering if anyone knows what the fishing is like over there at this time of year.
    any info is good info thanks heaps.

Re: Fishing moreton Island

Can't help you there mate, never been, but I reckon there is a lot of Ausfishers who would be really helpfull about fishing over there.
    Oh , well done on your first post son.

My mates are over there now, I was supposed to go but had to pull out at the last minute. The last few years we have gone in August and had to work pretty hard to get tailor, so we made it a bit earlier this year to see if we could catch the run.

I will let you know how they went when they get home tommorrow.

I assume you are heading over the other side to fish the surf?

that would be much appreciated .and yes we are going to the surf side to fish looking forward to your reply thanks heaps matt76

No sweat, I know they got a couple of tailor (thats all we chase over there) and a dart on their first session on sunday, havent heard any reports since. I'm not sure how committed they were to the fishing, there were a fair few cartons of ale taken over lol.

ha ha ha you can't have a fishing trip without a few ale's ,do you guys use spinners and plastics,or bait?

Gday Mate,

Welcome to Ausfish,you`ll find a heap of people here willing to help you out.

In regards to Moreton,try off the rocks at North Point and around the corner at Honeymoon Bay.
    Just keep in mind though that when you drive onto Yellow Patch and turn right to head towards North Point, you can only drive so far until you come to a sign that says No further vehicle access or something like that.
    From there it`s only about a two can walk to the rocks.

Also on the Eastern side just lookout for the gutters that form along there.You You`ll always pick up a feed along there.

Anyhow Mate,best of luck,and I sure wish I was going along as well.
    Kerrod

Ausfish Platinum Member mowerman's Avatar

Hi Spin.

Moreton is a great place.
    After 5 years at Moreton for that ekka week we shifted to Straddie for the last 2 years and will be on Main Beach in a weeks time.

We found the tailor seemed to be south of the track and look for the coffee rock.

Here are my reports from 06 and 07.
    07 was a good year.

Rod

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=90151

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=114909
    My dictionary defines green as ‘unripe, immature, undeveloped'. Perfect description.

Most political parties are seen as interested in what the voters think, the Greens are seen as thinking the community should be interested in what they think.

Thanks heaps guys your info will come in very handy many thanks i'll be sure to let u all know how i go and hopefully post some nice pics, fingers crossed

cheers kane.

We really only use Pillies mate, if they are thick I chuck on a metal slug for a bit of fun. We fish the gutters on the eastern beach.

Moreton Island is a beautiful place and there are plenty of options for fishing. I have been going over since i was a kid, and still go over once a year for at least a week.

If you are into soft plastic fishing, you can work areas like tailor bite at the mouth of the creek on an outgoing tide or shark spit on the west side, pretty much any time of the day. You will catch plenty of flathead, trevally and posibly a few bream here and there.

If you are only into bait fishing then your best options would be to take a trip down the eastern side of the beach on low water and pick out a few spots which look like they would hold fish on the high tide. Best spots are ones with a deep gutter in close and an adjacent sandbank out the back running parrellel to shore. Gutters like this are great for tailor and dart. Casting out onto the back sandbank will increase your chances of a tailor and a short cast into the deep will see you fill buckets with dart. Baits like pillies, bonito, mullet are all good, and obviously the fresher the better.

You can catch worms and pippies on low tide on the banks and use them in the shallows to catch whiting. This is a great activity for kids too.

If you are into long cold lonely actionless nights you can try for a Jew. Try and find yourself a nice deep gutter with a clear deep entrance back out to deep water. Throw a decent slab of mullet, dart, or tailor (something fresh) on a single 8/0 with a decent lead and sit there and wait. This is how i chase jew and might i say, more times then not, i have gone home empty handed. With this approach most of the time you will hook a shark or a big tailor, but when you do land your fist XOS beach Jew it is all worth it.

One last thing i will say about moreton is check the weather. There is always somewhere nice to fish on moreton no matter which way the wind is blowing so check the weather and pick your spot wisely. You dont want to be standing on the eastern beach with a 25knots SE blowing in on you.

Cheers, Rob.

Cheers neckrofish i'll give those spots a hit i like mixing things up its a good feeling flicking a few plastics around using lite gear and then hearing the reel spooling

My mates did pretty sh#thouse over there mate, only got a handful of tailor, couple of dart and 2 flathead. The winds and weather were crappy. I did hear a report (unconfirmed) that there were some tailor coming on the bite yesterday, once those westerly's start they should be right.

Sweet, thanks matt hope the good weather comes on either way we will have a good time

Thinking of fishing over here this weekend, can anyone recommend me some spots?