Thread: Flatzie nails some Flatties

Flatzie nails some Flatties

Hit the Donnybrook area today in the arvo, fished till dusk and enjoyed a great afternoon with the wind dying down to flat smooth, not a boat in sights and so was able to fish the really shallow water on the rising tide.

Started with a nice 42cm model, then got raided by heaps of Pike, which were saved for snapper bait, about 25 of them around 30 40cm.
    Finally after a move nailed a nice fish of 55cm, and then a string of smaller undesize fish around 35cm, probably a dozen of them in total that size for the afternoon.
    As the tide began to cover shallow flats above the weed line, a long flick into clear water in about 30cm deep, a great fish of 62 nailed the Gulp Shrimp and a great fight, felt good the slip the net under that fish.
    Kept fishing the flats and managed two more legal size fish, a 40 and 42cm.

Only one bream, and a grunter at 35cm kicked in for some variation. Left the water with the sunset spectacular behind the wake.
    (All fish caught on Gulp shrimp and 3 inch minnows)
    Forgot the camera so sorry for the poor pic at night back home.
    Flatzie

Re: Flatzie nails some Flatties

Great bag of flatties. SOme tasty fillets off that lot. Just goes to show that you CAN catch good fish in very shallow water.

I'll second Greg! Nice work and on SP's i haven't had a lot of luck with either! I seem to have the most success on Flatties (on the odd occassion that i target them) with 5" shad's...

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Hi Flatzie
    good to see getting back into them mate we got 4 down near the avoca on saturday

shane

well done Flatzie

I will be there for 3 days tomorrow- looks promising

Michael

Gday flatzie, well done on the flathead and do you normally catch more bream?, im curious because ive caught just 2 bream in 6 trips to the area, surely that zone should have more bream, know people in a fishing club that fished the area recently and they caught very few as well....

Sometimes I get more bream, but personally I dont target them as they have such a useless little filet and are full of bones.
    But that's only my take on them, tho they do give you a good fight, I will pay them that. I normally get a lot more bream using yabbies.
    Flatzie

I love the variation in colour between the fish. Great work mate and enjoy the filltets.

Bermo

Well done Goorit.

Must be good getting out again! We just keep waiting up here in Cairns for the winds to die down. havent been offshore in nearly 3 months! I can see I will need to develop some estuary skills to get a feed.
    Completely run out of nannygai reds and trout! Going thru withdrawals

Yeah you should nail some of those barra as well you were crowing about.
    Should be grunter around in the creeks as well.
    The tailor are going gangbusters down here at the moment, my mate just PM me.
    Flatzie

Well done Flatzie ,
    Hope to get up that way next month after I get back from Double Island. Coochin.
    LIve to Fish

I have found the Berkley turtle back in pumpkin seed has been killing them lately- very quickly becoming my fave softy for flatties

Nice work as usual Flatzie - you know how to target those flathead very well.
    AlleyCat - there are heaps of bream up the passage at the moment. You just need to target them specifically and you'll nail them alright. Might not be around in huge numbers but their sizes are quite big when you do get hold of some.
    As for catching flathead - I'm hopeless. Keep up the good reports Flatzie.
    Cheers mate

Nice feed there, A lot of undersize fish at the mouth of the brissie to. Takes some beating working plastics or HBs for flathead. Well done