Woohoo, kick off early tomorrow for the trip down, awesome
Josh
________
Recall Wellbutrin
Woohoo, kick off early tomorrow for the trip down, awesome
Josh
________
Recall Wellbutrin
As I said, blow a dog off a chain, and send him 4 yards down the road!! Now 20-30 knots forcasted from Saturday morning for the rest of the weekend, dam it! I'm all sorted bar the ice for the beverages in the morning and a dash of fuel in the landcruiser. Leaving Bundy 0830hrs in the morning, returning Sunday night 2300hrs. I'll do a Report up on the tournament next week for those interested. Cheers Kev.
Well Kev and crew ended up winning on countback from us on Fish Whisperer with a sailfish and other species. We got a striped marlin and other species. Keneka got a blue and Stubbie Holder got a black and they were the only billfish amongst 19 boats. Not looking good for summer. Plenty of mahi mahi though. Newby's young fella took out the junior prize on countback as well. Nice day Friday, allright till lunch on Saturday and a bit nautical Saturday arvo and especially Sunday.
yeah certainly blew, Newby will be doing a full trip report from our angle, we tagged a lot of fish but unfortunately for us no billies.
cheers Lee
Money.
HBGFC charged us 10k for the sponsorship, and all we got back from it was about $1000 profit out of the dinner night. The boss was hoping all the rich game fisher dudes would BUY an apartment at ramada. Since I got a seat on Dougs boat, I wasnt gonna tell him any different.
The boss was wiser second time around. Shame really, I enjoyed the comp, and Doug had looked after us really well. The club itself runs a great comp.
Youd only sponsor it if you could get a return tho.
Fishing- It's only an addiction if you're trying to quit.
What a weekend it was for us, The breifing started the fun and games with Newby bidding against me for my boat in the calcutta, I ended up buying White Horse 2 for $140. Thursday afternoon, we left the Bay about 130pm and had a pretty nice run up to Rooneys Point. We anchored up and shot over to the mother ship for tea, after a couple of beverages for entree. Friday brought us our best chance to head wide of the 13 mile crossing for some heavy tackle fishing, and after the first 5 hrs on the light tackle with minimal returns, we headed out to 300mts and trolled the 37kg gear for 2hrs, not a touch, back in closer for a bottom bash to break the trolling up, a snapper, a couple mouri cod, a few RTE's, half a dozen hussar and we wer ready to put the lures back in again, from 2pm until the end of fishing, we hit the fish well, with most hookups coming from troling over our bottom pinicles that give us the reefies. Wahoo, dollies, spanish all were 500 point scoring fish, and we tagged our limit of 6 fish on the first day. Back to the mother ship by 5pm and took onboard the first of my two ordered 44 gallon drums of unleaded fuel. After dinner, we shot over to Newby to offer some tips to get them up the leader baord in the big boat section, after a couple of night caps, we puttered back to our anchorage area and bunked down for another night of showers and increasing souteastery winds. Saturday was to have the wind picking up by lunch time, so this was our last chance to slip over the bar for a shot at the billies. The wind was behind us heading up to the crossing and we managed to trail a 45 foot flybridge over the crossing so we had most of the 2mt waves broken for us, just as we were half way over the crossing we hit a wave with a jolt, and the power cable from the isolator switch let go, no GPS, no radio, no builge pump, no nothing other than a compas and the engine still running, I was about 30 meters behind the big cruiser, and at that point I decided not to turn around but to stick in their prop wash and follow them over the spit. we did this, and once clear and safe, reattached the power cable directly to the battery, all electronics back good as gold. We set course for the productive areas from previous years, and we had the lures out for the next 8 hrs. The seas had picked up markedly and trolling at 6 kts was just fast enough to keep the boat riding steady over the 2mts+ seas. We scored a cobia about 3 miles north east of the crossing and another wahoo around 9kg, and a couple of dolphin fish on the bait marks we had plotted in. About 1030, we had not had a bite for over an hour, Fritzy said it was time to get radical, so he chose a hot pink 6inch Tropic Angler Skirt, and said we needed some contrasting colour in the spread. We really needed to be 30 feet off the island in calm water, not where we were in 2-2.5mt seas. I clipped on the pink lure, and freespooled the lure back behind the motor, Fritzy was on strike and I was just setting the lure for him, as the skirt slipped past the teaser, then the short corner it was taken by a Sailfish about 5 mts behind the boat, I had not seen it in the spread until it was heading east at 40 kts with the hot pink offering, Fritzy was not getting that rod off me, and after 28 minutes we tagged it, this was one of the hardest fish I have tagged with the rough seas and the performance of the fish, we tagged it relatively green, and it turned quickly when hit with the pole, and the 8kg line snapped with the lunge of the tail as the boat slipped off a wave front. 2000 points added to our score, high fives all round. We searched the lure bag for another pink lure, and trolled the area for another hour with no luck in finding his mate. By 1pm, we were beat, wearing raincoats and full vest lifejackets while trolling, we headed across the bar in relatively calm conditions with the bar half th esize it was that morning. Inside the spit, we put out the high speed lures, and punched the front on chop back to the island, we picked up a spanish and a huge mac tuna on the way in. We had 5 500 pointers and one 150 pointer, with the 2000 point billie, toatl ppoints at end of day two was 7650. We headed back to the fuel barge to collect our second 200 litre drum of fuel, and this went into 3 jerry cans and the remaining 140lts into the rear tank in the boat that we had emptied 10 mile out from the safe anchorage area. The last dinner and a few beverages were enjoyed and we were excited with our fish tally to this point, our plan ws to head to a wreck inside the bay, then work over Ronys bait grounds, as he had the local knowledge of the Bay we were confident we could add a couple more fish to the list Sunday on our way back to the Urangan Harbour. Sunday morning another cooked breakfast was enjoyed and by 620hrs we were up anchoring and ready to head towards the fishing spots for the 0700hr start fishing call. We were still running on the front fuel tank as we left he calm anchorage, we had gone about a mile, and I changed over to the rear fuel tank to use up the back tank allowing for more weight to be up front for the trip home 45 miles across the bay. We travelled about 2 kms and the engine gave a miss, then a splut, then a cough and them stalled to a a self shut off, from 18 kts to zero. What the ...... I had checked and drained the fuel filter before leaving Bundy, and Friday before refueling, it was clean then. I checked the key cut off lanyard, battery terminals, power leads, oil levels etc, all normal. i' drained the racor filter and it was chocablock full of water, I squeezed the fuel primer bulb with the fillter bung still open, and more water coming directly from the rear tank pickup. I changed over back to the front tank to get the clean fuel back through the line, and we were going to head directly home on the front tank, I changed the racor filter with a brand new one, and drained the inline engine fuel filter several times flushing clean fuel thorugh the lines with it disconected prior to the injector area, with the lines and filters now clearer, multiple attempts at restarting were fruitful. I rang the E-Tec dealer in Bundy, and he advised me that what I had tried was all that could be attempted, a tow home was the next thing on the list. At 650hrs we notified Game Fish Base that we had engine failure and required assistance from our position 2 miles from the mother ship. We were towed back to the Tasmin Venture by a power cat and then LLyod kindly towed us the 2hrs back to the harbour entrance where KJ then rafted us up and took us into the harbour to the ramp. Our last day was spent sipping cold beer on the mother ship watching my boat being towed in instead of us fishing our way back to the harbour. The beer was very nice, but of little repreve to the outcome of the damage sustained to the motor. 6 injectors, fuel pump, crank damaged, piston damage, knocking nioice in engine when after 3hrs of cleaning injectors and replacing gummed up plugs, a replacement power head was the final diagnostic outcome, estimated to be $15000. The dinner presentation night was great, great meal, and Rony won the lucky draw for the QMC boat and motor, We managed to win the champion boat under 7.5mts, I got Champion light tackle angler, champion Hervey Bay Game Fishing Club angler, and last billfish tagged. Finnor rods, and reels and pen combos, a 100lt esky, tag pole, heavy duty gaff, and 4 trophies were our winnings. That was until the total points were allocated, we tied with Fish Whisperer on 7650 points, and as we had scored them by Saturday afternoon, and Smithy's team got their lst 4 fish on the 'Sunday, I was allocated the first prize in the Calcutta of $1547. Happy chappies! On return to Bundy Monday the boat went to the mechanics, and I contacted the insurance to lodge the claim, and guess what, contaiminated fuel is not covered witht eh comprehensive insurance that I have. The missus is pleased as you would expect, a $15000 repair bill, that we don't have the money for, and now a boat that is sitting in our yard that is unusable with the school holidays approaching. Well that pretty much was the guts of our part in this yrs HBBCGFC tournament, Thanks Newby and crew for the beverages, and we may have gone to bed early and appeared "soft", but I needed my strength and energy to face the missus when I got home with a busted engine and no insurance that would cover the replacement power head that is needed. Got to love boats hey, sh!t just doesn't happen, some one else causes it. Kev.
Great report Kev, you deserved the wins you had. The motor on the other hand, not happy mate, not good at all.
Josh
________
Ipad Cases
F$%k, i feel for you Kev, that sucks.
On the other hand a top effort on the 2 days fishing you had. I take my hat off to you guys fishing out there, i dont think i could have done that.
Cheers Lee
That's no good at all about the motor Kev. Surely the E-Bombs must have some sort of engine shutdown thing once they start sensing water before they blow themselves up. I know I copped a big dose of water with the F150 that got through my secondary filter into my vapour area and my alarms were going off and no long term damage was done and a precautionary injector clean was performed.
Apparantly the in line fuel filter water sensors are in the 2008 models onwards, (but I don't know that for sure) mine is the last of the 2007 model with 590hrs on it now. I Only bought it in February this year for $15500 with a 3 yr warranty as it was an ex BRP engine. The mechanics did get the engine running again after all injectors were pulled apart and the water tipped out.... new set of plugs and several fuel system drains. It has only ran in a tank at the shop, and they say there is a knocking noise that should not be there???, they did give me the option to run it in the local fresh water river, and see what happens with it, they suggested 2 hrs at various speeds/RPM's, but they did not seem to reasuring on the longevity of the motor for the future or letting me head offshore with it - as is what I do... Very disappointed that Suncorp has the exclusion in the policy on fuel contamination, dispite it was of no fault of my own, just got the renewal today, and I will most likely be changing to Club marine or another company that has an idiot clause cover section in the policy. Most things are caused by idiots and you can do so much to look after your vessels - but some things just astound me at times. Any way, that's life. Margie is impressed I can tell you.....
great read kev and well done on the comp. you boys certainly deserve it after putting up with all that weather. shame to hear about the motor,ouch,good luck with it all.
jp
NOW I have internet back on I will post a report.
Sorry about your loss Kev but as it is NOT your fault, you should be going the provider of the fuel.
Legislation provides protection for the consumer, YOU, so get onto them. They charge you for the fuel therefore it HAS to be of Merchantable Quality. As of January 1st, it only has to be of "acceptable" quality.
You have the right to get them to repair your engine as they supplied the contaminated fuel. They have insurance. Go get your money
I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
NEWBY T.G.
I didn't forget to pay the bill, I REFUSED to pay the thieving ba$tards...
Justin did well and it seems we came third but only by 1 fish from our adding up. 1 more fish and we would be holding up a few more trophies and prizes.
See Fishing Reports Offshore for the pics guys.
I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
NEWBY T.G.