Hervey Bay Ramada Game Fish Classic - Page 4
Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Hervey Bay Ramada Game Fish Classic

Re: Hervey Bay Ramada Game Fish Classic

I cant make it. Ramada pulled out of the sponsorship this year, hence its only the HB Classic. So I told the boss goodbye, and left Ramada. Now I work for Peppers resort.

Looks a bit sloppy out there as I look out my window above Urangan pier. Hope it comes good for you boys.

Fishing- It's only an addiction if you're trying to quit.

Quote Originally Posted by lethal098 View Post
    well excited is now not the word, i am itching to get up there!!! come on hurry up,

7 sleeps and counting!!!

PS, meat arrives this arvo,
    Weather looking great for your run down Newby, should be a following sea by the forcast, and under 15kts. That will make it much better already than last years run south. If you boys have your stuff all sorted, and are well rested with a cruisy trip down you might be able to take it out this year... as I said, I will be happy to score the hattrick in the under 7.5mt and you can have the big boat trophy. Either way it will be a blast of a weekend. I have been waking up at all hrs of the night, dreaming of leaping fish, and hearing rattchets screaming, that has to be a good sign!!!!!!!!!! LOL.
    Last edited by marvin; 11-11-2010 at 11:06 PM. Reason: incorrect post

Oh My god would you look at this weather....
    Yeehaaa baby...
    BUT
    Anything can happen with 6 days to go before the trip down..

I am with ya Kev although I have a shitload of work to do on the boat before we leave.
    Perspex to fit. Service to do. Check this that and every other thing. reorganise all the new gear. Fit a shotgun pole. Clean out the bilge. etc etc etc...

Lots to do and no time to do it.
    Basketball grand final tomorrow. And its saying pi$$ing down here all day Saturday and Sunday. I still have the port windows to reseal as well. DOH...

SO I am having nightmares at the moment, no sweet dreams for Newby...
    I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
    NEWBY T.G.

Quote Originally Posted by the gecko View Post
    I cant make it. Ramada pulled out of the sponsorship this year, hence its only the HB Classic. So I told the boss goodbye, and left Ramada. Now I work for Peppers resort.

Looks a bit sloppy out there as I look out my window above Urangan pier. Hope it comes good for you boys.

So whats up with that Andy?
    How come they pulled their support?
    I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
    NEWBY T.G.

http://wind.willyweather.com.au/qld/...ksea-spit.html

Looks good all the way down to the spit boys, they will probably have the mother ship and fuel barge at Rooneys on the first night at least with the easterly breeze forcasted at this stage. I know what your saying on the peparation for a trip like this, I've covered the following, bearings on the trailer repacked, anchor light dodgy bulb and faded glass cover replaced, eskies re-gellcoated, reels serviced, new line spooled up, lures rigged, etec oil bottled up for use on the boat, new hinge put in on front fuel tank false floor hatch, windows and side curtains mr sheen cleaned, a couple of side clears clips replaced, boat polished, tyrers all inflated to correct pressures and spare also brought up to correct psi, trolley jack checked and put into the landcruiser ready, beer purchased, ice ordered, a bit of sika flex splashed around for good measure on a few of the transom seals and pickup pipes, and today, fuelled up the boat, and found a crack in the main filler hose from the gunnel to the rear tank, got to love it when you think all is just about ready and then another 2 hr job to replace the 38mm fuel hose, had to remove the oil injection bottle off the floor, undo the deck wash pump, and move a battery to get to the rear gunnel mounted hose clamp, and of course a bit of fuel was lost into the hull, so a full wash out was then in order of the buildge area.... and it goes on and on.... any way, glad I have had the week off to ensure things like this are all sorted before heading up there for the 4 days, better to find these things now than friday night when refueling off the fuel barge. Then the anchor rope had got dislodged from the bow spirit at some stage and had nearly worn through, nearly didn't see that one, so a splice job to mend it up was also another excuse for a couple of beers yesterday afternoon, seems to be always something to have a few coldies over whilst sorting the all the stuff out. Anyway, can't be too many more things to fix or service or replace or repair, or add on..... I Just want to go fishing..... Did I mention I cut my leg nearly needing stitches on a piece of steel in the shed whilst looking for the tag pole. Missus doctored me up, so I'm good to go still.... It never ends.... Best I start writing a list for the things yet to put into the boat, otherwise I will be turning up with only half the gear, it is all stacked up ready in some form of order in the shed, Struth I got a lot of stuff....

My boat is called White Horse 2, 6.2mt white pride president half cabin with 200hp etec. If it is real choppy at any stage during the comp, would you mind if we tagged in behind you when heading out over the bar, just to get us to the grounds without breaking our spines if it does go over 20kts.

Also do you still have your sea phone (that you listed for the 1770 M&G) that I could leave the missus in case of emergency, so she can ring you and you can radio me on the VHF? my mobile works most of the time up there, but not always.... This extra line of communication would be great if You are happy for Margie to call only if required. Cheers Kev. ps I'm excited!

Quote Originally Posted by marvin View Post
    http://wind.willyweather.com.au/qld/...ksea-spit.html

Looks good all the way down to the spit boys, they will probably have the mother ship and fuel barge at Rooneys on the first night at least with the easterly breeze forcasted at this stage. I know what your saying on the peparation for a trip like this, I've covered the following, bearings on the trailer repacked, anchor light dodgy bulb and faded glass cover replaced, eskies re-gellcoated, reels serviced, new line spooled up, lures rigged, etec oil bottled up for use on the boat, new hinge put in on front fuel tank false floor hatch, windows and side curtains mr sheen cleaned, a couple of side clears clips replaced, boat polished, tyrers all inflated to correct pressures and spare also brought up to correct psi, trolley jack checked and put into the landcruiser ready, beer purchased, ice ordered, a bit of sika flex splashed around for good measure on a few of the transom seals and pickup pipes, and today, fuelled up the boat, and found a crack in the main filler hose from the gunnel to the rear tank, got to love it when you think all is just about ready and then another 2 hr job to replace the 38mm fuel hose, had to remove the oil injection bottle off the floor, undo the deck wash pump, and move a battery to get to the rear gunnel mounted hose clamp, and of course a bit of fuel was lost into the hull, so a full wash out was then in order of the buildge area.... and it goes on and on.... any way, glad I have had the week off to ensure things like this are all sorted before heading up there for the 4 days, better to find these things now than friday night when refueling off the fuel barge. Then the anchor rope had got dislodged from the bow spirit at some stage and had nearly worn through, nearly didn't see that one, so a splice job to mend it up was also another excuse for a couple of beers yesterday afternoon, seems to be always something to have a few coldies over whilst sorting the all the stuff out. Anyway, can't be too many more things to fix or service or replace or repair, or add on..... I Just want to go fishing..... Did I mention I cut my leg nearly needing stitches on a piece of steel in the shed whilst looking for the tag pole. Missus doctored me up, so I'm good to go still.... It never ends.... Best I start writing a list for the things yet to put into the boat, otherwise I will be turning up with only half the gear, it is all stacked up ready in some form of order in the shed, Struth I got a lot of stuff....

My boat is called White Horse 2, 6.2mt white pride president half cabin with 200hp etec. If it is real choppy at any stage during the comp, would you mind if we tagged in behind you when heading out over the bar, just to get us to the grounds without breaking our spines if it does go over 20kts.

Also do you still have your sea phone (that you listed for the 1770 M&G) that I could leave the missus in case of emergency, so she can ring you and you can radio me on the VHF? my mobile works most of the time up there, but not always.... This extra line of communication would be great if You are happy for Margie to call only if required. Cheers Kev. ps I'm excited!
    Yeah mate I know what ya sayin.
    I add to my list big time today. New live well arrived yesterday. Has to be fitted. 4 hours
    Reseal windows port side. Weather window required. Not looking good. 2hours
    Reseal front windows...same same. 1 hour
    Clean bilge. 2 hours
    All the other stuff previously mentioned. 9 hours.
    And I got 6 hours tomorrow to do it all.
    plus clean and tidy the damn thing.....

Sea phone turned out to work nearly as good as the Iphone 4.... So Telstra got me again with their "rural approved" phone. So I will just have my normal phone number mate. If I hold my mouth just right and praise alla as I dial, I get signal most of the time.

Weather is looking great wind wise but could be a bit damp. We leave here on Wednesday morning with "increasing showers" and the run down into "Thunderstorms"
    Thats fine though. I done mind a bit of rain.

Yeah I am getting excited but with all that work to do, no time to do it and we also have our Grand Final at Basketball this arvo. I also have stress to go with it all. Win lose or draw you can imagine the mess we will all be in tonight. So all that work to do tomorrow with a hangover....
    NEWBY T.G.

LETHAL.........ARNIE......

4 more sleeps boys.....

Check the weather out...second one is sunny coast / hervey bay
    NEWBY T.G.

Hells yer not long, dont think there will be much sleeping way to excited WOOT WOOT

Marvin - wow you have been seriously busy hey, boat should be spot on for the week

Josh
    ________
    MARIJUANA STRAIN INDEX

Quote Originally Posted by four_button_arnie View Post
    Hells yer not long, dont think there will be much sleeping way to excited WOOT WOOT

Marvin - wow you have been seriously busy hey, boat should be spot on for the week

Josh

It's all good, took the kids down the river today, 2 flatty, a few whiting, a nice bream and a king slamon to my young fella, local estuary comp with the chance to win a tiny, outboard and trailer tommorrow, then wash the eastuary boat all up and put it away in the shed, and then concentrate on the bay comp, weather looks fair till friday night, then hold on to ya hats boys!!! Probably blow a dog off his chain. Will bring the billies on though, had our best year on the spit in 4 mt seas.... mad bloody mad we are... Kev.

Ausfish Platinum Member lethal098's Avatar

hells yeah, bring it on!!! who cares bout a bit of water!!

see you tomorrow lunch time ish newbs.

Cheers Lee

Dave, Josh, Lee & Kev

Have a great time and all the best. Safe travels to you all.

Quote Originally Posted by Apollo View Post
    Dave, Josh, Lee & Kev

Have a great time and all the best. Safe travels to you all.

Thanks for the kind wishes, I won the 2nd major lucky draw prize at the local Bundy comp this afternoon, a $3000 holiday on fraser at Eurong resort for 2 nights, in a two room appartment, barge fares, and four wheel drive vehicle hire for the 3 days and 2 nights. The kids each got a draw out too with a bag of goodies including a bait caster reel each, and my little 4yr old missed out on the biggest junior bream by 5 grams, my 8 yo missed out on the biggest flaty ny 100grams, and Brodie my 10 yo, had no weighers in the comp categories but landed a nice king salmon just over 62cm.

So if that was our warm up comp for this month, the Hervey Bay tournament should be totally full on, weather still looking bearable to good, with Friday seeming the pick at this stage with 5kts. I think I need som sleepers to stop my mind ticking over.... Kev.

2 sleeps to go and check out the weather
    I swear the tournament organisers have been kissed on the dick$ by fairies
    NEWBY T.G.

Well, the weather gods are playing nice for a change.....
    Boat is almost finished. I can actually see out of the front windows...
    A quick reorganise of the gear, fill the water, fit the bait tank and a wash down and were on our way.
    Hervay Bay, look out....Team CARNELPYA is on its way....
    NEWBY T.G.

Best of luck Newby, see you at the briefing Thursday at 11am. White Horse 2 is on the home straight storming to the winners post! Kev.