Hervey Bay Ramada Game Fish Classic - Page 3
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Hervey Bay Ramada Game Fish Classic

Re: Hervey Bay Ramada Game Fish Classic

11 sleeps and now they changed the name on me....

Ok ok its the QMC or Queensland Marine Centre billfish classic now.
    I have it on good advice that the billies are running HOT already down there.
    I heard a rumour that one boat who will remain nameless had 30 strikes in one day. Apparently only hooking up twice though.

Mark/Steve, you 2 gonna actually MAKE it for a sundowner on the deck at some stage this year?

With 3 years of glamour weather, I hope we make it 4 this year.
    Looking at the current patterns it will be 10-15's on about a meter. Thats not bad at all but its still 11 days off so anything can happen with the weather I suppose.

5-10s on 1/2 a meter would be nice
    I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
    NEWBY T.G.

Quote Originally Posted by NEWBY View Post

Mark/Steve, you 2 gonna actually MAKE it for a sundowner on the deck at some stage this year?

I haven't spoken to Mark yet Newbs. For me it will depend on whether I get the nets up this weekend, If not it will be the following weekend, so no fishing for me.

Ausfish Platinum Member lethal098's Avatar

11 sleeps and counting, cannot wait!!

Quote Originally Posted by Apollo View Post
    I haven't spoken to Mark yet Newbs. For me it will depend on whether I get the nets up this weekend, If not it will be the following weekend, so no fishing for me.

No worries mate. As always, you and Mark are always welcome for a sundowner of 3
    I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
    NEWBY T.G.

Quote Originally Posted by lethal098 View Post
    11 sleeps and counting, cannot wait!!
    ONLY 10 NOW MATE
    NEWBY T.G.

I must admit, I am starting to get a tad excited myself now.
    Its a great comp and extremely well organised.
    I spent the weekend getting the bits done and still have about 15 hours to do.
    Spooling up another 37kg reel I came to realise how bloody much a kilometre of line is...
    Latest range of Pakula Softease lures ordered and on the way.
    New Shotgun pole goes on this weekend.
    Oil change also this weekend. 18 litres a side...
    So much to do. So little time to do it all.
    NEWBY T.G.

10 sleeps yeah ha.

Quote Originally Posted by Apollo View Post

Probably have to sit this one out, doing the JO this weekend ( Got to take the wife fishing sometime) and down to Brissy early Dec for the rod building weekend and with Tracy finishing work in the next couple of weeks funds may be a little tighter....... till she finds something else..........But you never know...

Might be able to call in Sunday on the way home and give you a hand if need be Steve.

Smile Re: Hervey Bay Ramada Game Fish Classic

I have it on good advice that the billies are running HOT already down there.
    I heard a rumour that one boat who will remain nameless had 30 strikes in one day. Apparently only hooking up twice though.

With 3 years of glamour weather, I hope we make it 4 this year.
    Looking at the current patterns it will be 10-15's on about a meter. Thats not bad at all but its still 11 days off so anything can happen with the weather I suppose.

5-10s on 1/2 a meter would be nice
    Newbs, I got similar intell that the sails are busy, under 2 wks ago a mate tagged 9 and about the same raised in a half day session! Also the canyons still had those VW sized fish with a big blue hooked up but lost after some time. Thousdands of tuna too if you need big baits.... We are leaving bundy 830am Thursday and towing the rig down to the boat club for the 11am breifing, both breifing and presentation dinner in the same room at the boat club this year as it was 2 yrs ago. I'm very excited too, but I don't have reels big enough to hold a km of 37kg line on my little tub, hope you get amongst some steam trains.. Cheers Kev.

Quote Originally Posted by marvin View Post
    Newbs, I got similar intell that the sails are busy, under 2 wks ago a mate tagged 9 and about the same raised in a half day session! Also the canyons still had those VW sized fish with a big blue hooked up but lost after some time. Thousdands of tuna too if you need big baits.... We are leaving bundy 830am Thursday and towing the rig down to the boat club for the 11am breifing, both breifing and presentation dinner in the same room at the boat club this year as it was 2 yrs ago. I'm very excited too, but I don't have reels big enough to hold a km of 37kg line on my little tub, hope you get amongst some steam trains.. Cheers Kev.
    My intell was from a VERY reliable source.
    Hence my excitement...
    Were leaving here first light, or earlier, on Wednesday. See how the weather is. If its blowy, we will troll the whole way to Bundy and stay overnight there. Not going to smash the bejusus out of us and the boat this year.
    SHould raise a few sails and blacks on the trip down. Good practice and training for the new crew.
    You going to join us for a few sundowners on the deck of Carnelpya over the few days mate?
    NEWBY T.G.

LETHAL it's only 8 sleeps to departure mate.
    Oh and

HAPPY BIRTHDAY MAN.......
    NEWBY T.G.

Thanks Newbs,

I am starting to get really excited now!!!

cheers Lee

Smile Re: Hervey Bay Ramada Game Fish Classic

My intell was from a VERY reliable source.
    Hence my excitement...
    Were leaving here first light, or earlier, on Wednesday. See how the weather is. If its blowy, we will troll the whole way to Bundy and stay overnight there. Not going to smash the bejusus out of us and the boat this year.
    SHould raise a few sails and blacks on the trip down. Good practice and training for the new crew.
    You going to join us for a few sundowners on the deck of Carnelpya over the few days mate?
    Will do, we are having meals and showers on the mother ship Tasman Venture II again, and we usuallly have a beverage or two on the back deck of this boat before Tea each night whilst waiting for the showers, but we are open to alterations to this ritual with very little arm twisting.... will sort the plans each day with you, or probably just get the tender over to your rig, or raft up after refueling for a couple coldies. I spooled up another reel with 800mts of 8kg today, so we have 5 light tackle rigs and five 24kg rigs. We won't stand a chance on the big blues and blacks at the canyons, but if nothing is happening in close we have the option of tourmenting ourselves with the deep blue water on 50lb stnad up gear... Probably just troll the 200mt line south and see what happens. if the spit goes quiet. Either way, we will have a great time, and catch a box full of reef fish if the billies are shut down as the closures are not on this year, last year was terrible, did 2 drifts on the friday afternoon before th eclosures came into effect at midnight and landed 6 fish all over 5 kg each, so we filleted them up and gave them to the mother ship which was shared by all that night as entree, was yumo fresh emperor straight on the barby... hope the weather holds out, this weekend is looking fair, so maybe it is settling down below 20kts... kev.

Quote Originally Posted by marvin View Post
    Will do, we are having meals and showers on the mother ship Tasman Venture II again, and we usuallly have a beverage or two on the back deck of this boat before Tea each night whilst waiting for the showers, but we are open to alterations to this ritual with very little arm twisting.... will sort the plans each day with you, or probably just get the tender over to your rig, or raft up after refueling for a couple coldies. I spooled up another reel with 800mts of 8kg today, so we have 5 light tackle rigs and five 24kg rigs. We won't stand a chance on the big blues and blacks at the canyons, but if nothing is happening in close we have the option of tourmenting ourselves with the deep blue water on 50lb stnad up gear... Probably just troll the 200mt line south and see what happens. if the spit goes quiet. Either way, we will have a great time, and catch a box full of reef fish if the billies are shut down as the closures are not on this year, last year was terrible, did 2 drifts on the friday afternoon before th eclosures came into effect at midnight and landed 6 fish all over 5 kg each, so we filleted them up and gave them to the mother ship which was shared by all that night as entree, was yumo fresh emperor straight on the barby... hope the weather holds out, this weekend is looking fair, so maybe it is settling down below 20kts... kev.
    I just checked sea breeze and buoyweather... Both saying I got a good trip down at least. It looks like it might just be ok for the tournament mate...Fingers crossed.
    We can sort out the finer details of sundowners at the Thursday meeting eh?
    NEWBY T.G.

well excited is now not the word, i am itching to get up there!!! come on hurry up,

7 sleeps and counting!!!

PS, meat arrives this arvo,