Thread: Forget about the tings PB snap instead

Forget about the tings PB snap instead

Had a free day from work today, so went out to the rous to chase tings, got 2 about 25cm straight up, then nothing, moved around a bit but still no good. Conditions were great so went to harries to flick a plastic, first drop, tap, tap, whack and I,m on, felt good , taking line, but didn,t feel snappery, only 8lb leader so took it real easy, and after a fair bit of fish in control I got colour and saw a nice snapper, so took my time with him to the boat, one handed net shot and in the boat, you bloody ripper, way past my old pb of 45cm, he went 78cms in the boat, 77cms when home, 4.8kgs, caught on wilson live fibre, shimano sienna 4000, 10lb stren braid, 8lb stealth fluro leader, 1/16 jig, gulp 5" minnow in smelt.
    How happy was I? drifted around for 1 small squire under size and another reasonable fish dropped , came home about lunch time, just had snapper for tea and some nice fillets in the freezer, will try and post pics ( only new at this),
    cheers, ROYSLAVEN

Re: Forget about the tings PB snap instead

Good job there Roy. Just goes to show the good sized critters are easily taken with 8lb leaders too. I drove over the Houghton Highway about 11am this morning and it was so calm I thought I was glad not to be out fishing today. You changed my thoughts now on dead calm days now.

If you only looked at the pics without reading your post I would say one of the shots was the fish and the bait you caught it on.

But I always enjoy seeing a nice snap caught on my favourite method of fishing. Congrats!!!

bloody great effort on 8lb well done
    cheers swano

thats a cracking snap on light gear mate, well done

Fishing comes first!

nice fish well done on the light gear. wayno

Well Done.
    U Look Happy.

Hey Roy

That fish must have been a surface feeder? The only reason i say that is a 1/16th is pretty light for Harries, and would take an eternity to hit bottom on a running tide... Good fish!

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Days like that eh. I would have dropped those tings back to the big reds while still kicking lol. Good upgrade with that one. I always see heaps on the sounder there but no ones eating. Well done on that big bugger

Great fish on the light gear. Thanks for your report and pics.

Wags

Quote Originally Posted by T1 View Post
    Hey Roy

That fish must have been a surface feeder? The only reason i say that is a 1/16th is pretty light for Harries, and would take an eternity to hit bottom on a running tide... Good fish!

Take Care T
    Hey T, got him on the bottom, was at the very top of the tide with no run at all, normally have a 3/8th jig at harries most of the time, was a perfect day all round, cheers Roy

Nice contrast in fish there mate.
    Very happy with an effort like that, what a cracker of a day.
    Cheers and thanks.

"Tackle Whore on a budget..."
    Gonzo II – Brooker 4.5m 40hp Yam & Outlaw Kayak
    Fish Well, Fish Egrell

http://www.ecofishersqld.org.au