What kind of setup? Was this done with Electric reels?
We left Southport Marina yesterday at 6am and returned last night at 5pm. After doing some initial work at the 50m line resulting in a good Kingy and an AJ , the boys suggested we head wide to do some "real" bottom bashing , circa 500 - 600m. After ahn initial slow period , the fish cam on the chew right on the trun of the tide at 1.30pm and this is the result. Some absolute snodgers !!! We will so be doing that again.
4 x Blue Eye trevella 20 - 25kg
1 x Bass Gropper 30kg
1 x Green Eyed Lemon shark 50kg
Thanks to Keith, Trevor and Steve.
WW
What kind of setup? Was this done with Electric reels?
----------------------------------------------------------------
Show me the Snapper!
man i bet your arms are aching after that session
planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Mate we headed out to the 50s at the same time. We had a much less exciting session. Was that you in the cat? we were in the Seafarer.
Cheers Brendan
Yes , guys the arms were sore as there were no electric reels to be seen on our boat. We were in the 34' Blackwatch.
A couple of Tcurve Roads with TLD50's loaded with 80 pound Braid. The young blokes ground it our in high gear , while the older blokes sort refuge in low gear.
Awesome fun , but all the action started right on the tide change.
welcome to deep bottom fishing NSW style! been going on for years and years down here. Some of the best eating fish too, not too sure about the "Green Eye lemon" shark thing, I guess you mean the common old Green Eye with the spike on their back?
No charter , it was a private vessel.
Hi mate, I was at the 36's and found fishing slow in the morn but fish did come on the bite late.
Went back into the 24's at 3pm and the fish were biting there heads off.
Shed a tear to leave at 415pm with perfect conditions and fishing playing the game.
Timbo
HEAD DOWN BUM UP!
Hi Pinguu ,Looks like you had plenty of fun out there .How far is it from the 50 fathom line to the grounds you were fishing ?
Regards ,
Pat.
Sheeshus free hand Nice work hey
Buggar winding that much i sook over 60 metres plus
VHF CHANNEL 21
CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)
There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot
I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges
Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)
Do you even feel a bite or does the rod just go heavy at that depth? Good feed guys. We also headed out with 4 kids for a touch of whale watching midday yesterday but it only lasted minutes after a mum started searching for ralph . I returned today with Nicole jigging up a small (but pleanty of fight for her) AJ from the 50s and a few pearlies (would have been bait size for your trevella) from the 36s. Heaps of whales around today but they were all snobs .
nice catch mate
i would really like to know what you think of the eating quality after you eat one,we have done a bit of blue eye fishing off the goldie but cant rate the eating quiality.(i think the blue eye might be to big)
wayne
ps was the skipper the old owner of xfactor in his new glasier bay
Had a similar, out a bit wide to start and found a really good show on the sounder and nothing? came in to the 24's and not untill we were meant to head in they wanted a feed , got a squire and 4 trags, the day we went out the wind was picking up the longer we stayed out so forced to go in.
makes you wonder if you just stayed in one spot, will the fish turn on?
You guys must have arms like tree trunks, that would hurt like hell.
Well done,
cheers Lee