JJ simply highlight the web address then copy and paste
them HH's are nice boats
Wish I knew how to post a link.......
But.. just saw an immaculate condition 565L on boatpoint for 20k. Looks to be in as new condition 2nd owner. Underpowered with a 115 Ocean Pro 40hrs but what a boat. Used to have one for off the shelf work. Used to call it the Porsche of the sea.
What would be the perfect motor for this ,200 horses sounds about right..Four stroke may be too heavy. Dream on. The Mrs is in Brisbane at the moment all I would need to do is compose the right SMS.
I WANT I WANT I WANT
JJ simply highlight the web address then copy and paste
them HH's are nice boats
IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-fo...aspx?R=8952070
Thats the one ..Thanks for that Stuie
sure is a pristine condition classic . I reckon it would go just fine with a 115 as well
IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT
Very nice Jarrah. reckon you would be beside yourself with that in the drive. Can see a big S/S fuel tank down the back, duel batts, rocket launcher. When do you pick it up? The basic designs haven`t changed to much over the years. I guess when your on a good thing , stick to it.
I had a 175 on mine and it was a bit slow.
what would the BMT tow weight be on a haines like this?
Bloody sure I read somewhere Jarah Jack is NOT a speed freak.
These look like such a nice hull. Classic Haines. Jarrah - what speed did you cruise at and top out at? I have a Jeff Webster Mag - one of the later ones - where he notes that they ran with as low as 115hp and best power was 140 with max 200hp. I dont doubt what Jack says though which makes it interesting and shows that you cannot compare hulls and power. For eg that Mag says 650kg and 22 degrees over 5.65 metres. My Vagabond is over 6m, 800kg plus hull and 21 degrees and runs to 63kph and cruises at 45-50kph with a 115 Yammy V4. The Yammy V4 though is a sweet nicely tuned engine that has heaps of torque and I reckon more power than a straight 4 115 like the Merc.
Having said all of that one of Jeffs Mags - and older one - said that best power for a V16C was 115....I had an inline 3 cyl Merc 2 stroke on mine (2000 model - repower) and that was heaps of grunt but more importantly a V4 or straight 4 to get the 115 would have been WAY to heavy on that very low slung transom with BUGGER ALL freeboard (mine was a 72 model).
Cheers all
PS. Love talking about boats...they are just such a thing of beauty
Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing
Just had a gander...very very nice looking rig. Jeez those early Haines transoms were low...reminds me of the 16c but a little higher. For my money I would like that rig on a dual axle trailer, but there isnt much in it in that regard...single should do but she is getting heavy enough to warrant a dual if you are towing far.
Best Haines ever made.
Just so much u can do with them and will always look and ride sweet....or just do nothing.
Luv that model.
Ozscott is right about the trailer, that should be dual axle no doubt at all but thats not the fun part anyways.
TAAngler... I don't know what the BMT weight would be. When I had mine things were pretty simple on the roads back then.
Now the fun part. My mate had a 200 Yami on his and he always went past me on the way back from the shelf if it was a glass out type of evening. We would both race flat chat and he would win. For this reason I think the 200 is the go. You will always beat the guy with the 175.
How fast were we going? This was before GPS and the speedo business on the basic sounder...I don't know because I never looked at it. We would go so fast that all your attention was on controlling the boat and enjoying the run. If you put your head above the windscreen then your face would distort..In the end I found the fishing never went close to the joy I got from those runs with the sun setting behind old Drom near Bermagui. Thats nostalgia for you.
My boat was only a few years old and without doubt the one in the ad is better.
Wait till Dodgy sees it.
Saw this one a while ago seems pretty nice what do yall think??
http://www.tradingpost.com.au/Boats/...t=true&AdOnTop=
Newer trailer at least and dual axle
I want this one look s gun!!1
That one looks very sweet mate - its a 580L so a bit bigger...dont know if it rides the same. I would be putting tabs on it. Did the later ones - like the one above it seems - have a walk around gunwale to stop you having to access the prow through that awkward looking hatch (was it awkward?).