Thread: 2 day beach jew hit

Re: 2 day beach jew hit

Quote Originally Posted by 35kg jew View Post
    Hi peter i fillet the bonito in 4 long fillets per fish and cover in salt more the better than leave outside all day in the shade which drys them out and makes them hard to pull off the hook than put in containers in the fridge.

Northern Nsw area jackash plenty of good water down there.
    Gonna go down there again tues, wed..
    35kg jew,

Thanks for getting back to me, that makes sense. Good effort for patience and perseverence. I have not caught a silverjew since 6 years ago, then again was not targetting them but yeah you got my taste buds going again.

Quote Originally Posted by 35kg jew View Post
    For sure blooey im just rigging up now got a couple small choppers just before so should be a good night good luck
    Thanks mate, Spent 6hrs fishing a nice gutter last night and did manage 1 small schoolie on a freshly caught tailor slab.Pulled some worms earlier and used big bunches of them, salted tailor,butterflyed pike and pillys also but the fresh tailor was the only bait to get any interest from them. It also tempted a rather large tailor for my mate that he dropped at his feet. Ben

Hey guys, Well done.
    Nuthin nicer than seeing a big silver bronze side of jew come into the torchlight in the surf.

Hope you blokes know the etiquette for jewing if you come into northern nsw from another state

cheers, steve.

Nice work. they are some beautiful fish.

Which etiquette is that Rabbi? Is that the one where you accidently drop your fish back in the drink? I reckon i've got that down pat!

Yeah mate,
    I give you 6/10 for the release, woulda given you more but it made a splash when it hit the water although I reckon I coulda managed a couple more points for the look on ya face

Nah I,m talking about where its impolite to outfish the locals. Specially me as I,m not used to that sort of caper m8.

Ballina bar was flat tuesday am and turned into a monster after lunch.

Man, it was a shocker of a day for the boaties.

Another life lost on the bar tuesday arvo

Bom site warned of dangerous surf conditions........terrible tragedy, heroism by the 20yo who jumped off another vessel to render assistance.

Yep, the ocean can change pretty quickly but I had heard warnings the previous evening. can be deceptive when it looks so flat n calm in the morning.

Saw a big jew hit the deck yesty arvo n hoping me mate knocks em off at Evans today. Wasnt my fault I only lipped it with the gaff.
    He seems to get less stress when he goes bassing!!

Quote Originally Posted by Jarrah Jack View Post
    Supurb fishing, no wonder you are going back. not easy doing nighters on the beach. What sort of gear do you use? Well done...
    hey bud i use 40lb mono on 700e alveys and have 2 gary howard bulldogs and 2 custom built synder 15ft jew rods.
    My rig is swivel than lumo bead size 10 sinker than lumo than swivel have this roughly 40cm than another trace of 80lb to my rig which is my secret rig that i have customised over the years .

well good luck bud

hi 35kg jew, story in the local paper on chasin jewys today interesting to see that 2nd photo of you in the blue jacket printed in the sunshine coast dailey newspaper claining the jewy was caught here on the sunshine coast on mullet fillet. be interesting to find where the writter of the story gets his facts from! still some cracking fish either way,
    been targeting them heavily lately,am still yet to hook 1 tho!!
    JAYVEE
    No love its not new...i've had that reel for ages

Great session, mate! A jew from the suds is a great achievement in the fisho's world!

Cuzza

Jeez Rabbi just found your last couple of posts...knock em off we did.....heart in mouth stuff....dunno about not gettn stressed when bassin....them stinky cows are extremely stressful

Yeah m8,
    Ill reckon I might get serious with Evans nxt year.

Ive been a good conservational fisho this year n have not weighed in one jew for my Fishing club.

Ive lulled them into a false sense of security now so I might go for the throat.

Now, Which beach was that you caught em on 35kg jew??

As far as cows go I woulda grabbed the long end of that rope mate

I was heading for the long end of the rope...............but it was occupied by you and the farmer ....................if your gunna fish for jew uncle steve, you'll need a raincoat