2 year old toyota

Thread: 2 year old toyota

2 year old toyota

I thought id share with you guys what I found on ebay.

I have NEVER EVER seen a 2 year old landcruiser more flogged out or as rusty in my life. It says a ranger owned/used it on fraser. What a champion. I wish someone would give me a 08 landcruiser V8 ute to play with. Just think, $1000 on a electric rust proofing system and it would still be like new.

http://cars.ebay.com.au/toyota-landc...mZ230495957350

Re: 2 year old toyota

There have been a few like this, same condition coming up for auction in the past couple of months, it must be vehicle changeover time. I know it's a work car but surely they could have done some preventative work to stop the vehicle getting into this condition, makes some of the mine vehicles I've seen look like limos

I'm keeping my eyes peeled at the damaged vehicle auctions for the right 1HD-FTE powered ute/troopy to come along and donate it's motor and gearbox into my dual cab 80. A bloke at work has done the conversion into his 80 series and it's quite impressive compared to the 1HZ and turbo in mine

Ally Jack

That is insane. There was a bloke that had that yellow defender on Straddie every day on the beach as a tour guide a few years ago...he had that fender for a long time and no hint of rust. Surely this Toymota has dunked in salt water badly....even Toyo cant manage to rust that quickly from beach use...

Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

Quote Originally Posted by Ally Jack View Post
    There have been a few like this, same condition coming up for auction in the past couple of months, it must be vehicle changeover time. I know it's a work car but surely they could have done some preventative work to stop the vehicle getting into this condition, makes some of the mine vehicles I've seen look like limos

I'm keeping my eyes peeled at the damaged vehicle auctions for the right 1HD-FTE powered ute/troopy to come along and donate it's motor and gearbox into my dual cab 80. A bloke at work has done the conversion into his 80 series and it's quite impressive compared to the 1HZ and turbo in mine

Ally Jack
    Here you go Ally Jack. Forget the 1hdfte engine. This is the conversion you want to do. All the info you need to know about your conversion. Its the same process for the 80series and the 100 series.
    http://www.australianimages.com.au/conversion/

Re the electronic rust proofing, I bought a 2 pad one second hand from a firend of mine. I only ever get up the beach a couple of times a year. Put it in myself and all seems well. However I notice a high pitched buzz every now and then from the engine bay in the car near the unit. I'm thinking it's the unit. Would this be normal? It's a couplertec.

No its not normal mate. Did you follow the instructions and fit it propperly. I mean the wirring is easy as. But your suppossed the mark out and scratch off all the paint back to bare metal where the pads go. They say to give it a light coat of paint then apply the pad, but take it back to bare metal ONLY in the pad possition.

Cheers. The instruction I got was to lightly sand back the spot and then apply a couple of coats of enamel paint. I'll double check what's going on, but I've got the right signal on the box.

Quote Originally Posted by BenDover View Post
    Here you go Ally Jack. Forget the 1hdfte engine. This is the conversion you want to do. All the info you need to know about your conversion. Its the same process for the 80series and the 100 series.
    http://www.australianimages.com.au/conversion/
    BenDover,

Thanks for the link plenty of good reading there and another power option for the 80

Ally Jack

So Ben, you reckon those electronic units work and are worth the $?

Quote Originally Posted by nigelr View Post
    So Ben, you reckon those electronic units work and are worth the $?
    Snake oil. They dont work, ask any one with a solid physics and / or chemistry backround. Been through this many times here, you get the blokes that swear they work. I have studied corrosion science at uni and understand how the whole process works, and I assure you that its a load of shit.

Ausfish Platinum Member Mr__Bean's Avatar

Agree fully!

- Darren

Mate... The facts speak for themselves. They can never stop rust, just slow it down. I dont know the exact science behind it. But science degree or no science degree. A mate had sandblasted 2 tow balls back to bare metal and hooked 1 upto the electronic rust proofing device. And came camping up the beach with us for a week. You could see the difference after 1 night. After a week the rust had well and trully taken over 1 of them and gone deep into the grooves and cuts. The other had nothing at all. Just a light film or residue.

Many other guys on here have the devices and say the same thing. Even chipped paint back to bare metal rusts in as little as 3 days. With a PROPPER rust proofing
    device and enough contacts 1 year later STILL NO RUST.
    They work

Im welcome to any test. Maybe the same test that convinced me.

Quote Originally Posted by TheRealAndy View Post
    Snake oil. They don't work, ask any one with a solid physics and / or chemistry background. Been through this many times here, you get the blokes that swear they work. I have studied corrosion science at uni and understand how the whole process works, and I assure you that its a load of shit.
    Tell that to the Surf life Saving clubs that have fitted these electronic rust proofing units to their patrol vehicles and have seen there life span doubled, against those with traditional rust proofing methods that have seen the vehicle rusted out in 2-3 years...

On my truck (D40) alone, I have a gouge that is back to bare metal in my tail gate since Aussie day this year.. 7 months later, and there is not one spec off rust on it. I thank my electronic rust proofing for that.. if you like I wil post a pic.

Interestingly, I know off 3 other D40 owners that have had thier car for as long as I have.. 1 other has the electronic rust proofer, 1 other spray on rust proofing, and last has no rust proofing..
    The 2 d40's without ERP has rust on their stone chips, the 2 with ERP don't....

Maybe in theory ERP dos not work, but in theory a helicopter is not suppose to be able to fly, yet it does so very well....

Ausfish Platinum Member Mr__Bean's Avatar

The thing I can't get past, if they are proven to improve corrosion resistance, then why aren't they a factory option for expensive four wheel drive vehicles?

Especially in Europe where they drive on salted winter roads?

For interest, did any of the surf clubs that had them fitted have to pay for the units or were they fitted for promotion?

- Darren

The Surf Clubs payed for thier ERP's..

I don't belive that car manufactures are in the game off building rust proof cars... If they did they would loose a big chunk off the spare parts $$$$