-
80/100 Series Turbo diesel fuel burn
Gday,
I am looking at getting an 80 or 100 series turbo diesel, hopefully a converted dual cab ute, to tow a trailer boat around.
What sort of fuel burn do people get for normal driving and also when towing a large trailer boat?
Myles
-
Re: 80/100 Series Turbo diesel fuel burn
I have a manual 2003 turbo GXL that I have had since new. Drive it hard and you'll use about 13 litres per hundred km's. Drive economically and stick to 100 km'h and it will do close to 11 litres per 100km. (highway) I have often done more than 700 km before the fuel light comes on. From experience the fuel light represents 80 litres consumed from a 96 litre main tank.
I tow a heavy boat (2.7 t )and fuel consumption works out around 20 litres per 100km. I stay in 4th gear and just under 100 km'h as fifth is not recomended for heavy towing loads. I will get about 400 km from the 80 litres before the fuel light comes on.
The vehicle is fantastic and has worked perfectly since new. Tomorrow I'm fitting new suspension to it as the original is a bit saggy with the boat on. Love the car, can highly recommend!
-
Thanks Reel Blue,
Just the info I was after.
Myles
-
I use the oldmans 2003 t.d auto GXL to tow my boat (3.0t) up to Tin Can Bay. It gets approx 800km out of the first tank not towing and 400km when towing the boat. Sounds very similar to Reel Blues figures.
-
hey mate i think you need a f250 monster truck ??
-
Ausfish Gold Member
I had a manual 100TD for 8 years, on the HWY not towing at 110 kmh you could get 11/100, in the city 12-13/100 depending on how much traffic and how many short trips .
Towing 3.2 t boat at 90-100 kmh 18-20/100, never more than 20/100.
I had an 80 TD manual before that , the 80 would use a little more , about 5-10% more.
Both good trucks in their day, covered lots of ks with both, both bought new .
Never had any work done on either , just normal service the 8 every 5 k k's and the 100 every 10 k's.
I now have a LC200, she uses a little less than the 100 and towing a 2.5 ton boat 17-18lts per 100 @110kmh .
The only problem buying used they hold their value ...
-
Jim I would love an F250 dual cab, they have always been my "lotto" car haha but the missus is worried about how she will park one at woollies....
What sort of fuel burn do you get Jim towin the boat?
Thanks WRX, 100 series might be the go then, the servicing alone would make it worthwhile over the 80m
Myles
-
Ausfish Gold Member
I have a 100TD auto - have been keeping close eye on fuel use and avg is 13.8L/100k over a couple of years but that is dominated by city driving and touring with a fully loaded car/roof rack (but not towing).
Without a big load I get about 11L on the highway.
Most of the figures I've seen (quoted by others) for towing are between 15 and 20L/100k.