Monduran Eagle Nest Fire ? - Page 3
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Monduran Eagle Nest Fire ?

Re: Monduran Eagle Nest Fire ?

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    A lot has been said over the last couple of days with regard to this subject - and It’s now time to set the record straight …….. I do apologise for the delay as I was waiting to speak to a couple of people on the matter. In addition to travelling.

The fact is that when this thread was posted , I immediately rang the author (Foxy) to clarify that at no stage was any nest set on fire - Embarrassed however I did confirm that an old trunk in the middle of open water was.
    We spoke about how to best handle this issue as I felt remorseful & compelled to tell it as it was - a prank - though totally embarrassed at the same time . It was decided that we leave it be & see what happens …… in hindsight & had I been able to speak to John who was un contactable - I would have responded a couple of days ago once the negative comments were posted.

While this was meant to be a harmless prank , I regret that friends and fellow Ausfishers have been implicated by default . The reality was that most were not present when this happened & even fewer had any idea of what had occurred …… ‘The mystery of the burning stump”.
    Such was the rouse that not even my deckie (John) was aware of what had taken place - he was bankside & indisposed at the time. John only became aware of it as we motored toward the smoke…... totally flabbergasted, he had no idea..
    It was only late the following evening around the camp fire that any mention was even made …… still unaware of the truth though a couple insinuated that it was me…… .
    The whole issue died pretty quickly.
    I did receive a phone call on my way home from the dam saying that the locals were angry that an eagles nest was destroyed …… to this I replied that no nest was destroyed! - nothing more was said till 6 days later.

As I have stated above , I am embarrassed at was has occurred & the stir that it has caused. More so, I do feel sorry for anyone that has felt shame through association - It was never my intention to see anyone hurt.
    Finally it needs to be said that I am in no way a malicious person or one that would want to see our wildlife or their habitat interfered with …… places like Mondy are special to me.

Sincerely yours

What would posess someone to set alight a stump in the middle of a dam. If it were a house/shed/dwelling it would be arson. Nest or no nest, setting fire to a tree is pure stupidity - (actually a word from Chongs' dictionary would fit well in here).
    If you were to drive past anything on fire, why would you not try to put it out?
    More to the point, why not make sure it was out before you left the water.

Sorry, but any prank when something is set alight doesn't sit well with me.

Go mate,and stay gone.
    That way we don't have to endure the prattle between you and your mates about your fire obsession for weeks on end coming up to one of your"crew" sanctioned events..
    "who's got the timber?"
    "You'll need plenty with nagg around"etc etc...emoticon emoticon...

I am proud not to be"Mondy crew since 2009".with one of your major contributors acting in such a way.
    So if branding yourselves as "Mondy crew"ers you have let the general public know now to expect-
    endless,tiresome prattle on websites.
    pranks that include setting fire to stumps in a waterway..
    egotistical rantings and deft pack responses to those that have a different opinion
    apologies and cover-up's.

Nagg,take your man-child,ego driven behaviour and leave.
    The apologies have had to come from you too many times now...Taylor bros.,eagles nest's..etc.

And please those that have promised to fall on their own sword and go too if a member was responsible for this,shut the door on the way out.

IMO, enough said.

Time for a Mod to lock this tread.

I agree, lock the thread.
    This is my final post on this, and will be my last post on Ausfish.
    There’s no “falling on a sword”, I am just sick and tired of this crap.

Foxie, you know the majority of A.F. people who regularly fish Monduran, we have sat around a camp fire, shared a beer, cracked a joke, and discussed the ways of the world.
    I hope, and trust that you believe that any purposeful vandalism in the manner described is both abhorrent, and totally rejected by those of us who post on this forum, camp, fish, and enjoy that amazing place.

I hope that as the focal point in the barra world up there, you can pass the message that not all A.F. members have a disregard for what they, and others, love so much. We camp and fish and enjoy that water way for multiple reasons, the scenery and bird life are an integral part of the experience.

I personally feel sick in my guts just thinking that this may be true, and that by association, people would think the majority of Ausfish members would condone this. I wasn’t there on the week end, I don’t know if any fires were deliberately lit. Naggs post confirms there was a fire, started by him self as a STUPID prank, although not to a tree containing a nest. It’s not why I fish, its not why I have a passion for Monduran, it’s not what I’m about.

This has been a great site, with heaps of potential, despite the often times ridiculous bickering that goes on I’ve learned a heap, made some great mates, you guys and gal know who you are, and at least one of my phones is always on, you have my emails, and I will fish and camp and share the track with you at the drop of a hat, because you are good, honest, caring people, simple as that.
    Last edited by BR65; 12-07-2010 at 09:57 AM. Reason: removed un-necessary comments

I grew up in Bundy and lived there for 29 years and visit the family regularly. I have fished just about all of the waterways in and around the district and enjoy fishing them when the chance pops up.

If a place is special to you ----> don't destroy it.

"Don't destroy what you came to enjoy."

Could we please have the truth.

While your mate was taking a crap on the bank, you quickly drove out and lit an old tree stump. Yeah right. How the hell do you go about lighting an old tree stump in the middle of a lake. A drum of petrol may get it going, a dried eagles nest will too. Truth please Chris because you are going to wear this for a very long time. Snodgers post earlier about 3 large floaters in the bay point to a falling tree that was much more than a stump.
    Last edited by Fitzy; 10-07-2010 at 11:20 PM.
    Dale

I fish because the little voices in my head tell me to

Quote Originally Posted by aussiebasser View Post
    Can't quite understand what you're trying to say. Did it happen or didn't it? There are a lot of the crew obvious by their absence on this post. You have to wonder who did it, and why it was done. Somebody knows but is keeping quiet. If the local Gin Gin businesses know about it, the Ausfish name won't be worth crap up there now, and sadly it probably will reflect on all Ausfish members.
    Very simple Dale I have had enough. I have always been a simple fisho and want nothin more then that. So with no dis respect to anyone I feel that me personally will enjoy fishing on a much more by keeping it simple, and low key.My close mates will always have the heads up if and when I go for a fish but as a large group never again.

I am tired of being branded as some sort of clown because of idiots who pass judgement whom I have never met, it is weak! I would have no problem saying gday to anyone even yourself Dale. As for the continued school yard battle of mindless banter I hated it and also hated the fact I got involved in it. It's not me and am just not that type of bloke, so as for that I am happy to say it's over for me. I wont be posting anymore.

As to this latest fu!#ed up act Chris has come forward, and having shared a boat and time I am sure he is very sorry. Although it was a little to late my mind is set like Brian the A team will be loving seeing the destruction of the so called "crew" and the stage is yours boys.

Thankyou guys and girls. Now to enjoy the reson why we started on here in the first place... Fishin

Nath

Ok, it was a silly act, someone has put their hand up to it & admitted it was silly.
    We all know that it was done, it can't be undone. I'm quite sure the person involved is very embarrassed & remorseful about it & has learnt from it.

Nobody was hurt or killed. If an eagles nest was or wasn't burnt, they can build another one.

The topic won't be locked unless the original poster asks me to lock it (so please no phone calls). The original post did not name or defame anyone. IMHO is should be left as an example of what "not to do" to others, & allow others to give their thoughts on the topic.

Let it be a reminder of all of our duty of care as anglers, to act & to be seen to be acting in a responsible & sustainable manner.

Please folks, can we take a deep breate & let the bickering settle.

Kind Regards,

Fitzy..
    Last edited by Fitzy; 10-07-2010 at 12:02 PM.
    Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
    Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au

Quote Originally Posted by aussiebasser View Post
    Medic, Medic, could we have a medic over here. I think this man is choking on Chris's appendage.

Reread his post Dale, Brian has openly condemed Chris' action and wants to disassociate from it. Hardly the act you have described.

As expressed in my earlier post, I too can't agree with his action either. He posted up his apology and it is up to individuals how they want to accept that.

I have enjoyed the few M&G (both salt and fresh) that I have been able to make it to and mostly the company of those I have met there.

I agree with some points of view posted on AF, not with others and never with all, but that is ok. Shame some take it personal.

Take care

Time to ease up a bit fella's. This fighting isnt helping things at all. If anything this thread should concentrate on the incident, what can be done to remedy the situation and not make it personal.
    I think by putting 2 & 2 together we can work out what happened. It was a stupid act which has caused all this and whatever else comes from it.
    I offer no excuses for Chris, but I will say that he has helped me quite a bit on this forum. That said, I am not condoning what he did, and have personally felt aggrieved about the situation and the position I and a few others where put in over this.
    Like Nath, I probably wont be posting here any more and will be concentrating on smaller fishing groups in the future. I can here my Mrs screaming for joy (obviously too much time spent on this forum).
    I would like to thank the people at the CM as they were a great bunch to be around and I had a good time and hope to keep in contact with them. I would also like to thank those who have helped me as well, I feel I have become a better fisho because of the advice given on this site, and have enjoye my time here.
    Someone asked why wasnt the fire put out? There is only so much you can do with a 1kg extinguisher and it wouldnt have done it (I have had some fire training). I also had the obligation as skipper to ensure the safety of my deckie, boat myself, and anyone who come to rescue us should it all go south. That was what was going through my head at the time.
    Cheers for all your help people. But I seek an uncomplicated life, and fishing is my main way to get that, and I cant risk loosing Mondy as a spot to do that as I love the place for its beauty and the challenge it poses to the average angler.
    Cheers also to my deckie who was the only one including me that had the balls to call a spade a spade in an earlier post.
    I will catch up with a few mates I have made here, and seeing the house is booked, deposit paid and holidays arranged for the muster I will be there at that time. But after that smaller groups.
    If you see the Galey, pop over and say g'day.
    Cheers all

Like Brians earlier edit to post,after a very open and honest phone call results in this post also being edited.

The machinations at work here are best left to political parties. Honestly, the whole "Tarred with the same Brush" scenario has never sat well with me but as I am not the kind of person to give a "Royal Flying #$@!" what others may or may not think of my character, I will make my opinions clear. Now I'm not about to make any grand gestures of peace on earth and goodwill to all men(and women).

> Silly thing to do. agreed.

> The gravity of it may not have been realised by those associated till much later on and after some reflection, it may well of been better nipped in the bud by those at ground central rather than on a public forum. By this I don't mean covered up and swept away, I mean those that thought it poor form, Myself included, should have made it perfectly clear at the time....I wish I did but I can't go back and change that now. Those that thought it something more sinister should have taken it up with the appropriate authorities. Simple as that. If you feel strongly enough then by all means do so.

> Airing of dirty laundry on this public forum does nothing more that cause a stink.

>Those that believe the way forward is to retreat, well, I'll be sad to see you go. I don't wish anyone to be banished from cyber space for being silly otherwise there would be few left. If lessons are learned then it is a positive. If one just steps aside then the message is not of becoming better for the experience. I believe we all can learn from this episode... Do say what you feel....Don't tolerate in silence....Learning from mistakes is human, it makes us better people.

I don't intend to alter my habits of association with like minded ausfishers. I have enjoyed gathering with all who have attended, old and new, and hope do do so into the future. I'm sure there will always be controversy amongst a larger group of personalities, the way you handle that is a true test of character. For mine, I hope to pass the test, But I won't loose sleep over others judgements.

Regards to all,
    Rod.

I have met the “crew” once at Mondy last year and I have to say it was a real pleasure. I have also met other Ausfishers over the course of the last few years and everyone has been a top person. Ausfish to me has been a great source of information and friendship with like minded fishermen and women.

What Nagg did was a stupid prank and he has made it clear that he is sorry and it was stupid. Nagg and some others mentioned in this thread have been some of the most helpful and forthcoming in sharing information in posts. All of us have strengths and weaknesses and all of us make mistakes – we are all human and fail ourselves and others at times. How about cutting people some slack?

I can’t understand and I am totally surprised how quickly some people want to take part in character assignation. I’m wondering if there are some other hidden agendas here? Some seem to be excited about the opportunity to be judge and jury.

Aren’t we Aussies famous for giving people “a fair go” or have we forgotten that?

I heard a story once about this famous fisherman who said this really good line , “ He who is without sin, let him cast the first stone.”

-cheers Richard

Fella's please don't let this turn into a complete mess with some member's deciding never to post again...

What Chris has admitted to have done (for which he has apoligised for) is not the big thing some people are making it out to be,,,(Silly but not the end of the world)...

I have never met any of these bloke's before personaly, only through this forum & have learnt so much for which i am very greatfull..& would love to meet any Ausfisher at Mondy or wherever..

As Richard said give everyone a fair go it wasn't that big a deal

Cheer's Baz

Quote Originally Posted by rc@hinze View Post

I heard a story once about this famous fisherman who said this really good line , “ He who is without sin, let him cast the first stone.”

-cheers Richard

He (the fisherman) must have stolen that line off that really really famous carpenter who said the same thing.........