Thread: old Landcruisers

Ausfish Platinum Member gr hilly's Avatar

old Landcruisers

come on guys tell us about your old Landcruisers no other vehicles

Re: old Landcruisers

i have two a 1983 hj60 done 1.3 mill klm, but i did replace the injector box. and towed a 19c haines around australia twice to cairns from brissy and back 8 or 9 times fraser 20 or 25 times,my other is another hj60 the last model built by toyota i have just run in the motor 330000 klm both are diesel and i am still in love with these old buggers.
    Hilly

It was a sad day when the HJ60's ended production...
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

yes i paid $14500 for my 83 mod new and $8000 for my 89 second hand i have baught a 2000 mod and sold it whithin 1 month ill get rid of my mrs before my cruisers
    Hilly

Bought a 1969 fj 45 with a style side back in 1979 from the wreckers for $400 , spent 6 months doing it up . After 5 resprays ,3 engines ,1 gearbox and still the original diffs i sold it in 2005 and upgraded to a hzj75.
    And to this day its still in use ,they are 1 tough truck.
    NOW I,AM GUNNA EATCHA

I have had an FJ40 short wheelbase, a couple of FJ45 utes, an FJ60 wagon and an 80 series (that I still have), the old ones are very rough to drive, pretty slow and noisey, but do the job they were built for very very well, rust is the big killer in the early ones, I once saw and old FJ45 ute with a complete fibreglass bonnet and gaurds/grill setup, that folded forward from near the windscreen like a big truck, fibreglass body panels were very common for them.

Have a '90 hzj75. After 15 years of Series 3 Landrovers, you bet I love it!
    Mind you, IMHO the short wheel base S3's were arguably better on the beach.
    I mean, I have to let the tyres down on the Troopie.............but with 20-25lb in them she goes great, and is very comfortable at 110 on the hwy too, best of all worlds as it tows well enough also.
    Daughter has a '93 80 series with the same engine, as far as value for $ goes, I reckon these Tojos are unbeatable, they hold their value very well too.
    Cheers!

$14500, for a new Landcruiser, wouldn't it be nice if they were still that price new today.

I remember my grandad bought a new hj60, back in 1984/85, when I was 5 or 6, but I guess that $14500 was probably a lot of money back in those days.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    I have had an FJ40 short wheelbase, a couple of FJ45 utes, an FJ60 wagon and an 80 series (that I still have), the old ones are very rough to drive, pretty slow and noisey, but do the job they were built for very very well, rust is the big killer in the early ones, I once saw and old FJ45 ute with a complete fibreglass bonnet and gaurds/grill setup, that folded forward from near the windscreen like a big truck, fibreglass body panels were very common for them.
    yes mate a company made all glass panels doors bonnets guards grills roofs rear cabs infact the whole cab if you wanted one and locals up noosa way loved them for rainbow i don't know now if they still do but its a great idea because all the panels simply unbolt .Hilly