Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Our Minutes from the meeting - A week of Interestingness

Our Minutes from the meeting - A week of Interestingness

Hi all, as usual, we had a blast, what a great mob of guys n girls u all are.
    Fantastic to meet so many new faces and although the fishing was tough the social side made up for it in trumps.
    Good road trip again, both ways, and no boat issues or injuries again either, except for a sore left shoulder.

OK, so u can all scroll down to the pic of Rob's big girl, have a squiz and then come back up to read my report........... off ya go, I'll wait here..............

She's a good'n hey

So we hit the water at lunch Friday, up to Sth B and found the Polly in a little bay that we ended up naming Wind Knot Bay(spin reel issues) and had a cast till lunchtime. Put some faces to names over lunch then back to the same bay. Casting a mutant SSS I got pounced on by a very fiesty Barra which I gave every opportunity to escape including a wind knot in the braid and several jumps with me on one side of the boat and the fish on the other.
    Unfortunatley she was hooked deep and lost a bit of blood, hoping she survived.Attachment 59642
    The rest of the day was spend scoping the joint out and then back for an evening of fun around the fire.
    Saturday was a case of driving around looking for likely looking spots and another cracker bankside lunch.
    Sunday found us around Sth B and some nice bays at the entrance to Nth B and late in the arvo I found a nice looking pup laying beside a snag in shallow water.Attachment 59643
    Sat night I missed the fun around the fire with a massive migraine, drinking the wrong sort of fluids I think

Monday was more of the same with us concentrating around some warmer water we had found at the back of the Nth B bays and late in the arvo again I laid a cast beside a single drowned tree and as I retrieved what looked like a little twig popped up, turned out to be the dorsal fin of a Barra, she just turned her head towards the lure and sucked it in as it went past, classic, as we both watched it happen.Attachment 59644

Later that afternoon in the same bay we watched in awe as we would lay down a cast and 1 - 5 Barra would spook out of the shallows, mad to know they are there but not interested in a feed. Then up to No secret for a look, fish boofing and one monster fish we called for a dolphin swimming up to the boat and rolling away with back and shoulders out of the water.

Tuesday up to No Secret, random boofing every 15 mins or so through the morning had us in a frenzy of casts, hear a boof swing around, chuck a cast at the spot, crazy fun.
    About 9.30 I got monstered, violent strike and a first run that had me on my knees, huge stitch up that took us 20 mins to free and up pooped a very healthy fishAttachment 59645

By this stage Rob was shoulders and head down looking at a 4 - zip score line, but he was still putting in the casts. I was on the phone to Deano telling him how good the 96 was when the quiet achiever sinks the hooks into the dolphin and goes about his work methodically working the fish back to the boat. No jumps, no real idea of what we were dealing with other than strong surges under a heavy drag.
    Thank god, Roo and Shep were close by cause we had little chance of lifting her into the boat, Rod told me I have to buy a bigger net.
    A beautifully conditioned fish at 125 and I still have trouble comprehending how she looked and the sheer size of her, I won't and I don't think Rob will ever forget it.Attachment 59646Attachment 59647

And that is all she wrote, we spent all of Wednesday and Thursday casting our arms off but it was evident that the dam had changed so we pulled the pin and made the long and very wet drive home yesterday.

Thanks to everyone who was there, we had, as usual a great trip, bring on the Muster.

Pete & Rob.

Re: Our Minutes from the meeting - A week of Interestingness

good stuff pete and rob, thats a pig of a fish...as always great to catch up....you have been pretty consistent the last few trips pete, well deserved with the miles you travel...
    awesome....

deano...
    God put me on earth to accomplish
    a certain number of things,
    right now i am so far behind
    i will never die.

Four fish in very tough conditions means that you brained 'em Pete - very well done...

And while Rob only got the one, methinks he will remember it forever...

Nice report, good pics and Robzilla is just awesome!!

Regs

Pete & Kyle

Maaaaaaaaaaaatttttttteeeeeee..... Been waiting for this report with baited breath... Good onya fella's. Well deserved for sure Pete . Great fish Rob and congrats on it, looks more like a Clydesdale than a horse .... Cant wait to get back in late August for another shot. Oh and then the Muster 2 weeks later

Wow must say that 125 cm is a ripper what a horse and how dark does it look been hiding in the weed by the loos well done to both of you 4 fish when all others ate the puff pastry great effort and good to see the miles put in was worth it welcome too the 120 club rob now if there is a 130 awaitng who will score here hurry up muster

Pete, That's a cracker of a report mate, bloody good stuff.

Was good to see you and Rob again and well fished , you brained them.

And, Robzilla!!!!!!! what a fish, its a bloody big-big fish well done Rob.

Now remember boys, post a picture of your fish on a brag mat so i can include you efforts in the Mondy Cup.

Back in February i tried to get Rob to post a picture of his catches on a brag mat, i believe i spoke to you about it.
    Now i think his Ausfish sign in is mudguard! get him to post his pictures from February as well, he now will have the longest barra. Be sure to state the length of each fish as well.

John.

Quote Originally Posted by Obi _ Wan View Post
    Pete, That's a cracker of a report mate, bloody good stuff.

Was good to see you and Rob again and well fished , you brained them.

And, Robzilla!!!!!!! what a fish, its a bloody big-big fish well done Rob.

Now remember boys, post a picture of your fish on a brag mat so i can include you efforts in the Mondy Cup.

Back in February i tried to get Rob to post a picture of his catches on a brag mat, i believe i spoke to you about it.
    Now i think his Ausfish sign in is mudguard! get him to post his pictures from February as well, he now will have the longest barra. Be sure to state the length of each fish as well.

John.
    Thanks John, always good to see you too. Rob has a bit of an issue at the moment with loging in, we are tying to work through it, his sign in is actually mudflaps

I will put up my mat shots on Monday if that is OK.

Well done Pete & Rob.......U guys were certainly the stand out anglers for the trip.....and Rob's 125.......PRICELESS.
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

NSW anglers kick Qld anglers butt ...... I wonder if it is an Omen

Oh yeh , Tigers beat Bronco's

3's a charm NSW beats Qld

Well done boys , good fishing and well deserved Robzilla is a cracker of a fish!

Thats a pony all right! Nope, its bigger than a pony, its a clydesdale!

Good read Poite, and congrats on your 4 fish, and to Rob on that mutant, that is a bloody great fish!
    Not bad for a couple of blokes who live in another state, I must say.

Well done guys.

Top effort and seems you sussed them out pretty well.

They are all great fish and the big gir,l well I guess thats a special fish for sure now.

Lee

Pete... Fantastic effort mate. It was tough times and ya done very well. You discovered fish in a few areas and reaped the rewards...

Rob well mate I bet you are still pumped. its a good feeling seeing those real monster fish come to the net and none are easy top effort mate I only wish I could have be there to watch...

till the next one boys

Nath

Great work Pete and congratulations to you and Rob on the great fish that were landed especially when many went fishless. Must be really something getting a Barra that big into your boat. Good to know you come home with fish landed after all your effort driving up from Coffs - well done guys! I have certainly been looking forward to your report and pictures. - cheers Richard

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    NSW anglers kick Qld anglers butt ...... I wonder if it is an Omen

Oh yeh , Tigers beat Bronco's

3's a charm NSW beats Qld

Well done boys , good fishing and well deserved Robzilla is a cracker of a fish!

brilliant stuff pete and rob great results,awsome to meet you both and what a fish to get for your only one for the trip one that will sit in his dream bags for life heading back up in a couple of weeks so real keen now