Bream up the Passage

Thread: Bream up the Passage

Bream up the Passage

Well, I finally finished fitting out the new boat and time to take it for a run. What better time to do it, than an overnight fish in Pumicestone Passage at Caloundra.

Ventured out at about 4pm on Friday..did a few runs up and down the Passage..the boat perfomed well...very happy with it..heaps of fishing space.

The fish started on the chew before dark...first fish caught was a 30cm model. I thought this should be good. Amazing how many fish caught in that 23 to 25 cm range.

The bite was reasonably constant right through until about 2am..the wind stopped..the water was like glass and the fish stopped biting..but the mossies turned up and they soon started the biting.

Total catch was 24...majority ranging from 25 to 30cm...

pics attached of the 2 biggest...and the total catch.

It was great to get back to basics and have a top night on the water..already planning the next attack on the place.

Re: Bream up the Passage

Mate, they are a couple of monsters you got there!! and what better way to christen the boat than a esky full of fish.
    That lot had to be worth a few mossie bites I`d recon.

Again mate,bloody well done.
    Kerrod

Good on you, Greg! Ya gotta be happy with that result!

I have been watching out for your report as you had said that you were planning on doing the maiden trip in the new vessel last night.

Great report. Great pix. Many thanks.

Ausfish Platinum Member alleycat's Avatar

Well done pinhead and nice looking boat, hull looks a bit like the horizon i have, and as for passage bream i was beginning to think they were very rare, ive been doing pretty well on flathead on plastics in the passage but im amazed at the absense of bream, just 1 bream in 3 trips, oh and go the bunnies..

WTG Greg, nice bag o' bream... and what about those two horses
    yeah boat looks good... next trip to mud or peel for the snaps cherry mate

looking forward to further reports
    Cheers Chris

(please insert witty saying here)

Greg,

It's the Brookers - they attract fish.

Were you happy with its performance with that donk on the back. It would be heaps lighter than mine.

What bait for your breambos. There's been a few around here in the tweed. Actually the numbers are down the quality is better.

Bream up the passage?
    Sound a little uncomfortable...
    great report and well done on the chillybin full. Glad to hear a new boat is doing all it's supposed to do. Buggs, that would be more bream than you've caught in your life wouldn't it?

Great to see a hard days' work rewarded with an esky full of fish.

Nice work Greg.

Brett...as I am running the motor in..well for a short time anyway...I couldn't go too hard with it it is great..sits well on the plane..with just me and gear on board 40k/h was reached in no time and that was not past half throttle. Great at rest also..could move around comfortably at all times without any undue movement from the boat.
    Bait: chook gut.

LOL..Ozie..this boat ain't going near Mud.

Oh...I also bought a packet of Allens Party Mix lollies to take along for a sugar hit..opened the packet..OMG..lolly bananas...ate a few but the fish kept biting.

Alleycat: are you fishing day or night up there?

Greg,

They are some cracking bream mate!!
    Well done.

Congrats on getting the boat finished.

Jason.
    FISHING IS NOT A HOBBY...................IT'S AN OBSESSION!!

Ausfish Platinum Member alleycat's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    Brett...as I am running the motor in..well for a short time anyway...I couldn't go too hard with it it is great..sits well on the plane..with just me and gear on board 40k/h was reached in no time and that was not past half throttle. Great at rest also..could move around comfortably at all times without any undue movement from the boat.
    Bait: chook gut.

LOL..Ozie..this boat ain't going near Mud.

Oh...I also bought a packet of Allens Party Mix lollies to take along for a sugar hit..opened the packet..OMG..lolly bananas...ate a few but the fish kept biting.

Alleycat: are you fishing day or night up there?

Im fishing day pinhead, i reckon that section just off that rock wall you see on the edge of that sandbank just south of toorbul would be worth a try for bream though, nice rubble bottom...

Nice feed there Greg, time to restock the freezer while they are still on the chew. Good to see the little boat producing the goods after getting it how you want.

Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Nice catch. You've gotta love winter nights, a full moon and the bream on the chew!
    Cheers Freeeedom

new boat, big bream, rabbits got up,, cant ask for more than that..

great to see the new boat get out and about,, soon it will know its way around the Passage by memory I reckon
    Tangles KFC

Some nice bream there mate, well done. Great to hear your new rig went well.