Thread: Seasickness - have you tried this one?

Re: Seasickness - have you tried this one?

yeah its a good one. My pop can't even stand on a floating pontoon without getting sick, But I took him out one day with his ear plugged with cotton wool and it did the trick.

I was told that you plug the opposite ear to whatever hand you use, ie right handed plug your left and vice versa.

Made the old bastard a bit deaf though considering his left is his 'good' ear! hahah

When I first moved to Cairns in 1986 I was dreadfully prone to sea sickness. I used to spew all over coral trout as I was pulling over the gunnel! I used to vow I would never go out again but as Flex said you can get your body used to it.

Your brain eventually learns what is going on and no longer sends messages to your gut and in some cases to your arse as well saying" Jetison all unnecessary cargo!!"

I havent been seasick in over ten years but I still take one at the start of an overnighter

Panther,
    I can't see the problem, if the fish go off the bite, just pull out the earplug ! 5 mins should give enough berley till you move to the next spot LOL
    Seriously thanks for the tip, I have never been see sick, but the wife ... put it this way see was once starting to feel sick when packing the boat in the driveway !
    Frank

My Missus has great sea legs, just amazes me, so Im real thankful I dont have to worry about that.

Nothin worse that getting 40k offshore and someone getting sick real early. I don't go in till everyone is sick! Tell them to get up in the bunks and sleep it off. Works for some

Ausfish Gold Member ThePinkPanther's Avatar

A hundred years I was coming back from Square Patch off Cape Moreton, the boat owner was doing about 25 knots in pretty rough seas beaten up by a NW and next thing we know is our sick fishing mate jumped straight over the side!!

No kidding! He reckoned he had had enough and would rather die than be seasick any longer!

Fortunately we were pretty close to our aiming point, the closest beach, and he swam to shore.

That is sick!!

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    I have been out in boats with some people obviously rather ill...is it as bad as these people have looked? I have never experienced any form of travel sickness..just curious as to the effects and do you feel better as soon as you get back on land?
    Yes. It is as bad as people look.
    I can remember getting crook just the once and it wasn't pleasant but the sickness went as quick as it came about 2 hours later.

My little brother took a computer guy out of Evans one day and ended up getting a new computer.
    The crook guy said he'd give anything to be on land again and my little brother needed a computer.
    Usually sympathy is not his strong point. He must of really needed a computer.

We told my nephew eating makes you feel better.
    He just made more egg and lettuce burley
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

went scuba diving on a charter at Airlie, onboard was a German bloke who could hardly speak any english.

first time on a boat apparently, he was spewin his guts up down in the little toilet before we even left the marina I think.
    2 hours travelling out he chucked non-stop. Due to language barrier we couldn't convince him to come above deck out of the 40deg heat of the dunny.
    4 hours snorkling/scuba in calm water behind the reef and the captain dragged him out in the last hour to "clean him off".

The poor bastard started to feel a bit better only for us to up anchor and headback....

Never seen someone so crook and pasty looking in my life.

The courtesy bus driver took him up to the hospital after we got dropped off. Severe dehydration I think. Im sure he wished he was dead

Apart from silicone plugs or cotton wool, would standard ear plugs work the same? If so, I will keep some on board for future use. The daughter gets sea sick.

the story about the guy jumping over board reminded me of my uncle, was an uncle toby's iron man back in the glory days so spent a lot of time paddling boards and skis.... took him out fishing and he spewed, caught the first two fish first drop, begged to go back in and jumped out in the seaway and swam to shore....walked to a phone and called his wife to come pick him up

Ausfish Platinum Member gr hilly's Avatar

so if i want to take my mrs fishing as she gets real sea sick i will need three ear plugs one for her and two for me and then i can still enjoy my fishing ill have to tell her i wear them all the time she has a punch like Tyson ha ha
    Hilly

Many years ago I took the then girlfriend fishing , whilst i was fishing she thouhgt sunbaking was a better idea . That was untill she laid back & closed her eyes I reckon within 2 mins she screamed "take me in " So I just told her the only thing that cures seasickness was a bit of hanky panky
    It worked wonders for about half an hour
    When she got crook again, I said Oh well lets do it again !!!!
    No such luck Had to take her back to shore . But at least I got lucky once
    Cheers AL

Sounds like a pretty good tip as I on occassion after a night with the pink bear can get a little bit crook ... so yep I will also carry some on board ...

More these days when we return back to the ramp after a few days out that I (we) get wobble ups ... I have even had the little lovely complain about needing to hold onto the bed to stop the movement ....

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    I have been out in boats with some people obviously rather ill...is it as bad as these people have looked? I have never experienced any form of travel sickness..just curious as to the effects and do you feel better as soon as you get back on land?
    all one can hope is that pinhead eventually gets the black plague or something else equally unpleasant - people who cant or never ever get sea sick are not thought of very kindly by mere mortals like me
    rob

Quote Originally Posted by two dogs View Post
    the story about the guy jumping over board reminded me of my uncle, was an uncle toby's iron man back in the glory days so spent a lot of time paddling boards and skis.... took him out fishing and he spewed, caught the first two fish first drop, begged to go back in and jumped out in the seaway and swam to shore....walked to a phone and called his wife to come pick him up
    I remember telling my father-in-law to drive me to the breakers and I'll swim to shore.
    Has anyone tried the compound chemists ... one advertises on ET and another in Bush and Beach.