I have a friend at Stanthorpe who is a Bowen Therapist - some sort of crack and stretch guy!
Anyhow, he vows and swears that if you block one ear with cotton wool then seasickness will be a thing of the past!
My missus is a great canary-in-a-coal-mine and gets sick even when I talk about going fishing.
OK, plugged her ear with some silicone ear plug stuff from the chemist and, yep, not the slightest sign of seasickness in swells just under the metre.
This type of sea usually has her producing copious amounts of quality berley but this time? Nothing? Not even a dribble or decent sized chunk of anything!
Bad news for the fish who love their hot din dins but definitely a winner in preventing sickness!
Worth a go and maybe a reply to this post with results!
That is on the assumption these winds ever go away!
THanks I will give that a whirl next time out as I hate that dry mouth bit with Travel Calm
Try Avomine, works for me. Kwells do nothing for me.
Marty.
I will have my team have a go at this.
I know sea sickness is about the reaction of the middle ear thingy which has to do with balance.
I use those silicone plugs to do laps in the olympic pool for fitness.
Could be just another snake oil theory but we.ll give it a go!!
That wouldn't happen to be Nev Winter would it?
If it is - he got the idea from my father in law - his brother in law - that does it when he comes out fishing with me.
He swears by it.
Gees...Brett's little story is definitely within the 6 degrees of separation isn't it.
I intend on living for-ever....so far so good
Might mention this to my mrs, but tell her a silicon plug for the mouth works better!
But in all honesty, I think it's more a placebo effect. Plug in the ear cannot stop the fluid in your inner-ear rings from moving and causing seasickness.Totally impossible.
One technique that has worked for me and a few others is time at sea. Getting your body to recognise its actually moving up and down.
I used to get sick in the bath, Until I spent everyday in a boat for 2 weeks at cape york.
Since then I hardly ever get seasick, unless my head in below deck in really rough weather. but even then its nothing bad.
I had 2 other mates come north the following years, after 2 weeks they are alot less prone to getting crook. So I think it helps alot.
If not, its a good excuse to go fishing for 2 weeks..
No Flex, nothing to do with stopping the movement of fluid, from memory it is more to do with interrupting the brains interpretation of normal sounds – it’s too busy trying to compensate and processes ‘irregular’ sound signals than worry about the motion the ears/balance fluid (and eyes) are telling the brain. Yeah PP, it does work, but I also read that it works best with the ‘one’ ear plug in the opposite ear to your ‘normal hand’. i.e. a right handed person wears it in their left ear and vice versa.
I’ve been using it on my crew for a few years when necessary, only trouble is trying to get the little mongrels to stop fiddling with it and actually keep it in their ear, like….rough seas for a while….blurp barph…”where’s your ear plug”…open hand “here”…"well what the hell is it doing there"…”my ear was itchy”…or…”it sounded funny”… Works on the missus too.
I have been out in boats with some people obviously rather ill...is it as bad as these people have looked? I have never experienced any form of travel sickness..just curious as to the effects and do you feel better as soon as you get back on land?
so your saying to stop my other halfs seasickness i need to go to bunnings and get some silicone sealant for her ear....need to be careful not to grab liquid nails......
________
Expert insurance
Yeh Bugman, it is Nev Winter!!
Real nice guy he and his wife Fay!
We met up with them on a week trip to Longreach last year and have been friends with them since.
Smart people they iz!
Yeah you feel terrible. really terrible. Kind of like being hung over. Children suffer worse than adults I feel if they are prone. First indication I used to find when getting crook was I'd get really tired.
If that starts, get up and about and stare hard at the horizon.
Also you dont instantly feel better when on land. The effect lasts a few hours afterwards I found. If really bad not until the next day
hey pinhead i took mate from south africa who was studying the same course as me out over the seaway few years back and as soon as we stopped to fish he was horribly sick. we got checked by fisheries and one bloke said said the best thing to give him was a knife to end it all and my mate just about agreed. when we got back to shore to fillet the fish myself and my grandad were starting to feel the days fishing a bit, my mate was annoyingly bright eyed and bushy tailed