D40 Navara

Thread: D40 Navara

D40 Navara

I'm after opinions on the D40 Navara as a tow vehicle. I have been offered a 2007 model 4 litre petrol auto with 75k on the clock for 20 grand. My boat/trailer all up is close to 2.5 tonne. Any opinions, good or bad, most welcome !
    And can anyone tell me how thirsty they are ?
    Cheers, Taz

Re: D40 Navara

They are very thirsty mate, even the diesels are with an auto behind them.

I get around 11L/100 with my diesel manual, the diesel autos are reporting figures in the 14/15L per 100 I believe. I'd hate to think what the petrol gets.

Good price on the car though, a diesel would be a lot more than that.

It will tow the load easily though.

Taz

I drive one for work (petrol auto). Yep thirsty 14.5L/100 on country driving and definately worse around city (never do enough to check actual number). The auto and petrol combo is a very good mix and much better than diesel auto D40 I had prior. They drive well, but need a small state to turn around in. Plenty of poke in the petrol and tows really well. If you intend to go crossing water in them, there is a major issue, but otherwise ok.

I agree with MAtt, the diesel auto is a waste of money. I got rid of mine as it couldn't drive past a petrol station. I have a diesel manual D40 and rate them on fuel and power.

Why Not

I got the D40 auto and get 12l/100km. Problem was, it took a $10000 warantee job to get it right. Plenty of power and considering that engine is pushing around 2.5t of car i think its doing pretty good. My consumption does not vary a huge amount with the boat on the back either (4.5m polycraft).

Me personally, I wont own a nissan again. That said, it now runs fine and the auto is fantastic. I just have a problem with nissan australia and village motors at petrie and redcliffe. Worse service I have ever had for the money you spend.

i have the turbo diesal auto pathfinder and it is also heavy.
    75 l tank for roughly 400km a tank.
    hilux duel cab turbo diesal i had previously was about 550 for the same amount of fuel.
    brother in law has the supercharged hilux tld and is getting like 300-330 kms from a tank...
    i'm going back to the hilux.petrol and gas for me this time.

Hi Taz,
    I have the auto diesel D40, i get 500km on a tank on the highway, i have a 3t boat, took it to fraser up, just needed a hand up over the headland, but anywhere else it was fine, your 2.5t boat wont be a problem,

This was taken from redbook
    Kerb Weight (kg)1930 Tare Mass (kg)1930 Gross Combination Mass (kg)5805 Gross Vehicle Mass (kg)2805 Pay Load (kg)875 Towing Braked (kg)3000 Towing Not Braked (kg)750 Wheel Base (mm)3200 Length (mm)5133 Width (mm)1850 Height (mm)1774 Track Front (mm)1570 Track Rear (mm)1570

Engine
    Grow old disgracefully

Leggsy,

Is that fuel consumption fair dinkum for a Pathfinder?

I have a TD5 Discovery 11 and just drove from Hay Point to Maryborough exactly 685k's for 68 litres.

Thanks for all the replies. I was able to borrow the Navara for a week and work out the fuel consumption, and also see how it towed the boat. Fuel usage for normal city driving was better than I expected, 335 k for 50 litres. That's 14.9 litres / 100 k.
    My 4.2TD Patrol gets around 13.5 litres / 100 k. When you take into consideration the higher cost of diesel ( here in Perth ) there is little difference in running costs.
    As for towing the boat, the Navara leaves the Patrol for dead. So I won't be giving the Navara back, I'll be handing over a cheque instead.
    Taz.

I must be the luckest D40 owner in the country when it comes to fuel ecomony, some off those figures posted are woefull.. At present i'm averaging 11lt/100 doing a city/hwy driving and towing the boat 15km each week.......

Turbo desiel/ auto

hey Jabba,

I'm with you......I get around the same consumption as you do.
    I've got a long range tank (145lts), and that gets me approx 1350kms, with a mixture of driving....town, country, and towing my 4.2m tinny!
    I'm pretty rapt with mine!!

Macca

Has anyone checked the pricing on the new D40 ST-X? You will be in for a shock. For the last four years a manual 2.5TD ST-X with t/bar, tint, and canopy has been around 45.5-47k (ABN). New one same spec ~51.5k We are talking Hilux pricing!!! Nissan must think they can match the Tojo name.

I was thinking that selling mine after the new model was released was a bad thing, but with that new pricing maybe not!
    Brendon

I have a D40 STX 2.5L Diesel Auto and get at 600km's around town, driving from Redcliffe to the city 5 days a week. apprx 86000kms on the clock at the moment.
    When i drove it to Hinchinbrook, i was getting at least 900kms a tank.
    Plenty of get up and go at times from the lights. Other times, the engine lags a bit, but then the turbo kicks in and takes off no worries.
    Never had an issue, let alone know i have my 4.6m aluminium centre console when towing it.
    Had enough of continual problems especially spongey brakes and being told they're ok and will stop if really jumped on.

The Real Andy, i broke a transmission line and had to get it towed to Village Motors Redcliffe to get it fixed at about 5pm a few weeks ago. It wasn't booked in or anything. They rang me to tell me they had received it, they rang me the next day to tell me the mechanics were looking at it, they even rang to tell me there would be a day delay due to illness through the company. The guy couldn't do enough for me. Never had that kind of service from anywhere i've dealt with. Never had so many phone calls to tell me how the problem was going. They even cleaned the outside of the car without even asking if i'd like it done.

Mine is being traded in on a new Toyota SR5 Petrol Auto 4wd dual cab due to the reliabilities the other guys in the company i've had.

Never enough time or days in the week to go fishing.

Mark you must have got lucky. I wont deal with village motors at all anymore. Redcliffe was better than Petrie, but unless you got up the service manager you got nothing.

When you drove it to hinchenbrook did you have the boat in tow? There is no way I would ever get 900kms from a tank. I will be interested in how far I get this time around when I head to Lucinda in September.

Brendon, I went out to buy the hilux and ended up with the navara. The new toyota at the time was a piece of junk. Now I wont buy either ever again. Will be looking for something else next time, maybe the mitsubishi.