Thread: Under Tray Rod Holders

Under Tray Rod Holders

Hey guys.

Im not keen on throwing rod holders on the roo bar and tying my rods back etc.
    I've seen people do long drives like that before. Reels covered in bugs (They didnt have reel protectors) rod tips smashed etc..

My plan is it use a long piece of PVC pipe about 4-5' in diametre then get some maybe 12' PVC with a taper (like a downpipe) to hold reels etc at the end.

In saying this, I've seen similar things before (water tanks and even to hold rifles)

Has anyone got any ideas or even photos to share. I can build things, but my mind isnt good at the creativity side of the house.

"There is certainly something in fishing that tends to produce a gentleness of spirit, a pure serenity of mind."

Re: Under Tray Rod Holders

Do you need to travel with the reels on? If not, you could just use ordinary pipe, glued on end cap one end and screw on or lockable on the other, secured to the roof racks/lader racks or the underside of the tray. Something like this http://www.adilockablecap.com.au/ (I have nothing to do with this mob, was just the first ones I found on the net.)

Hope this helps.

All I want is to catch MORE legal fish!

just use 8ft of 90mm pvc pipe should hold about 5 rods. Take the reels off and just use it only to hold rods. Dont forget to cap one end off and put a screwed cap on the other with a lock to keep the honest ones out..

Great minds hey!
    All I want is to catch MORE legal fish!

cheers guys.

Thats pretty much what Im talking about.

I really want to be lazy and leave the reels on though.

Might have to jig it, or just stop being lazy

"There is certainly something in fishing that tends to produce a gentleness of spirit, a pure serenity of mind."

if you have the space under the centre of the tray why not knock up an insert that fits in there, I've seen long draws that slide out from there so you could throw in not only rods with the reels still attached(in a partition) but also your tackle and whatever else you want.

I was going to fit LPG tanks under there but alas the smallest available is 270mm, space is only 200mm, so a slide out tray is looking like going in there
    If You Can't Run With The Dogs....... Stay On The Porch

Quote Originally Posted by Kevaclone View Post
    if you have the space under the centre of the tray why not knock up an insert that fits in there, I've seen long draws that slide out from there so you could throw in not only rods with the reels still attached(in a partition) but also your tackle and whatever else you want.
    Like these
    http://www.blueys.com.au/loading.html#underbodydrawers
    I have a similar dodad and they're great but the dust gets in very easily.

The tubes rub all the sides off the rods and can damage guides IF they're not all wrapped up in rags and if you couldn't be bothered to take reels off then I reckon the wrapping isn't a possibility either.
    Especially so if the rods are graphite.
    What about a full length tool box on one side??
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

I use a 'tubey grip' socks at the moment. We use them at work for ankle injuries etc, best thing is its thick enough, you can cut it to whatever length and it comes in different diametres eg, elbows, knees etc.

I've already got a huge tool box across the back.

Im starting to formulate a plan.

Oh good.
    A plan

Don't forget to tell/show your plan when it's hatched.
    Is the tube your talking about similar to the stubby cooler/wetsuit type tube?

Those tubes are ideal as a rod/reel protector.
    I use the ones I'm supposed to wear on my hands and elbow as reel bags. Work really well they do
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

I tried all that. I got a 4-5metre length of 90mm pvc with screw on caps both ends. Never use it. Its just sitting around the side of my house. I just buy 2 piece rods these days (Beach and estaury) and using valcro I attatch them to my overhead grab rails inside my 4x4 wagon. Safe and dry.

Quote Originally Posted by BenDover View Post
    I tried all that. I got a 4-5metre length of 90mm pvc with screw on caps both ends. Never use it. Its just sitting around the side of my house. I just buy 2 piece rods these days (Beach and estaury) and using valcro I attatch them to my overhead grab rails inside my 4x4 wagon. Safe and dry.
    Yeah, thats exactly what I do now as well. I can just squeeze a couple of 5'6"baitcasters inside the Cruiser, forward of the cargo barrier.
    Bit hard in a ute though......

Roo.

True. A ute would be harder. I cant remember what I used to do with my 4x4 ute. But I do remember going all the way upto the light house at fraser only to find a box full off camping and recovery gear had been bouncing ontop of my only rod and crushed it flat.

I take it its a 4x4 ute Pridey?

Yeah its a dual cab, tray back Hiliux.

Although the back seats are (on long trips) either taken up by fridge, duffle bag or boat lights.

No, tubey grip is like a pressure bandage. Often used post operations or for sprained ankles etc. Its not waterproof or anything, just like an open ended sock that you can make as long as you like.