Thread: Best Side Imaging Combo for Shallow Water

Best Side Imaging Combo for Shallow Water

I'm after a new sounder GPS combo. Have been offered a Lowrance HDS 5 at a reduced rate due to the death (out of warranty) of my current unit.

During my deliberations, I learnt for the first time about side imaging units and the have got my interest. We mostly fish for Barra and Jacks around snags / structure in rivers and creeks in the NT.

Since I have a new boat (Bluefin Wrangler) on order, thought it might be nice to match it with a better unit than the one I had and have been offered. I'm figuring that a larger screen will make the side imaging more valuable and easier to interpret.

As a newcomer to this technology, I'm struggling to match like with like between the manufacturers. The brands that do SI seem to be Lowrance and Humminbird. Humminbird has been around a while, with Lowrance being pretty new to the technology.

Am I right in assuming the HDS 5( with Structure Scan) competes with the 798 SI and has the same size screen? Other 'match ups' are:
    HDS 7 with 898 SI
    HDS 8 with 998 SI

It is pretty clear that 'bigger is better' with this technology when it comes to screen size, so (price permitting), I'm leaning towards the HDS 8 and equivalent.

From my reading of some other forums (mostly US), it is suggested that the Lowrance has a more clear and distinctive image with SI. Can anyone confirm this?

The HDs seem to have had some early teething problems, including fogging of screens, but I can't find any reference to this in recent units. Does that sound right?

Lowrance has issues with post warranty repairs (the situation I'm currently in). How does Humminbird stack up here?

I'm most interested in making sure I am comparing the right units and understanding the difference in SI clarity. But other advice on this decision is welcome.

Unfortunately I can't drop down to the retailer to have a look due to my remote location, so any assistance would be appreciated.

Norm C

Re: Best Side Imaging Combo for Shallow Water

Mate I have been using Lowrance gear for a while now and have owned a HDS7 and upgraded to a HDS8 and have been using HDS for well over 12 months now and also have the lss1.

I can't comment on the hbirds as I have only used them after they first came out but side by side comparision shows better detail on the Lowrance.

As for issues and warrantys well thats been done to death in another thread so no need to go over that one here I think.

basically the one tyhing I can recommend is gettgin the biggest unit you can possibly afford as with side imaging, the bigger the screen the clear it is.

I have a heap of screen shots taken so look for some posts from me and have a look.

Another member that is quite happy to pass on info is Toddy_again as he a Hbird but has used Lowrance before and will be able to give you some good info.

Lee

Thanks Lee. I agree that no rehash of the Lowrance service issues is required. I'm familiar with it (and have experienced it with their lack of repair facility) and will take it into consideration.

Did you change from the HDS 7 to the HDS 8 just for the bigger screen or were there other reasons? I note that the HDS 8 has a 600 x 800 display, while the 998c has 480 x 800. Not sure this makes much difference to the display quality, but in theory, it should.

From my (net based) review of Australian prices, it seems the Humminbirds are a bit cheaper than the Lowrance with Structure Scan in the smaller sizes, but when you get up to the HDS 8 and above, the Lowrance is cheaper. Does that sound right.

Norm C

Norm to be honest the screen shots that I see from the HDS units just blow my mind.But thats not saying the Humminbirds are inferior.Some of the shots from the 900 series Humminbird units from OS are unbelievable also and even my little 798 sometimes has me scratching my head at what I have been missing out on for years.Sounders have gone ahead in leaps and bounds in the last couple of years and I love it.
    They both have their pros and cons.
    Personally I reckon the Lowrances have better definition.DI and SI.
    Humminbirds are easier to install.1 transducer vs 2.
    Humminbirds are a bit better priced.(I think)
    We are not mentioning after sales service.
    This is my opinion.Other peoples may differ.

I hope that helps some.

Toddy

PS more screen pics please Lee.

Quote Originally Posted by NormC View Post
    Thanks Lee. I agree that no rehash of the Lowrance service issues is required. I'm familiar with it (and have experienced it with their lack of repair facility) and will take it into consideration.

Did you change from the HDS 7 to the HDS 8 just for the bigger screen or were there other reasons? I note that the HDS 8 has a 600 x 800 display, while the 998c has 480 x 800. Not sure this makes much difference to the display quality, but in theory, it should.

From my (net based) review of Australian prices, it seems the Humminbirds are a bit cheaper than the Lowrance with Structure Scan in the smaller sizes, but when you get up to the HDS 8 and above, the Lowrance is cheaper. Does that sound right.

Norm C
    Norm I upgraded for -

* screen size
    * pixel increase
    * the ability to have 3 way split screens
    * Addition of Soft Keys (these make fine tunning and general operation a breeze)

I think that once you get up to HDS8 and HDS10 they become better value when compared to the Hbird equivelant.

The bigger rthe screen, when coupled with the better pixel count, the better the resolution on the screen, hence a clearer picture.

Quote Originally Posted by Toddy_again View Post
    PS more screen pics please Lee.
    I don't have any sorry, have you?

Lee

Norm
    try the site below .
    #############.com

I purchased mine from them after a mate had to return his Lowrance HDS8. from the time he posted it back to getting a brand new one in return was 11 working days, no bullshit that the Ausi dealers have been putting out. As u can see they have a 4 year INTERNATIONAL warranty on the units. i purchased a 997si and it has worked fine out of the box. yes the pixels are not as many that the lowrance units have but it is a matter of mastering the units capabilities more than how many pixels.
    I use mine mainly in ofshore reefs to 30 meters after that SI;s are a bit of a loss. setting one up on a deep v boat is a bit of a hassle and most american sites suggest using 2 tranys as the solution. In water with a bit of swell and chop u do get some lines through them when your rolling but in quiter waters the pics are clear as and u can see just about every nook and cranny of the reef. downimaging i am not really used to as yet . all the lovely pics of fallen trees that are put in posts arent really about in saltwater. i have a few pics of outer reefs but none on the inshore reefs at about 10>20m, im not very good at adding pics to the arcade.
    Personaly i would love a Furuno in the same size and Side imaging if they ever get around to making one as the set up to tune the 620 is great pity they dont have a side image. cheers

bugger
    i dont know why the web site will not show up but it is
    j and h products

I have put up a heap of images from saltwater and it just so happens that both myself and toddy_again have used both Lowrance and Humminbird over the same exact peice of water which was in saltwater.

If you need some screen shots of the quality in saltwater there are quite a few users of both makes who can show thier units capability if requested.

Lee

8astripey, I might be looking at it wrong, but the way I read it, the HDS 8 is $1,598. Shipping (cheapest method) is $83.30. GST applies due to overall value. After conversion it A$, I calculate a total of around $2,200. CH Smith had the same unit for $2239 with free shipping last time I looked.

J and H looks like a good business though and their extended warranty plans would be attractive to a lot of people.

Norm C

Quote Originally Posted by leelee View Post
    Norm I upgraded for -

I don't have any sorry, have you?
    Haha...I have a couple of new ones.Most of the time I just go ...WOW!!!!....and forget about the saving it.

I saw some ripper stuff a few weeks ago with some 4-5" bait hard up against a bank that was just brilliant.But as above....
    Like I say I only have a couple.I have just started looking at Humviewer.You can record a whole days events on the SD and review it later taking stills and making waypoints on structure.An excellent program but I dont know what I will do with it.

Toddy

Sorry to hijack the thread.

Toddy

Thanks to Lee and toddy, They have explained pros and cons for both. I doubt there is much to fault about either brand.

I got the Hbird 798c SI from poor fish (on E..bay)....to my door for under $1000. Not sure what the equivilant HDS is worth. I love it. still toying with the settings, but so far so good. I wished I had the bigger screen though.

Cheers Steve
    I dont have ADHD......ohh look a squirrell !!!

Thumbs up Re: Best Side Imaging Combo for Shallow Water

Norm
    when i purchased my unit a year ago the A$ was about 94c us. it was delivered in 7 days and cost $1900 A with a further $310 for the C map card. Locally the best i could get from 2 agents in town was $3400 and 2 weeks delivery + $340 for card, the Lowrance guy had a hds5 going for $1200. best i could find was in Brisbane for 997si was $2900 at the time and a wait of 2 weeks . first time i ever purchased overseas i thought maybe a hassle but it came through without any import duty or extra payments , go figure but im not complaining.
    as for leelee and toddy_again with their pics it just shows how good these units are in finding what is down there and is simply amazing compared to what was about only 5 to 10 years ago. i can still remember the hassle of changing the old paper chart from my furuno in a swell and cursing not checking on it before we left the harbour. mind you those old furunos where good and with the squelch set just right on the 27 meg you could here the pings of the bottom when you where over hard ground.
    really great pics these guys are getting only wish i could get out more often to fish. blowing 25 knts again and looks like it will be for the next weekend

You can buy a local HDS8 with transducer for just under $2500.

Grand_Marlin from this site supplys and or fits HDS units so contact him and see what he can do. I am pretty sure he offers a good price to ausfish members still. Send him a PM

Quote Originally Posted by 8astripey View Post
    Norm
    as for leelee and toddy_again with their pics it just shows how good these units are in finding what is down there and is simply amazing compared to what was about only 5 to 10 years ago. i can still remember the hassle of changing the old paper chart from my furuno in a swell and cursing not checking on it before we left the harbour. mind you those old furunos where good and with the squelch set just right on the 27 meg you could here the pings of the bottom when you where over hard ground.
    really great pics these guys are getting only wish i could get out more often to fish. blowing 25 knts again and looks like it will be for the next weekend
    Thanks mate. Technology has moved forward so quickly and yes the wind is being a pain right now

Lee