Thread: BP Diesel causing knock?

BP Diesel causing knock?

I have a 2007 turbo diesel hilux, for a couple of months or so the old girl idelled roughly and had a noticable knock when driving and the engine was not under load.

I have my car serviced at Toyota every 10 to 12 weeks because I knock up the K's. I haven't asked but I assume they haven't changed oils. I have taken the truck back to Toyota twice to identify the problem but nothing seemed to be wrong.

I was using BP diesel at the time of the problems and then switched to Shell, not because I thought fuel was the problem but because of a change of route to work. Since swithching to Shell diesel I haven't noticed the knock.

Has anyone else had dramas with Bp fuel or is it just a coincidence that the knock seems to have stoped with the change of fuel. For the record the I was using three different BP service stations, BP on Bribe Island and both BP's on the highway at Morayfield.

Re: BP Diesel causing knock?

Not sure where you are based.

If in Queensland then Shell would get there fuel from either the Caltex or BP refineries, so there is a 50% chance that it was from a different refinery. If the next truck load to that station is from the same refinery is anyones guess.

What difference the different refineries make I am not sure.

I suspect there are big differences in diesel fuels one gets from servos around the place. My 4.2 used to produce a fairbit of smell and smoke when warming up and cooling down before shut off which is the only time I'd be out of the vehicle to smell it. Anyhow some time ago I changed to a truck / commercial outlet instead who claim that they import their own diesel for all their outlets and there appears to be a lot less of the smell and smoke. Economy still seems similar; yet another mystery of our times............

PS By the way I stopped using BP years ago when they went super green and took all the sulphur out of their diesel.
    What could go wrong.......................

Mate it's one of those situations where without a fully equipped lab to do real time testing one needs to take not just others but their own personal experiences with a grain of salt.

I try and use BP diesel for my truck because it seems to work better in it than others I have tried but still i do not even trust my experiences fully.

Filling the other car up with ULP at Mobil today because we have a few cents off voucher, I don't like Mobil as I think the petrol car uses too much fuel when that brand is in the tank.

It's a dogs breakfast on fuels out there, it's simply not worth enough money for those independent to give us motorists the good oil via standardised testing.

When the tank of fuel your using now is VERY close to empty refill with BP (from a different service station), would be interesting to hear if the problem repeats itself.

With fuel, Especially diesel get it from a truck stop or a site that sells a lot of diesel
    diesel sitting in tanks for long periods does go off

As for the knock, were you using the BP Ulimate Diesel or normal?
    a knock may not always be a bad thing, means it's banging harder

just because they import their own diesel doesn't make it better
    Australian produced diesel will always meet the minimum standard(as good as that is), what standards are the imported fuel at?????????

I can tell you in QLD I will never use Freedom fuel of any sort(our local servo is Freedom and they only have E10 petrol or B20 diesel). Once Freedom have their own terminal up and running they will be Importing most of their fuel, they can import it from Indonesia cheaper than getting it from Caltex. But at least the Caltex fuel is a known product

Kev
    If You Can't Run With The Dogs....... Stay On The Porch

Quote Originally Posted by Chimo View Post
    I suspect there are big differences in diesel fuels one gets from servos around the place. My 4.2 used to produce a fairbit of smell and smoke when warming up and cooling down before shut off which is the only time I'd be out of the vehicle to smell it. Anyhow some time ago I changed to a truck / commercial outlet instead who claim that they import their own diesel for all their outlets and there appears to be a lot less of the smell and smoke. Economy still seems similar; yet another mystery of our times............

PS By the way I stopped using BP years ago when they went super green and took all the sulphur out of their diesel.
    Govt regs state that all diesel must have a low sulphur content. Down to 10ppm at the moment, so not only BP have this but all others.

Quote Originally Posted by Chimo View Post

I had some nuthead come upto me a few weeks ago at a highway truck stop. And tell me that the diesel pumps here (high flow) are for trucks only. He did point at a sign saying "no cars or 4wds". I asked him if he worked here to get my message accross. And told him its a truck mate, as you have to get a run up just to get into the thing. There was 1 truck and about 8 pumps. I asked the cashier inside and they said it was fine. As they where the ONLY diesel pumps in the place.

Kev

I hear what your saying, i did however notice some differnce re the smell and smoke thing. One of the guys at the outlet told me they were going to put bio diesel in too but the truckies told them that if they did they would not use it. Trucks are the main customers so no bio! Re the Aus standards, I agree but why does there seem to be such a differnce between servo outlets?

Rowanda

I know that all are now running low sulphur now but BP moved first and at that stage i hadn't done the injector pump seals and they didn't need to get replaced (ie started leaking) for yrs after BP changed and I went elsewhere. Obviously I got caught out eventually but that was several years later.

When I do long highway trips I always head to the depots or truck stop pumps to get diesel. just tell him you'll make sure you wont hold up any truckies.......... better than doing a face off and coping a tyre lever and you still get the hi flo possibly fresher diesel.

What could go wrong.......................

I've got a 2007 turbo hilux as well, the D4 engine 2006-2007 had quite a few problems with the injectors, (Prado,Hilux) I had the same problem in mine and toyota replaced all the injectors under warranty. They will try any thing to get out of changing them

Check out the link from pradopoint. the knock started around 30000 km for my hilux and heaps of people are having the same issue

http://www.pradopoint.com/viewtopic....10330fd66ac4a7

Hmmm
    wanna hear a diesel really knocking hard
    drop some Naphthalene into the fuel or blend up some diesel with a small amount of petrol, if you are lucky you might even see a bit of flame from the exhaust

or spray some "Start Ya Bastard" into a hard to start old 2L engine

I forgot to say in my previous post that they redesigned/modified the new injectors for the Hilux/Prado D4 to suit australia's poor quality diesel (BP ultimate diesel excepted) as these engines were designed for europe and they have cleaner diesel.

the injector replacement is a case by case, they didn't issue a recall as each injector is worth a little over $1200 each. I had to fight to get them changed.

the dealers always cover there Ass and claim they don't have any clue of the problem with the issue. you just have to push them, armed with the info in that link, they can't say No

do you have the knock first thing in the morning and after 5 minutes the knock is gone?

Quote Originally Posted by Meherio View Post
    I have a 2007 turbo diesel hilux, for a couple of months or so the old girl idelled roughly and had a noticable knock when driving and the engine was not under load.

I have my car serviced at Toyota every 10 to 12 weeks because I knock up the K's. I haven't asked but I assume they haven't changed oils. I have taken the truck back to Toyota twice to identify the problem but nothing seemed to be wrong.

I was using BP diesel at the time of the problems and then switched to Shell, not because I thought fuel was the problem but because of a change of route to work. Since swithching to Shell diesel I haven't noticed the knock.

Has anyone else had dramas with Bp fuel or is it just a coincidence that the knock seems to have stoped with the change of fuel. For the record the I was using three different BP service stations, BP on Bribe Island and both BP's on the highway at Morayfield.

I need to read up on this but I'm pretty sure you can't get knock in a diesel the way you can from degraded fuel in a petrol.

So what you might be hearing is something else that sounds like knock.

Some possibles:

One stuffed injector not delivering the right mixture, but not blocked completely, therefore it's along for the ride but the crankshaft is not enjoying this.

Defect in the engine ECU which is causing firing of one cylinder to close down intermittently. This is unlikely because when an ECU fails it is usually terminal and the dealer can pick it up on the diagnostic tools.

Exhaust blockage: It could be a failure in the catalyst or a muffler plate falling over but the increase in back-pressure can cause a knocking like sound. You might have noticed some clatter coming from the exhaust when the engine is under load.

Engine timing is out - but you have it regularly maintained by a Toyota dealer so it should be spot on, yeah? If this is correct all you filters are clean and allowing full fuel and air flow.

I'm pretty sure Diesels don't knock. It's something else and it might be serious.

White Pointer

Nahh diesels do knock
    in fact it's in their nature to do it since the ignition timing isn't variable like a petrol engine. Diesel burns much faster than petrol when it does go bang which is why you don't normally inject diesel BTDC

a badly adjusted injector pump will make one knock real bad
    This is of course on older mechanical injected engine

The newer EFI engine have variable injection times and durations,

Stopped using BP diesel years ago when it started destroying fuel pump seals.

Stopped using BP petrol when they stopped selling normal fuel (IE Std fuel with no ethanol in it)

I find Shell diesel works best for me.

I just did a 3000km round trip to the snow, I filled up with BP up here before I left and got it serviced at the same time (not at bp) when we left I noticed it was really 'tappetty" kind of sounded like a bad ping in a petrol motor. the whole way down I was stressing the mechanic had done something different to it. I filled up with BP again down there, same thing. I even disconnected the battery to put the car into learn mode to see if it would make it any better.

I filled up with caltex half way home and again yesterday and it is a completely different engine, smooth and quiet. No knock, no pinging sounds.

I won't use BP again either now.

Just out of interest though, I got my best fuel economy going down by about 1/2L per 100, could have more to do with different roads etc though.