. Give me the jap stuff anyday, they are known for all things reliable plus have a better thoroughbred than merc.[/quote]
they corrode quicker than the merc as well
Ken oath I will be jelous!! I have sort of talked myself out of a big boat for the time being. Seems a waste of money considering the amount of use it will get at this point in time. I am just about to purchase a 25' trailer yacht to race in next season, so that will keep me happy for the moment, and at 20k its a lot easier to justify.
As for zuke v muck. Them zukes are tough motors. Gotta wonder why they rescue mobs prefer them over the black anchor. Plus fly by wire just means more things to break when you least need it too. And might I add, its like comparing a harley to jap motorbike. Give me the jap stuff anyday, they are known for all things reliable plus have a better thoroughbred than merc.
. Give me the jap stuff anyday, they are known for all things reliable plus have a better thoroughbred than merc.[/quote]
they corrode quicker than the merc as well
Tim,
I fitted a couple of 150 Hondas to a 27 powercat last year.. it was a heavy sucker of a boat (dry storage in a marina 4 Ton) We ran 15 inch props and they ran out to the rev limiter
150s would be nice on a 2500 but if the 150's are the same weight as the 175's I would go the 175s
The 27 we did was very low in the rear end, I wouldn't like to leave the engines all the way down in a bit of swell drifting or at anchor
Retired Honda Master Tech
$200k..........geez I would be mulling for a while longer............and in my budget that would be about another 50yrs.
is anyone going to come up with some first hand experience with the performance of these things compared to its competitors in this size ? how many have they built, you don't see to many about, they are very well finished but how do they go ? yes bloody exxxy but alot of boat and finish for the dough
Actually once you add a trailer and electronics, you're looking more in the $230-240K region...
But I suspect, as with all boat builders, that the money is in the accessories. That, also, is where the razor blade will be used. If I can get it down to 200ish I reckon it's a good boat for the price (pending a test or two).
The tunnel slap is something I have read about elsewhere, and that must be checked for.
The 'zukes weigh the same in 150 and 175.
I must remind myself that this is a larger, more powerful, longer range, better featured and more comfortable tub than my CC685 was. Thus the money has to be more...
tim
Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.
Gday Tim,
A mate of mine has a 30 hardtop / 200 HPDI's.
They have had it for about 5 years now and still love it.
For their fishing (go fast 40 - 100 NM out, reef fish, go fast home) they think it is perfect. Apparently a really great ride but I have not been for a run.
I have crawled all over the boat and agree with them is is a great looking, well finished boat.
steve
At 25 foot I reckon you will get tunnel slap in most cats. Its not as bad as people make out, its just different to a mono.
Yeah, bigger boat will be the victim (and the prize) of Business growth. I'm also not going to extend as far as I have previously, because I think the future Business outlook has potential downside. The berth job is now 4 or 5 years away, but I should be able to make this baby happen, and she'll do the job well for a while.
Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.
Hi,
My family owned a power cat 268 on a trailer several years ago. It hammered really hard in a head sea at sounding speed 4kts The tunnel used to thump that bad we always tried to qtr the sea to find our fish or it jarred your back.
The boat was a sportsman without the fancy sink and seat with 2 x 200hp mercs.
It was brilliant at rest but motors were very low to water. Travelling at speed once you got it up and doing what cats do it was a pleasure to travel in.
We fished some horrible weather with our mates in mono hulls saying they "copped a flogging" that night but we hardly noticed a thing.
Chooky
$200,000 odd would get a pretty good excavator I reckon.
Or a pretty good tipper.
Or a good tipper and dog.
I intend on living for-ever....so far so good
Finga - you make a good point.
Opportunity cost of a $200,000 is huge
Invest in superannaution and hmmm $$$$$$$$
bank interest is 6% which is $12,000 already
Buy an Excavator and have a return on capital of 30%.. hmmmmm $60,000
While a boat only depreciates and requires huge amounts of attention..
If i had that coin. It's boat buying as i work to live not live to work .
Gday Tim,
Have you been for a few Cat rides in bad conditions? Are you happy with the wierdo Cat tipping/healing/diving a shoulder in following sea behaviour?
It is all a bit freaky when you are used to a deep v mono.
Don't underestimate the tunnel slap at trolling speed and at anchor. It drives me mental!
Other than that, they sure ride nice in the bay chop at great speed and they are a cool looking machine with a great fit out as you mention.
Good luck with it.
Myles