Thread: Help Needed - Best of Both Worlds

Help Needed - Best of Both Worlds

Applied for a job that I am reasonably confident of getting (though I have come that conclusion many times before only to be disappointed). The problem I have is, if I get this job I will have to update my vehicle. Every job I have had since I was about 25 has included a company car - this one doesnt - and it will be a daily commute from Scarborough to Archerfield and back.

Some of you may remember a thread I put up some time ago that helped me to decide on buying the Pajero that is my current ride...and I thank everyone for their input on that. I have been more than happy with the Paj. Reality is though - its a 94 model - though its running ok - there are things that need replacing (through general wear and as you would expect from a car with 250,000km on the clock) that I could get away with not replacing for a while if I use it as it was intended to be used (pottering around the Peninsula to go fishing, the odd trip to the beach, towing the boat to the ramp), but it was never intended to be a vehicle to do a daily commute. It is a petrol model and I figure its going to cost me a fortune in fuel as well as speeding up the old girls demise.

I dont really want to get a second car just to commute (then i gotta find somewhere to store the Paj during the week). And the extra statutory costs arent appealing.

Do I just go for a later model Paj but in a diesel, a Prado diesel or do you have other suggestions on appropriate vehicles.

My deal breakers are : has to be a 4wd, must be auto, reasonably comfy ride, towing ability for 2000kg (and i mean ability not just rating), proven reliability. And I dont really like utes of any description. I am not a brand snob as I have owned over the years Toyos, Nissans, Mitzis and Jackaroos....and was not really disappointed with any of them.

Budget will probably be about $20k.

All input appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by sleepygreg; 10-06-2010 at 11:00 PM. Reason: poor choice of words

Re: Help Needed - Best of Both Worlds

Hi Greg
    When they hit the decks I'll be having a serious look at a Great Wall single cab ute. The wagon doesn't look half tempting either.

For those bucks you might find a landy discovery about. As far as being economical and following those traits, you are barking up a very tall tree indeed. I would be rethinking a small micro car for travelling to Archerfeild daily in. Keep the Paj for your weekend pleasures.

I would wholely recomend the deisel Prado, I have not driven the Paj though I hear they are very good. I find the prado both economical and comfortable. Best of both worlds really comfortable and a capable 4wd. The only problem may be the budget, they are a little pricey. Jack may be on the money.

Good Luck
    Daisy

Ausfish Gold Member

You won't get a D4D prado for that - and probably not a very recent diesel Pajero either ... would be looking at nearly 10 year old diesels.
    I'd probably suggest a 4L petrol Prado ... haven't looked lately but a very early 120 series might be had for not much over $20k? Pointless getting the older 120 series diesel if you ask me as they used nearly as much fuel as the 4L petrol and had only about half the power.

I'd look to a Jackaroo 3.0TD. You could probably find a SE model for a little extra comfort. I had one of these and regret ever selling it for the Rodeo

Keeping me fingers crossed for you on the job prospect buddy.I also reckon a Disco,shite loads of vehicle for your money for no other reason that there re-sale is average at best but certainly good vehicles.

Steeler

DoNotFeedTheTrollsAandBelligerent

Thanks for the input so far guys.

Have to clarify something. I am a realist ...so I am not expecting to get a 4wd that does 6l/100km. Was thinking of something that would do about 10-11/100km. I know how much diesel is - and it doesnt vary much, but the fluctuation in unleaded is driving me nuts. I wont touch a normally aspirated diesel...sis had a patrol that was a 4.2 (I think) diesel....it was a slug and it used as much fuel as my 4.2 petrol patrol of the same vintage.

I had a Jackaroo as a company car (SE Spec) and it was petrol. very nice piece of kit it was - but im glad the company was paying for the fuel, but unfamiliar with the diesel. Worth considering.

Have always liked the Prado....but agree that they are exxy.

Cousin had a Disco 2 TDi....very impressed by it....concerned about the cost of things going wrong with them though (please allay my fears).

I am not mechanically inclined (not ignorant either) so "fixing it yourself to save money" is not an option. (I think my formative years and having a father who insisted on me being able to completely strip and rebuild an engine by the time I was 13, and constantly working on cars on the weekends - then spending a few years racing cars on the club circuit turned me off that sort of thing).

I am NOT a micro car person....I feel uncomfortable driving my mothers RAV4 cos it doesnt feel big enough...especially in city traffic. Plus I have an issue of where to keep the extra vehicle.

I am also not expecting to get a car that is only a couple of years old for this price. This is a stepping stone....I will work my way up the food chain as the years pass and the income accumulates. Just need something to fullfill immediate needs for maybe the next 12 months.

It would be great if I could get the fuel usage for the suggested vehicles - city cycle that is.

Greg get what you want and fit LPG.
    The out of pocket cost counting Govenment Rebate is about $1200?.
    That way you can run a 6cly at the price of a 4cly .
    Worth a look

Catch the train. Stuff the traffic

That would be a real prick of a commute from Scarb to Archerfield and back.
    I'd do my nut I reckon
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

I've got sort of the same story as you but just different, my work ute is meant for work , towing the boat and going to the tip, alot of the time I need to run around and quote and get materials list, I've temporarily solved the problem with a motorbike ! cheap, economy,low rego,easy to store/park, , it still needs some work to make it road worthy, it's a yamaha xt 350. but will be fun too.

If you've got 20k to spend I'd think there would be heaps of great options for you, what about anouther pajero? newer with turbo diesel 4 cyl, with the disco some being 5 cyl , main roads round it off to being a 6 cyl,
    good luck with your new motorbike

I guess maybe I would look for a really, really good 80 series Turbo diesel and keep the change from your budget for other "stuff", they are scarce, but still attainable if you have the money ready and are prepared to look around, my current old 80 std Diesel is getting on a bit now with 450K on the clock and I was thinking of looking for another one with low K's, it has been such a good car to own I have had it for 17 years now) and not spent a cent on repairs, only routine maintenance, my daughter has a 100 series, and while it is OK, (it is heaps bigger inside) I don't think it as good as the 80, or as mentioned look for a turbo Prado or Pajero if you want a "smaller" car, not too sure what would be easiest to find.

Hey Greg, i've got a 2006 Pajero diesel.

4 cylinder rego
    10 - 11 l/100 around town ( I don't baby it )
    Very comfortable
    Parks easier than a commodore wagon
    Paid a bit over 20 for it 18 months ago with 150,000 km on it and have not had an ounce of trouble.

Ausfish Platinum Member 4x4frog's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Tickleish View Post
    Hey Greg, i've got a 2006 Pajero diesel.

4 cylinder rego
    10 - 11 l/100 around town ( I don't baby it )
    Very comfortable
    Parks easier than a commodore wagon
    Paid a bit over 20 for it 18 months ago with 150,000 km on it and have not had an ounce of trouble.

Was going to go down the get a small car line too, but you seem against that for your own reasons.
    Geez, you couldn't go wrong with a '06 Pajero Diesel for that money. I'd have thought they'd be more than that.

it was an ex company car, i knew the owner & the driver so prob got it a bit cheaper than usual.

Mitsubishi offered them 19k trade in on it.