Thread: Yamaha 150 4 stroke Vs Etec 150

Yamaha 150 4 stroke Vs Etec 150

Hi,
    Ok, there is probably no real answer to this question but I suppose I am just throwing out a question and seeing what response I get.

I am updating to a Haines Hunter 575 Profish (replaced 580 Breeze).
    I am coming out of a Haines Hunter 470 Breeze with a 90 Etec.
    More than happy with the Etec no matter what negativity I hear, mine has been great - no complaints what so ever.

This is the situation.
    I want nothing else than a HH 575 Profish as it totally suits my requirements.
    However I am now open to motor selection but did initially favour Etec based on current ownership/experience.

I have decided to buy my new boat from a HH dealer that exclusively deals with Yamaha which made me consider a Yamaha 150 4 stroke. If I insist on a 150 Etec I would need to select an Etec dealer to have them fit the motor only or go interstate (which I do not want to do) to deal with a HH/Etec dealer.

I have taken off my Etec "rose coloured glasses" and tried to view the motor comparison fairly and to be honest when I search Websites near and far there seems to be more support for a Yamaha 150 4 stroke than a 150 Etec which now has me totally confused - I am now leaning to Yamaha and will most likely go that way?

I am located in Victoria and to be honest, from an ongoing servicing point of view, I am happy with the local Etec and Yamaha dealers therefore competent servicing is not an issue.

I understand the servicing cost expectations for both engines over time and the 2 stroke Vs 4 stroke arguement. WITHIN REASON I am not really interested in "hole shot" or "top end speed" - I just want the motor that BEST SUITS my rig and application, and that is general fishing.

As stated, initially I was 90% sure on Etec, now I am open minded (and confused) but now favouring Yamaha.

Any suggestions or experiences (facts) with either motor on a comparable rig? - be polite please!!

Thanks.
    Nick.

Re: Yamaha 150 4 stroke Vs Etec 150

Mate if the etec works for you then why change?

Suppose its like everything ... Similarly in loyalty from personal experience, I'm a Honda head but I'm sure theres stacks of blokes who either don't like them or who have had a bad experience with them!

So IMO same same as rcfisher .... Its all horses for courses ..... If your happy with your immediate past experience with brand, service etc why change? ..

I used to have a 175 etec, now have 250 yamaha four stroke, my brother has 150 yamaha four stroke.

If you run the etec for 300 hours between services and add the cost of the oil you burn, it will cost you about the same amount as running the four stroke and servicing every hundred hours (but burning no two stroke oil.)

As I still serviced the etec every 100 hours by choice, the four stroke is actually cheaper to run for me. My first service on the 250 yamaha four stroke at Wynnum marine actually cost about the same as two services that I had done on the 175 etec, at two different se queensland etec dealers.

I reckon the cost of the xd 100 is prohibitive when running larger motors. The 150 etec will cruise and burn fuel and oil at a ratio of around 80:1 so a fishing trip for me usually meant using more than a litre of oil. If you hunt around you should be able to buy in bulk for the price equivalent of around $50 for 1 us gallon, but expect to pay up to $75 if buying just the 1 bottle. You will burn more fuel with your bigger boat and motor so this may be a consideration for you.

However, I believe you will be well served by either motor. If you service every 300 hours the etec should be a little cheaper to run and give you better hole shot and better econonmy at idle and slow trolling speeds. I believe the yammie will be slightly more economical at cruising speeds.

Personally I'm slightly happier with the four stroke. I don't like its increased weight nor its slower take off. However, I love its silky smoothness at idle, its cruising economy and that I'm not buying and refilling the oil each trip.

If your happy with the Etec then no problem but the Yammy 150 is a pearler of a motor. Every range has their sweet spots and that motor is one of Yamahas best.

Thats from an Etec fan by the way.

Thanks Reel Blue for your reponse.

It's not a case of same old, same old but rather a change with the times as such.
    Yes, I have had a good experience with Etec but I am reconsidering all options and lets face it I chose my current Etec 5 years ago therefore things have changed.

I suppose I am moving out of my comfort zone and venturing into uncharted waters, I just need a bit of confidence that the Yamaha is the goods going forward.

Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by hhb470 View Post
    Thanks Reel Blue for your reponse.

It's not a case of same old, same old but rather a change with the times as such.
    Yes, I have had a good experience with Etec but I am reconsidering all options and lets face it I chose my current Etec 5 years ago therefore things have changed.

I suppose I am moving out of my comfort zone and venturing into uncharted waters, I just need a bit of confidence that the Yamaha is the goods going forward.

Thanks.
    The Yam 150s are a great motor. My work mates dad has just bought a used (2500hrs) one from a fish farm and bolted it to a Bertram 18 and it runs sweet as. You will no doubt have read plenty of positive stories about this motor.

This being the case I would have thought that if you are dead set on the HH the dealer would give you extra incentive ($$) not to go elswhere for the motor. If it were me I would go the one stop shop and get the whole rig from this dealer - if you are happy with him/her that is.

BTW I confess I am a Yam 4 stroke owner.

if the dealer sells both Etec and Yamaha then i would choose the Yammie, the 150 Yam is a very sweet motor, but also for consideration would be the Suzuki 175, its slihjtly lighterthan the Yammie 150 and has Variable Valve timing which really gives them some punch especially in the upper rev range.
    but buying the whole lot from one dealer will leave less chance for problems and if there are any issue's its all back on the original dealer.

cheer's

Julian

Quote Originally Posted by dodgyone View Post
    If your happy with the Etec then no problem but the Yammy 150 is a pearler of a motor. Every range has their sweet spots and that motor is one of Yamahas best.

Thats from an Etec fan by the way.
    +1

You can buy a 150 yami with total confidence just a top engine.

Ps. i know your not planning on selling the boat in the future but shite happens and having a yami 150 4stroke on the back will protect your investment more so than most other motors!

Iam
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

both are great motors and should give you many hours of trouble free usage.

Reel blue has hit the nail on the head, if you choose to service the etec more frequently it will cost you more overall including the xd100. if you follow the etec service schedule, costs will be similar between the 2 depending on how much their respective dealers charge.

The biggest consideration for you IMHO would be to find out which offers the best deal on purchase price, especially since you are happy with both service agents for both donks. More than likely, because you will buying a package, you may get a better price from the HH/yammie dealer. Plus there's the advantage of everything getting done at one site so for any potential warranty concerns you will have a sigle point of contact. When getting quotes, have them itemized, so you can do direct comparison's for each donk

Also, don't be afraid to travel to another HH dealer to get the right combination for you at the best possible price, other than inconvenience you can potentially save a couple of grand in hard earned, even if you end up travelling all the way up here and buying (doubtful that my local HH/etec dealer will give a better deal than the southern dealers though, the whole monopoly on both brands in Townsville tends to set their prices in the clouds).

hi we have a 150 etec on a 560 bar crusher . reel blue said it all great hole shot .
    at idle and trolling great fuel economy. cost of oil is the only down side.
    bevan
    560c Bar Crusher "Overtime"

What is the difference in price?

What is the difference in warranty?

Are you doing it with finance as yami finance was cheap a couple of years ago?

Is the yami coming with a stainless prop?

What are the fitting costs?

Is that the max hp for that boat?

-price (cheaper) & warranty (longer) slightly favour Etec
    -no finance.
    -ss prop both motors
    -boat rated to 150 hp.

The money part is not really the issue.
    I am really looking for people's experience with both motors (as I have never owned a 150 hp before) and the BEST suitability for my boat and general fishing needs (about 50 hours a year).

Hi hhb470 i recently owned a 570 champion 2000 mod 2007 150etec iam a yamaha fan i was unsure at first of etec but it ran great heaps of power for that rig which is the same hull as profish with more gear in it ( classic version ) however it did get peed of with paying $80 for oil all the time either way you are going to be happy have not owned a 150 yam yet but been in a few and are very good bit of kit ive heard of fuel figures of 15ltr per hour my etec was definately using more than that dont think you could really beat yammy combo but thats just my opinion

Duplicate post a site was slow as a wet week