Thread: Cool morning at Copeton

Cool morning at Copeton

Left town this morning with the temp at 2deg & drove through heavy fog on the way to the dam...Arrived to glassed out conditions but very cold, Put on the heavy clothes & headed down to the dam wall which was covered in a thick fog...only landed 1 Cod & lost another.
    Photos of the dam were taken at full speed with water pouring out of my eyes & a runny nose Wonder i could see anything...

Cheers Baz

Re: Cool morning at Copeton

looks like a wonderful way to spend the morning Baz ....... nice piccys

Nice Pics Baz,
    Copetons gotta be one of my fav dams your lucky to be so close mate,
    love bass but id trade em in for cod and big yellas in a heartbeat!

keep the reports coming mate, always a good read

Keen mate. Best enjoy it while we can - Did you here State Water want to close the dam between March & November next year to cater for blsating with the safety upgrade. Pindari will get a flogging. Cheers Brett.

Quote Originally Posted by BrettoM View Post
    Keen mate. Best enjoy it while we can - Did you here State Water want to close the dam between March & November next year to cater for blsating with the safety upgrade. Pindari will get a flogging. Cheers Brett.
    Yea Brett i have heard that it will be closed for around 7 to 8 months for BLASTING, thats gonna hurt..

Cheers Baz

Quote Originally Posted by BrettoM View Post

Augh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

that will hurt...great dam copeton....look out pindari..glenlyon

nice looking dam barry ,good pics too

Great Pics Barry. Nice looking place. Was thinking I would have to get down there one day till I read further down.

Hi,

I used to love those mirror flat mornings on Copeton.
    Didnt spill my cuppa coffee while zipping across in my old Dehavilland offshore. Brilliant!!

Probly not so bad doing the blasting if there is zip water in the dam.

I know there was a lot of erosion problems at the back of the wall n spillway from some floods way back.
    Do you know what they trying to fix m8??

Probly b one or two of the locals up there with their Bangsticks trying to flog a cod the easy way while thats going on

I used to go to Pindari years back n b the only fisho out there. Went last september in the "off peak" time n counted 75 boat trailers at the dam.

I dont think the blasting will upset the status quo at Pindari too much.

cheers, Steve.

[quote=rabbi;1192565]Hi,

I used to love those mirror flat mornings on Copeton.
    Didnt spill my cuppa coffee while zipping across in my old Dehavilland offshore. Brilliant!!

Probly not so bad doing the blasting if there is zip water in the dam.

I know there was a lot of erosion problems at the back of the wall n spillway from some floods way back.
    Do you know what they trying to fix m8??

Gday Steve.
    Apparantly the spillway is undermined & won't handle a large flood so they are building a new one...

Have already moved the office in preperation..

Not looking forward to being locked out for 6 or 7 months though

Cheers Baz

Crikey mate,

Might have to shift Bingara.

They will only be closing the wall end of the dam wont they?

I remember way back when we had a huge flood over there and it eroded all the arse end of the spillway and most of the hill and filled all the fishin holes in down towards middle fishing.
    must have undermined the spillway as well!

I would be distressed too.

cheers.