V17 Haines rebuild - about to start - Page 14
Page 14 of 14 FirstFirst ... 4567891011121314

Thread: V17 Haines rebuild - about to start

Re: V17 Haines rebuild - about to start

Decided to edit

Mid way through December, I had to lock the Haines in the shed, and walk away. I had to admit defeat that I couldn't get it finished for Christmas. The strain of the project was taking its toll on family life, so I had to take time out to get priorities in order.

I had the seajay tinny to do a bit of crabbing and fishing over chrissy, and got a few feeds of crabs and towed the kids on tubes.

It wasn't until mid Feb, I started back on the Haines, with further sanding, and wet and drying the sides and prepping the topsides. The nightmare of spraying gelcoat was not over. I had to redo two area on the sides. The white on the topsides went ok, apart from batches going off too quick in hot weather, clogging the gun. Wasting heaps of materials and time. Not getting it on thick enough, then sanding through it, and having to respray again. Deadset nightmare!!!

In the end the finish is ok, but hard to get it to gloss up and look good. Should have taken this job to a professional to save the time and pain.

The outdoor paintshop.jpg

Once the outsides and topsides were done, then I had to do inside, and spray the tops of the consoles black for the windscreen effect.
    spraying black on consoles rear.jpg spraying black on consoles front.jpg

Drivers console.jpg Consoles painted.jpg
    The consoles are starting to take shape and form.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Next job was re-masking up again, to do the flecking.

Masking and Flecking.jpg Masking and Flecking 2.jpg

Peeling the last bit of tape off was a great thing!
    Console flecked.jpg Console with sounder.jpg Consoles rear.jpg

Paint on the sides is pretty ordinary, but it will have to do.
    port side rear.jpg starboard front.jpg

Finally time to start fitting out! Seriously exciting to be bolting and srcewing things into position permanently.
    Pretty happy with the consoles.

bar.jpgDvrs console.jpg The workstation.jpg

Wiring and carpetting next.

Great to here you on top of it now Matt and as they say no pain no gain and dont worry you not the only one i lost half a pot of flowcoat last week doing the anchor well with 1.5% catalyst in 5 minites,have fun with the fit out,cheers Chris

Cheers Chris, Its unbelievable how quick it can go sometimes.

Having a few issues loading pics, but I will have another go.

Made the Minn Kota mount out of starboard/kingboard. This is great stuff to work with. I will be making the anchor well lid out of the same stuff.

Minn Kota Mount.jpg Minn Kota On.jpg

The wiring was beyond my level of capability, so I took the boat to Scott Corby at Coomera. He did a great job setting up the all the fuses on a piece of kingboard.

Wiring Panel.jpg Wiring in progress.jpg Wiring bits.jpg

It was a pretty big job with a lot of electrical components involved. This was the monday of last week, and I was pushing to have it on the water for the weekend.

Monday night before I took it home, we dropped it in at the Coomera ramp just to see if it floated. After nearly three and a half years of owning it and working on it, and with the hull mods I made, I was pretty nervous. But it sat nicely, and after a walk around, I was impressed with the stability. Particularly at the rear, where I had added the steps - they worked very well in adding floatation and stability to the rear.

She Floats.jpg

Getting there!

The wiring and fitting out continued all last week, with the aim of getting the boat on the water Saturday, for a run and then fish a bream comp at Yamba on the Sunday.

Tuesday it was into Bayside Suzuki Marine (BSM) where John gave me the bad news my 2005 Suzuki was pretty much RS, as it had never been serviced properly, and the block was corroded out badly. Decision was made to fit a new 2014 Model DF140 lean burn.

Wednesday back to Scott at Attack boats for more wiring and fitting out. Big job, with so many electrical bits, as well as hooking up fuel filler and breathers, hinges, latches, carpetting etc.
    Wiring in Console.jpg

Thursday noon back to BSM where the new motor had arrived and John and Scotty started fitting it.
    New DF140.jpg

Friday noon, ready to pick up with new motor as promised, well done to BSM!

DF140 rigged and ready to go.jpg

Friday arvo, home and packed up to go to Yamba, kids strapped in.

Rigged and Ready.jpg

It was a long trip with Friday arvo and roadworks traffic all the way along the back of the Goldy. We finally arrived at 8.30pm, and I kept working on the boat to fit transducers.

Saturday morning, the hatches weren't all screwed on, but sat nicely in place, and I made up temporary straps so I could open them easily. The last thing I did was put the rego numbers on the side (again temporarily) with white elecy tape. Finally it was ready to launch.

My wife and kids were there, as she slid off the trailer at the Blue Dolphin Caravan park Ramp. We christened her 'Tenacious V' with a splash of been and wine over the bow.

On the water, she was looking good, although still unfinished with no Gunwhale rubber and a few other bits and pieces missing, but very much seaworthy and with all safety gear onboard.

On pontoon.jpg On water long view.jpg

Life Jackets on, and the kids were climbing all over the boat, checking everything out. The key turned and the Suzuki sprang into life and purred like a kitten. We idled around for a good while (as per run-in instructions) before giving it some revs and lifting it onto the plane.

I could certainly feel the weight in the hull, but once on the plane, it was so smooth and comfortable. We took it out to middle wall, and came across a pod of dolphins, that came up and played all around the boat. Before heading up the river. I gave the kids all a drive on my lap, and they loved it! Although very nervous to start with, the smile was broadening on my face with every minute.
    May and Kids.jpg

We headed up to Browns Rocks, where I was keen to try and christen it with the first fish. Dropping a Gulp Shrimp overboard, I was expecting a bream, flathead or jewie, but a little flounder or sole jumped on - First fish done! Nothing too exciting, but she was christened.

Heading back home, going through the rev range, and stopping to swap kids as drivers. We headed in for lunch. After lunch, I went and visited some mates for some Lowrance HDS tips, before picking up my fishing team mate, Ian and his girlfriend for an afternoon session.

Back to Browns Rocks, we got a few bream, flatties and a little Jewie. So settled on that as a plan to start the comp there the next morning.

So Tenacious V was finally launched and christened! What a day, so stoked with how it rode and handled, and very happy with the layout and stability at rest as well.

We had a few drinks in celebration Saturday night with Ian and Justine. It was a great night that went till around midnight!

A few more random pics
    Ready to launch.jpg Ready to launch 2.jpg

Comp day next...

The 5am start was a bit rude, but we got organised and headed over to Iluka to check in for the start. I was stiill tying on leaders and sorting tackle, as there had been minimal tackle prep done in the busy lead up, and certainly none done the night before. I was the most ill prepared I had ever been for a comp. But just happy to be fishing from the new boat!

We headed off midfield, and ended up towards the end of the field, as I was still running the motor in, and not going over about 4500rpm. We hit fog half way to Browns, and I was very glad the track had saved from the previous day. We made it there no worries and as the fog lifted I was surprised there were less than 10 boats onBrowns. Word was that it was fishing unreal up the river, so a lot of boatsheaded upstream.

First drop with a Gulp 2”shrimp on one of my prototype Nitro jigs, was a 33 tip length bream,cool! From there it was a steady procession of bream and our bag limit of five was done in half an hour. Upgrading continued on a regular basis. This was a lot of fun!

It had been way too long since I had enjoyed catching like this! I was certainly soaking it up,after many, many weekends being stuck in the shed working on this thing, it was so good to be fishing on it!

Ian was going ok too, not getting the same numbers, but when he landed a 39cm tip lengthbream, we were stoked, and starting to think, hey we are going alright here. We got a few more around the 31 to 33cm mark, and the smallest in the bag was 29 at the time. So we were starting to think we could be in 3 kg territiory.

I hooked a ‘something’ that scorched off around 50m before busting me, had to be a jewie.

As the outgoing tide slowed the bite did too, so went looking down the front. I got another 32 ish upgrade at Middle wall, but then it went quite for us. We poked around middle wall, the front reef and the North wall, but didn’t get anymore upgrades, just one more smoking.

Our mojo had dried up, and we hit the weigh in at Iluka early, our bag hit the scales at 3.19kg, which put us in the lead early, but there were lots of quality bags following us in the line up. We were thinking we could end up in the top five.

Livewell Bream.jpg Clarence Bream.jpg

We headed back to Yamba to pick up the girls and kids, The boat is rated to six persons, so we were able to take the four adults and three kids no worries, and it got up andwent well still with the big load on board.

We came back to the weigh in to find we were still in the lead on the board, with about 10 bags left to weigh. We lasted until about three bags to go, when the guys from Ballina Marineland bought up a massive bag that went 3.78kg with a 1.24 kicker.

That is the biggest bag weighed on the Clarence in 4 or 5 years. Still we ended up second and got $600 cash and a mako sunnies pack and Atomic pack. An unreal resultfrom what we expected at the start of the day, we were just happy to be fishing.

Overall it was a great weekend had by all. Ian and Justine headed off Sunday arvo, but westayed for another night, and I finally got to have a swim with the kids, and relax and have a celebratory rum.

What can I say, she is now christened in style, runs like a dream, is so smooth and comfortable on the water, awesome to fish off, fits in heaps of people and kids, has great rod and gear storage, and can catch fish! I am a very happy man!

Great to here Matt,congradulations on the launch, the first fish and the comp and luv the name,how does the planing plank go, has it added to the hull getting onto the plan faster? cheers Chris.
    Last edited by chris69; 29-03-2014 at 12:04 AM. Reason: adding

Thanks Chris! It doesn't jump on the plane easily, it takes a few revs but I think that is more because of the weight. I definitely put a lot of glass in it. It cruises nicely at about 3900 to 4200 rpm. Havent wound it out yet. But it does around 30 knots ay 5000rpm.
    I played with the nmea info on the HDS in the shed during the week, hopefully I can work out more detailed figures on the water tomorrow.

First run on Moreton Bay for Tenacious V on Sunday, I took out two of my neighbours for a run. Conditions were pretty good at around 10 knots mostly. She had a bit of plank slap at low speed, and we had a fair bit of weight in the rear. But more revs provided a better ride.

Headed from Cleveland out to Harries for a look, I put a few marks in the night before, and was fishing off the chartplotter sceen, as the sonar and broadband were playing up on the HDS.

It was pretty quiet with just a few undersize snaps, until this thing jumped on Tony's Gulp!
    Tonys Snapper.jpg

It doesn't look like it but it went 80cm and 4.4kg cleaned. Its the first time Tony has been fishing in 25 years, and he hasn't shut up about it! We had a street party that night, so he got extra bragging rights, as he got to show it off to everyone in the street, and then they got to eat it

BBQ Snapper.jpg

We had a quick look at Peel on the way in for no luck. It was a sloppy trip from Peel back to Cleveland going across the Tide V Current. The boat handled it well, but we did get a bit of spray over the side.

I dropped the neighours in at the ramp at 9am, and headed back out for a solo mission, and to put some more hours on the engine. It hammered with just me onboard. Edged it over 5 grand, and she just wanted to go - the faster the better. I can't wait to be able to open her up, I have a feeling it will go well with the 21 pitch prop!

I was still having sounder issues, and I resorted to reading the operating manual! That still didn't help.....Eventually I disconnected the sonar cable and bang, the broadband was working like a dream. Running a three way split, with Chartplotter/downscan/sidescan, I started finding big bait schools on harries. After getting bitten off a couple of times on Gulps, I went to slugs and got some little schoolies, dropped a bigger schooly and got bitten off again twice. So there were some toothy macs around. But I didn't get anything of quality to the boat before I had to head in.

I had a ball driving it solo, stopped at one stage for a 'run-in' rpm break, and snapped this pic.

Tenacious V on the bay.jpg

Still no seadeck on the floor or gunwhale rubber, and various finishing touches, but I will get there.
    So good to be back on the water!

Mate I so happy for you.... all the blood, sweet and tears.

So by the sounds all the work has paid off.

Flatty Classic here he comes...

Thanks Wayne! lost a bit of blood, buckets of sweat, and it nearly bought me to tears a few times! But it has certainly paid off, loving it more everytime I go out.

Definitely fishing the Flatty Classic, and might even get a few practice trips in before then.