If you caught a 130 would you get it mounted? - Page 2
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: If you caught a 130 would you get it mounted?

Re: If you caught a 130 would you get it mounted?

We don't care what others do as long as the fish is not mistreated and does not go to waste...

For us, one of the great highlights of barra fishing is the successful revival and release. We are very proud of never having had a barra croak on us!

An indelible memory supplemented by a pic or two satisfies our needs...

Regs

Pete & Kyle

G day Matt
    A big fat yes only problem is a few years ago i would have mounted a 120 last year a 132 next year im after a 140 or betta
    Can get expensive I have a great contact taxadermist he uses silicon moulds they get some great detail Dont mark the fish with net ropes etc as it will show
    So when would you do it?????????????????????????????????????
    probably when you can get a bit of wall the right size for the right fish
    Here is something to enspire you Good luck

Quote Originally Posted by Big_Ren View Post
    Hey Matt

I remember seeing you capture that World Record fish on 3kg string back in your Dam Hot series. Awesome video mate and I still love looking at the vids you bunch of hooligans made Ah....the Mega Snag I was always curious as to how long she actually went or whether Jack just weighed her for you.

Now back to the question. It really depends on a lot of factors for me....the condition of the fish after capture, my mental commitment at the time to having it mounted (I would sure not like to eat it), suitable storage to keep her chilled, the availability of my chosen taxidermist/fibreglasser to do the work, money obviously comes into it as well.

I would not begrudge anyone if they went down this path, for the reasons Scott outlines above and other "unknowns". Each to their own and good luck to them.

To answer the question: Perhaps, if all the planets aligned to do so.

Thanks Paul, the barra went 114cm. It was good fun filming the Dam Hot series, much less fun editing, but very glad I did it.

I think I'm with you on the 'perhaps' atm.

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Hi Matt

You raise a topic that has been brought up several times among my fishing mates - usually around a bbq or fire.

Firstly (obviously) it's a personal choice and depends where it sits on your priorities.

From a personal perspective ..... After seeing many mounts over the years - I've seen very few examples of large fish that do it justice - the best seem to be smaller fish like small barra and trout in a lifelike situation - the flat ones that go on the wall - Nah .
    A lot of guys said that they wouldn't do it again ....... because they caught larger or more significant captures later ..... or they just regret it
    I think your world record made for a compelling case - but did you know at the time it would be ratified....... it was a significant capture regardless .

$1000-1500 is a lot of money for a dust collector

I'm more for a really good photo ...... its why I spent a considerable amount on an digital SLR & now the go -pro. A high resolution photo that can be blown up and framed ...... The only thing is having someone to take the photos and do a good job of it - Though I would review the photos ...... my PBs photos are crap because the photographer didn't really give a hoot and was a poor photographer ...... yet OBI_WAN did a great job on my number 2.

Finally ..... I did get that warm & fuzzy feeling letting those big fish go - who knows those big fish could also be someone else's fish of a life time

I hope you get the chance to make that decision

Chris, I know what you mean by 'some mounts don't do the fish justice' and I wouldn't go for a flat on the wall mount.

Although it would take up a heap of room, I'd do an action type pose set on a nice bit of timber and set it in a corner.

I had a fair idea the barra would be a World Record as I knew the existing record was 18 kg on 3kg, and I though it would be more than that. Turns out Jack Leighton who weighed the fish for me held the record and had the fish mounted at his place. I felt a bit bad about breaking his record.

I know what you mean about some of your mates being poor photographers. Sometimes not just poor but woefull. If I go solo I take a tripod and use the timer, and get much better pics than those that some of my mates take.

I'm keen to see these go-pros they sound good.

Quote Originally Posted by matt fraser View Post
    Guys just chucking this one up for your thoughts, seeing as I'm planing on catching a 130 sometime this year

But then there is the dilema of killing a big barra, I'm not sure if I could bring myself to do it now. On the other hand, its a stocked fish and can't breed....

Being stocked and unable to breed as it's in fresh water you should not have any guilty feelings. It's the cost that would be the issue.

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    Would I mount a 130cm Barra??.....fish that big would probably mount me
    'whos ya daddy'

2 years ago I would have said no full stop. nowdays, probably not still personally bucause I could think of better ways to spend $$$$, but I certainly wouldn't begrudge anyone that does....Rather see it mounted than filleted..then chucked out cause it tastes crap.

Chris makes a pretty good point, something I have never thought of. Probably the bigger ones would be a MASSIVE dust collector on the wall. A healthy little one with some snags etc around it would look sweet in any pool room....photo of a big fish, with a big effort holding it, with a big smile....blown up in a frame in the pool room would certainly do me.

PS: what Scotty did when his big girl that couldn't be revived was definately the right thing to do....chucking a big beauty like that in the bin....or letting it float off dead would be a sad injustice.
    Trust you to read it like that Steve!

It would be a big dust collector, thats for sure and take up a lot of space. I'm starting to lean towards the release - but I'd have to make sure the pics were schmick! Even if it meant jumping in with it.

your call mate. not any one elses decision.

How have you guys found releasing these big fish in the dams? The ones we've all caught over a metre are almost lifeless when boated and seem spent, even after a lot of swimming.
    A few 'experts' in the know reckon to take them out anyway to help the younger ones come through. The bigger fish are cannibals and eat the smaller Barra plus there's the competition factor.
    Something to consider anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by Didley View Post
    As Brian said "each to their own", for me a good photo and a swim away fish with out doubt, I've never liked dead fish or any animals on a wall, but that's me , if you like it go 4 it, as U say there stocked fish.

Dids
    I'm with you there actually Dids, I went to Bass Pro Shops in Missouri in '96 (the original shop) Part of the store is this massive shed full of taxidermed animals, everything you could imagine from every corner of the globe and not just one of each animal, but like a display of say six to ten of each critter.

I felt sick in the guts when I left...

Quote Originally Posted by Tropicaltrout View Post
    A good piccy for me Mat. love to catch a big fish but man I love seeing them swim after. In saying that if someone was to take one, good on them there are some really great ones done with logs as part of the main feature and yeah there fish there time and effort they do what they like.

By the way reading Pauls post I finally realised who you are, you did part of the dam hot series with my uncle John (Rowie) at Borumba ha well there ya go....

Nath
    Yep that's me. John was great to fish with and a great fly instructor. I've never gotten around to getting back to Borumba though. I know its well overdue.

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    Thats about it Dids.
    Last couple of years Ive seen a definate swing away from hard core C & R in this forum, to a more relaxed "by all means take it, just dont waste it" attitude.
    My self included there, must be getting old and soft!

Race you to that 130 Matt, loser shouts a carton of the victors choice, and I like Bundy and cokes, by the way
    I'd have to be a very brave man to take you on Brian. But what the hell, how 'bout a square bear on it?

Ausfish Platinum Member Steve B's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by matt fraser View Post
    Trust you to read it like that Steve!

It would be a big dust collector, thats for sure and take up a lot of space. I'm starting to lean towards the release - but I'd have to make sure the pics were schmick! Even if it meant jumping in with it.

your right Matt, ensuring the pic is right is the hardest bit. I got lucky with a couple of nice fish, thankfully had good photographer, with good camera..it makes all the difference. Depends on day or night too I spose....personally I dont like night photos...and thats when lots of big girls are caught! but thats me.

I will save my taxi job for the 140cm I have lined up this year

CHeers Steve
    I dont have ADHD......ohh look a squirrell !!!

Quote Originally Posted by Luc View Post
    If you do end up getting mounted, why not consider putting it in a display frame like those 3D photos.

It would keep the dust away and you could include some lights to accentuate it.

Yeah that would look good Luc. The costs are going up....

Quote Originally Posted by tim barra master View Post
    G day Matt
    A big fat yes only problem is a few years ago i would have mounted a 120 last year a 132 next year im after a 140 or betta
    Can get expensive I have a great contact taxadermist he uses silicon moulds they get some great detail Dont mark the fish with net ropes etc as it will show
    So when would you do it?????????????????????????????????????
    probably when you can get a bit of wall the right size for the right fish
    Here is something to enspire you Good luck
    That is a dead set beast Tim, it might be a few years before you better that PB but good luck with the quest for a 140, I recon they are out there.

Ausfish Platinum Member Big_Ren's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Daintreeboy View Post
    How have you guys found releasing these big fish in the dams? The ones we've all caught over a metre are almost lifeless when boated and seem spent, even after a lot of swimming.
    A few 'experts' in the know reckon to take them out anyway to help the younger ones come through. The bigger fish are cannibals and eat the smaller Barra plus there's the competition factor.
    Something to consider anyway.
    Hey mate, the release isn't too bad providing time in the boat is kept to a minimum. We time it as though we are holding our own head underwater.......the less time, the less trauma. You do not have to swim them a lot, just get them vertical in the water (in their swimming position) to get their equilibrium back in check, a quick squeeze of their tail wrist and they generally power off.

You don't have to hold them for minutes on end, that's probably more detrimental than a good quick release.

There's obviously more complex issues to consider than that, but that is the two minute noodle version.

In terms of cannibalism, we have seen no evidence as such. Over the years, I have not heard one report of a big barra eating a smaller barra. It would occur for sure but a rarity when there are so many easier and less nimble prey items like gar and boney bream lolling around in the water,

We have all heard the "big barra predating smaller barra" theories floating around, yet no one has even come close to half proving it. An absolute load of sh*t if you ask me and plenty of others. Some one show me some hard evidence over a consistent time frame and my ears will prick.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"