Great stuff Rosco. What's your preferred method of cooking them?
headed back to npd this arvo with the missus and my oldman to get a few more of these tasty little critters,was the 1st time redclawing for my oldman,had 8 opera hous trap set by 5.15 and had them out of the water by 8.30,ended up with 140 in 4 checks,used canned dog food again,a great feed to be had tommorrow ,mmm redclaw, beer and watchin the footy great way to spend a lazy sunday
cheers rosco
p.s left them on the chew got 48 out of the last check
Great stuff Rosco. What's your preferred method of cooking them?
Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"
mate just cook them like prawns ,also use them in a curry's ,good on the chew just by themselves with thousand island sauce
Hello Rosco1974.
Nice haul mate, I would have thought npd would not have had any left after the hammering it took some time ago. Looks like I was wrong.
Redlcaw are good, largest has been 40cm. Any large or about midrange?
most large to mid,bigger ones 30-34cm prob got around the 60 odd at that size the rest going between 15-30 cm mark ,plenty of smaller ones there which where returned,prob threw back 3 or 4 ever trap checked,most caught in 1 pot for a 45 minute soak was 25, 16 kept the rest returned,have never seen so many up there around the 3 inch mark
cheers rosco
Soaked my pots last nite in NPD for a 20 liter bucket load this morn, only 1 throw back, rest were big cranky buggers!
Do you think they wander in and out of the pots on a long soak?
Where were you Rossco, I was near Forgans?
yeah i recon they would walk in and out overnite,i was at vores road,landbased,i find bout 45minute soak is heaps,20ltr bucket still a great feed or 3,
cheers rosco
yeah, I was land based as well, just did some critical damage to them. Try this recipe, its a bit arty farty, but pretty good:
Not to bad at all.
- In a large pot of boiling water, add a handfull of salt, handfull of brown sugar, and a splash or white vinegar.
- De-head your craw, and boil the tails for about a minute.
- Plunge the cooked tails into ice water, then split, remove the vein and meat from the shell. Meat should be opaque on the outside, raw in the middle, dont let it continue to cook with the residual heat. Place meat in fridge.
- Make a beer batter out of 1 x egg, 1 x can of beer, self raising flour to suit. Whisk together and kep cold. This may take several cans of beer to get right. Ive found it best to drink a beer, then add some to the batter, stir and check, drink another beer etc etc etc
- Heat peanut oil till very hot, dust tail meat in seasoned plain flour, then dip in the beer batter, and fry off quickly.
- Drain on paper towels,
- Salad consists of fresh rocket and baby spinach leaves, diced small roma tomatoes, crumbled blue vein cheese, red onion, and sliced green granny smith apples.
- Serve the salad in a small bowel, layer the beer battered red claw tails around the out side, drizzle with sweet chilli sauce, and ciabatta loaf with butter as a side.
rosco1974
Good to hear they were caught in such a quick time. I was around Bullocky about 2 years ago and caught nothing from the shore. Soaked traps for close to 1 hour.
Went to Somerset later and managed an esky full. majority was 40cm, a few tiddlers went back in to grow bigger.
BR65, sounds like you had a good win too. I cant upload any photos as some bastard stole my digital camera from my backpack as well as 40Gb external hardrive from Logan Hyperdome. Bag was handed in to Police Beat minus two items. Not happy Jan.
That you with the family timddo, asked me how far along my pots were? If so, you know where I had them.
thanks for the courtesy mate, how did you go?
I caught 30 or so and left early as the kids wanted to eat Mcdonalds. I mite try a soak one day and see how it goes. BBQ redlaw is the best. Salt and peper and lime Plus a few beer's.
timmdo
mate just on mud i think,just throwing the traps beside the trees in the water bout 8 mts from the bank
cheers rosco
Cool thanks for the tip.
Will give it a try. i'm making some fly mesh bags to put the bait in.
Hopefully it will work well.
tim
OK this maybe a stupid question, but did you catch these in a dam like Borumba? If so, do you need a fishing permit?